We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great family break”
other travellers have booked this property
Raisdale Mill cottages.
Forge cottage on the right.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Raisdale Mill cottages.
Forge cottage on the right.
Raisdale Mill Cottages
Raisdale Mill aerial
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Raisdale Mill cottages.
Forge cottage on the right.
Raisdale Mill Cottages
Raisdale Mill aerial
Patio overlooking stream
Lounge with woodburning stove
lounge with woodburning stove
kitchen/dining area
Forge Cottage double bedroom
Twin bedroom
single bedroom
Forge Cottage bathroom with electric shower over bath
Forge cottage bathroom
Spring - rear of cottages
Barbecue area at rear of cottages
Spring basket
Patio overlooking stream
barbeque area
Bluebells at rear of cottages
field behind the cottage
another field near cottage
winter
Raisdale in winter
Raisdale in winter
Christmas
Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Chop Gate, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicky S
2 reviews
“Great family break”
Reviewed June 20, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Perfect, quiet retreat for the family. We stayed here for 3 nights with our two girls (1yrs old and 3yrs old) and had a fab time. It's a lovely, quiet, family-time retreat, tucked away in the country. Would certainly reccomend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
Thanks Nicky, it was a pleasure to have you and your family stay. We look forward to your next visit.
Jean and Mal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open spaces, walks, peace and quiet
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Thanks for your lovely review.
We're glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at Forge cottage, it is a place for relaxing and discovering.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we look forward to your next visit.
Jean and Mal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Steve A
Abingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful cottage tucked away in the hills”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were made most welcome at a cosy, well-appointed cottage with a brook close by. We walked up into the hills, but we also enjoyed visited York and Scarborough. We mixed cooking for ourselves with visiting local pubs. The countryside around is very quiet, very little traffic on the roads. The driving is interesting if you are used to driving on flat roads! There is no mobile phone signal to speak of, but the cottage has very acceptable WiFi available. We were blessed with dry warm weather and clear skies for much of the week, but the country was beautiful even on the one day of torrential rain and low cloud! Already regretting having to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
We're glad you enjoyed your stay in Forge cottage.

The walks and countryside are truly magnificent and the location is excellent for visiting so many places of interest.

Thanks for being lovely guests, it was a pleasure to have you to stay. Hope to see you again.

Jean and Mal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed May 4, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked the fact that it was a converted 200 year old barn
Liked least: Spring hadn't come on time
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 May 2013
Pleased you enjoyed your stay. Spring has now sprung, the countryside is looking beautiful and the birds are busy. Hope you had a good journey back home.
Thanks
Jean and Mal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
C_S_Wooll...
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

As some friends and I were attending a conference, we decided that staying out of the town would be much more pleasant and afford some time to relax. How right we were! Forge Cottage was lovely, warm and cosy due to the log burning fires and plenty of firewood available in the woodshed.
Our hosts were absolutely wonderful, friendly and welcoming and when we got stuck in the snow, they came and helped us get out again.
The surrounding area was absolutely beautiful and so peaceful, it afforded us all a much needed break and seeming rest from the rest of the world. There was no mobile signal available in the cottage but up on the road there was plenty.
Will definitely be going back again due to how wonderful the cottage was, how friendly the hosts were, how perfect the surroundings were and how reasonable the price was.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire
Liked least: the internet was a bit sporadic
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2013
Thanks for your kind words, many people comment on the peaceful setting here. The surrounding countryside is like a winter wonderland in the snow. We have moved the router so there is now a stronger wifi signal to the cottages. Look forward to seeing you next time - Jean & Mal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeuwarden
Reviewed October 18, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect location for travelling the Yorkshire Moors
Liked least: Central heating heated by the wood-burning stove; little bit noisy
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Mar 2013
Thanks for your amusing review and I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay. The pheasant is surviving, so far! The central heating is now running quieter as I have released some air from the system. Looking forward to seeing you again - Jean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing