We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing !”
Review of Gaia Riverlodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gaia Riverlodge
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing !”
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Very enjoyable time at the Gaia Riverlodge. Quiet (not many bungalows), surrounded by nature, very peaceful. Fantastic area near the water with possibility to have food and drinks brought to us. Swimming in the water there was great too. The landscapes are just a dreamland. Food is really nice too as well as the staff (test the massage too). We had a trip with a private guide who was really interesting and friendly. Overall, I am definitely recommending to go there if you are looking for something quiet, back to nature and magnificent.

  • Stayed April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CecilouParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    25
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
157
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Our stay at the Gaia Riverlodge was wonderful because of the kind & expert staff, luxurious cabana we slept in, melodic river falls right below our cabana (Five Sisters Falls) and restaurant that served delicious meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
One day we adventured away from the lodge with Calbert who was our driver and tour guide. Calbert drove us to and helped us explore a cave used ions ago by the Mayan people, gave us a very informative tour of Caracol (Mayan Ruins). And, after a day of exploring we stopped at Rio On, a river with small waterfalls and pools of swimming holes.
Now back in the snowy Midwest I think fondly of our cabana, the waterfalls, the restaurant and the wonderful people of Gaia Riverlodge.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We stayed in February, and the resort, the lodges and the staff were uniformly excellent, while the location is stunning and the food was good. Our only outing organised by Gaia lodge was an early morning birding trip (good guide, plenty to see), but we also went to Caracol, and this is a stunning experience. I would highly recommend the resort, with two caveats. Firstly, the cabins (or at least the one we stayed in) overlook a waterfall and the cabin windows are made of mesh. If you think the roar of a waterfall might disturb your sleep, then ask about exact cabin location; we struggled with it on our first night, but settled down thereafter. Secondly, although the web-page doesn't really mention them, there are rooms as well as cabins, and the first of these are smaller and rather less attractive. The price difference is small, so make sure you get what you want!

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetHedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Our family stayed at Gaia in January 2017 to celebrate my 50th birthday. A friend told me about the resort and we fell in love with everything about it. From the quick email response to booking (and lots of questions) to the greeting of a birthday sign, balloon and hat at the airport, to the amazing staff and beautiful lodging to the unique adventures each day...Gaia exceeded our expectations!

My husband and I traveled with our two grown children (21 & 18) and stayed in the "River" waterfall suite for 4 nights. (highly recommend!) The staff even brought in an extra full size bed before we arrived when they noticed we had 2 grown children coming so they didn't have to share the pullout sleeper. We wanted 3 full days to experience all the jungle had to offer. I decided not to do the inclusive package as our family wanted 1 day to experience the ATM cave which was not part of the package (Gaia did arrange the day tour for us though.) However our excursions to Barton Creek Cave & Calico Jack's the first day and the Caracol Maya Temple (plus Rio Frio Cave and Rio On Pools) the second day were incredible! Our driver and amazing tour guide all week, Francisco, shared his passion and excitement about caving and the country in general. He was so knowledgeable about the plants and communities and history and always made us feel comfortable and safe wherever we were.

The last day we borrowed the Gaia mountain bikes and rode up the hill to Big Falls...about a 15 minute bike ride and 10 minute walk and well worth it! We swam up to the falls and had the entire place to ourselves all morning!

The Gaia staff were so personal and got to know our likes and preferences right away. Food was delicious and lots of vegetarian options too. Drinks at the bar were delicious! The property is gorgeous and easy to navigate but the trip from the airport takes about 3 hours by car, the last hour on a bumpy dirt road...worth it, but wanted to note if anyone gets car sick.

I would highly recommend Gaia for anyone looking for a memorable and special vacation in the mountains and jungle of Belize!

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHarris602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

The service was great & our cabaña had an incredible view. The waterfalls were not too far down from the rooms and the restaurant staff sets up a table for you to have your meals by the falls.. I couldn't have asked for a better getaway.

Stayed March 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tinasosam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We visited in July 2016 and had a very good time. Lodging was good. Food was good. Staff were helpful and accommodating. We visited Caracal and had a good day trip doing so. Also the butterfly house close by was fun.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the waterfall rooms with relaxing sounds of the waterfall at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank underthepines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afton, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We traveled to Gaia Riverlodge on the Adventure Package. Everyday was an amazing experience! We loved our guide Francisco! So knowledgeable and yet so fun. We went to Caracol and we were able to take our time and see everything. By the time we left, we were the only tourists there.
We loved the horseback tour!! Jose and his son took us through rainforest and pine tree forest. He knew the geology, history etc and the horses were perfect. I can not recommend that enough!
I could go on n and on but words can not explain the delicious food, beautiful scenery and wonderful staff!

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
34.9 km away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
622 reviews
3.4 km away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
433 reviews
12.1 km away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 13 in San Ignacio
811 reviews
9.2 km away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
377 reviews
5.5 km away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Riverlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Riverlodge

Property: Gaia Riverlodge
Address: P.O. Box 173, Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaia Riverlodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Eco-Lodge is located in the Scenic Mountain Pine Ridge Forest Reserve. We offer earthy yet stylish thatch roofed cabanas with excellent views of our waterfalls or Mountain Range, amazingly comfortable beds, Frette and Matouk linens and towels and bathrooms with hand painted Mexican tiles. Among our amenities are our natural fresh water pools, waterfalls, authentic Belizean cuisine, nature trails, day tours to the many Maya archaeological sites and adventure trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Gaia Riverlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Sisters Lodge
Five Sisters Hotel San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing