We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location but noisy”
Review of Gaia Riverlodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gaia Riverlodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We stayed in February, and the resort, the lodges and the staff were uniformly excellent, while the location is stunning and the food was good. Our only outing organised by Gaia lodge was an early morning birding trip (good guide, plenty to see), but we also went to Caracol, and this is a stunning experience. I would highly recommend the resort, with two caveats. Firstly, the cabins (or at least the one we stayed in) overlook a waterfall and the cabin windows are made of mesh. If you think the roar of a waterfall might disturb your sleep, then ask about exact cabin location; we struggled with it on our first night, but settled down thereafter. Secondly, although the web-page doesn't really mention them, there are rooms as well as cabins, and the first of these are smaller and rather less attractive. The price difference is small, so make sure you get what you want!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DorsetHedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Gaia Riverlodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2017

Our family stayed at Gaia in January 2017 to celebrate my 50th birthday. A friend told me about the resort and we fell in love with everything about it. From the quick email response to booking (and lots of questions) to the greeting of a birthday sign, balloon and hat at the airport, to the amazing staff and beautiful lodging to the unique adventures each day...Gaia exceeded our expectations!

My husband and I traveled with our two grown children (21 & 18) and stayed in the "River" waterfall suite for 4 nights. (highly recommend!) The staff even brought in an extra full size bed before we arrived when they noticed we had 2 grown children coming so they didn't have to share the pullout sleeper. We wanted 3 full days to experience all the jungle had to offer. I decided not to do the inclusive package as our family wanted 1 day to experience the ATM cave which was not part of the package (Gaia did arrange the day tour for us though.) However our excursions to Barton Creek Cave & Calico Jack's the first day and the Caracol Maya Temple (plus Rio Frio Cave and Rio On Pools) the second day were incredible! Our driver and amazing tour guide all week, Francisco, shared his passion and excitement about caving and the country in general. He was so knowledgeable about the plants and communities and history and always made us feel comfortable and safe wherever we were.

The last day we borrowed the Gaia mountain bikes and rode up the hill to Big Falls...about a 15 minute bike ride and 10 minute walk and well worth it! We swam up to the falls and had the entire place to ourselves all morning!

The Gaia staff were so personal and got to know our likes and preferences right away. Food was delicious and lots of vegetarian options too. Drinks at the bar were delicious! The property is gorgeous and easy to navigate but the trip from the airport takes about 3 hours by car, the last hour on a bumpy dirt road...worth it, but wanted to note if anyone gets car sick.

I would highly recommend Gaia for anyone looking for a memorable and special vacation in the mountains and jungle of Belize!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHarris602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

The service was great & our cabaña had an incredible view. The waterfalls were not too far down from the rooms and the restaurant staff sets up a table for you to have your meals by the falls.. I couldn't have asked for a better getaway.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Tinasosam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We visited in July 2016 and had a very good time. Lodging was good. Food was good. Staff were helpful and accommodating. We visited Caracal and had a good day trip doing so. Also the butterfly house close by was fun.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the waterfall rooms with relaxing sounds of the waterfall at night.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank underthepines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We traveled to Gaia Riverlodge on the Adventure Package. Everyday was an amazing experience! We loved our guide Francisco! So knowledgeable and yet so fun. We went to Caracol and we were able to take our time and see everything. By the time we left, we were the only tourists there.
We loved the horseback tour!! Jose and his son took us through rainforest and pine tree forest. He knew the geology, history etc and the horses were perfect. I can not recommend that enough!
I could go on n and on but words can not explain the delicious food, beautiful scenery and wonderful staff!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amy952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

One of the nicest resorts we ever stayed at. The grounds are very well landscaped, the scenery is beautiful and the food is phenomenal! We rented a car and drove there (must have 4 wheel drive) and managed to find the resort very easily. The road the resort is on is horrible as everyone has said but do not let that stop you. We felt very safe driving there. There were signs up at every junction letting us know where to go. Once we arrived the staff waited on us hand and foot. They took our bags to our hut, had a drink waiting on our arrival, and gave us a brief tour. There is only one restaurant but there were lots of choices and the food was so delicious we had a hard time choosing what to eat! The chef even emailed me one of their recipes! The waterfall is beautiful, very relaxing. Make sure you hike to big rock falls, it's a mile up the road. A trolley will take you down until 5pm then you must walk the 300 steps to get back up! Overall I don't know how we will top this resort, it was that amazing! And last but not least, Derby makes the most amazing drinks we ever had!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank emily p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We stayed for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon trip and would definitely recommend to any couples wanting a romantic place to stay. The lodge were really helpful answering questions and organizing a pick up from the Guatemalan border before our trip. A driver was waiting for us at the boarder when we reached the Belize side in a brand new land cruiser.
The journey to the lodge from wherever you are travelling is quite bumpy at it is at the end of the reserve road, however it is definitely worth it.
We had a waterfall view cabana and it was lovely, especially falling asleep at night to the sound of the water.
The food was great and the cocktails were the best of anywhere on our 3 week trip.
I did a yoga class which was held down by the waterfalls, I am not sure if you could have a better setting! We also took a guiding tour of the surrounding reserve with a visit to a cave, our guide was very knowledgeable of the local area, nature and mayan history in the area. It was definitely my husbands highlight of our trip.
The only downside we found was the cost especially for things once we arrived at the lodge. However this may be due to the current £ exchange rate and the fact that we had been in Guatemala before which was definitely cheaper!

Stayed: January 2017
Thank BeckyTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
34.9 km away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
625 reviews
3.4 km away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
434 reviews
15.5 km away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
634 reviews
9.2 km away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
384 reviews
5.5 km away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Riverlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Riverlodge

Address: P.O. Box 173, Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Price Range: $262 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaia Riverlodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Eco-Lodge is located in the Scenic Mountain Pine Ridge Forest Reserve. We offer earthy yet stylish thatch roofed cabanas with excellent views of our waterfalls or Mountain Range, amazingly comfortable beds, Frette and Matouk linens and towels and bathrooms with hand painted Mexican tiles. Among our amenities are our natural fresh water pools, waterfalls, authentic Belizean cuisine, nature trails, day tours to the many Maya archaeological sites and adventure trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Gaia Riverlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Sisters Lodge
Five Sisters Hotel San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing