We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced, poor late-checkout policy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Cleveland TX
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cleveland
california
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“overpriced, poor late-checkout policy”
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We stayed here midweek while checking out Big Thicket National Preserve. We found this hotel overpriced. It cost $72 plus tax double occupancy per night. That's $20 more per night than the Super 8 in New Orleans (which is fantastic, by the way).

That's also $2 more per night than the Super 8 in Cedar City, Utah--on Memorial Day weekend. And for that price we had a Jacuzzi in a penthouse suite overlooking the mountains. Here, we had a ground-floor view of some dumpsters in a parking lot.

Also, the check out policy was unusually stringent and it was not communicated clearly. The policy is get out by 11 am, no extensions, or you pay $20 extra per hour. True, this policy is written on the wall behind the front desk. But it’s tucked in a long list of unrelated things, and it's not in your line of sight. And no one tells you of this unusual policy when you check in. So if you are like us, you won’t see the sign and you will be rudely surprised. The front desk person should be verbally advising everyone upon check in of this policy.

That said, the staff are friendly. And our room was clean, with modern furniture and fixtures. There was, however, black mold/mildew in the shower and there were major plumbing problems. The room came with a fridge and microwave, and they both worked well. The bed was very comfortable. And the room was quiet, except for noise in the hall.

We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chomeuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil S, General Manager at Super 8 Cleveland TX, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Kinda late, but thanks for your stay with us. Didn't realize TripAdvisor goes this far back!

We will look into your suggestions...

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    25
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
26
22
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We travel all across the country throughout the year and we must say that our stay at this Super 8 was, without a doubt, the best experience we have had. My husband is a paraplegic and we travel with a great deal of equipment, clothing, medical supplies and such. When we checked in, the owner of the facility came out and helped us unload ALL of our "stuff" and get it into the room. That was a first. Not that we expect that kind of service, but it goes without saying it was very much appreciated. The room itself was truly handicap accessible. Complete with roll-in-shower that was installed right! The entire bathroom floor didn't get soaked when we used the shower. The room was extremely clean and comfortable and it was quiet. The bed was a little high but we carry a portable trapeze so transferring my husband into and out of the bed was not a problem. We highly recommed the Super 8 in Cleveland to anyone handicapped or not. Friendly, helpful......the next best thing to being at home.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmdunnam89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil S, General Manager at Super 8 Cleveland TX, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Incredible Guest!

Kinda late, but thanks for your stay with us. Didn't realize TripAdvisor goes this far back!

Hope all is well & see you time and time again....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2010

i'm a biz-traveler and i stay at a lot of hotels (3-4 nights a week!). this hotel is located next to a walmart, tons of restaurants around, but best was the service.
this super 8 really surprised me. neil solanki the gm @ the hotel checked me in on a very hot today last week and when he was checking me in, he offered a cold soda & that was something i never have been asked at any hotel.
after checking me in, he offered to help with my bags, something i never have been asked at any hotel in this class.
i told him i was fine and i was going back out to my car to get my stuff, he said thats fine and he proceeded to my room to turn on the lights and made sure the a/c was on.
the room was great - a super clean room with a new bed, new furniture, and a 37 inch flat screen hdtv on the wall!! i had a great night sleep.
the next morning i was greeted by neil and his lovely wife neeta in the breakfast room.
i can truly say that this was the best service i have ever received at any hotel in a long time.

thank you neil & neeta!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clintdivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil S, General Manager at Super 8 Cleveland TX, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hello Clint,

We haven't seen you in a while....

Kinda late, but thanks for your stay with us. Didn't realize TripAdvisor goes this far back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Arrived late at the hotel and was immediately met by General Manager, Neil Solanki. Neil asked if I wanted a drink and promptly handed me two cans of Liptons ice tea. This is un-heard of. I finished my check-in and proceeded to get my bags from the truck. When I came back in, Neil had opened my hotel room door and turned on the air conditioner. Once again...this is un-heard of from a Super 8. The next morning we ate breakfast, had coffee and were greeted by Neil. Neil generally cares about his guest and their travel stays. This hotel is updated, large and tall comfortable beds and plans to expand are coming.

To me, as a frequent traveler, the best part of the morning was receiving a nice cup of coffee. This Super 8 did not cheapen themselves by buying non-quality food. They go all out and can only hope that all the other Super 8 motels follow what Neil is doing.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsmkmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil S, General Manager at Super 8 Cleveland TX, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hello Marshall,

Kinda late, but thanks for your stay with us. Didn't realize TripAdvisor goes this far back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2009

the owener were every nice and help full. they did a lot for us that was not in everyday way

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyHihopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil S, General Manager at Super 8 Cleveland TX, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Kinda late, but thanks for your stay with us. Didn't realize TripAdvisor goes this far back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleveland
0.5 km away
Best Western Cleveland Inn & Suites
0.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland
0.5 km away
Motel 6 Cleveland
Motel 6 Cleveland
#6 of 7 in Cleveland
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland
26.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston New Caney
28.7 km away
The Retreat at Artesian Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Cleveland TX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Cleveland TX

Property: Super 8 Cleveland TX
Address: 427 W Southline St, 59N & State Hwy 105, Cleveland, TX 77327-5030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Cleveland TX 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a "PRIDE" Super 8 Property meaning we are in the top 10% in overall guest satisfaction of any Super 8 in the World.Come stay with us and experience what "PRIDE" really means! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Cleveland TX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing