We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a place - amazing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York Factory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nanuk Polar Bear Lodge
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wow what a place - amazing!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have wanted to see Polar Bears in the Wild for years now but didn't fancy going on the tundra buggy looking down on them so Nanuk fitted the bill perfectly - it was just a case of saving up enough money so we could go!
We were delayed on our flights in but arrived to beautiful sunshine and a polar bear in the scope out the front of the lodge, which we went to have a closer look at as soon as we had our lunch. It was settled in the water to "cool off" so Andy was just giving us the safety talk about how to approach the bear and NOT to run when the bear decided to come and have a closer look at us - much closer! Wow absolutely fantastic and so worth saving up for.
The bear came really close but we never felt threatened, it was just being curious and even stood up on its back legs to have a closer look at us.
In the evening we had talks on the wildlife of the area, the lodge and watched a DVD of 2 people following the Caribou migration.
At night Andy got up regularly to check for Northern Lights and we were delighted to see them on our first night, although it is VERY cold outside at 3am! But a real bonus to see them too.
The weather changed to wet and very cold and windy but we were still rewarded with sightings of beautiful Polar Bears and Black Bears - some were even right up to the fence, allowing for some great close up photos.
The accommodation is described as basic but is very comfy and warm, with meals being served in a central building with cosy fire and huge viewing windows.
Nolan and his team were all very friendly and welcoming and Butch has a wealth of knowledge and great stories to tell. Saving up already for a return trip!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules286903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
20
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Churchill Wild's Polar Bear and Cubs Photographic Safari was an outstanding Wildlife adventure.
The Guides and staff make this remote adventure an experience of a lifetime. It is everything that the web site says it is and More!
This safari for Polar Bears is so much more than anything a traditional tundra buggy will offer.
Yes , trekking with guides to experience and learn about polar bear ecology. The guides will get you to locations so you can take the pics you want.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank smilewray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Nothing more exciting than walking up to 50 meters close to polar bears and their cubs. Only thing between us and them was Andy our guide (with a brain full of ways of distracting a polar bear if it got too close. Enjoyable experience at the Nanuk Polar Bear Lodge. Wonderful hospitality and excellent food. Staff are top rated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vashon, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Arrive Nanuk Lodge with no expectations and embrace the experience of everything you will see and do. I did not expect to see everything that I saw--was even surprised. When we arrived there was a polar bear near the runway and it only got better. A large polar bear hung out either in front of the lodge everyday or at the back fence. A black bear came to visit almost daily and the polar bear would stand up and just one look sent the black bear running. I have never seen a black bear run so fast. Then there was the black wolf--that was a real treat. The skunk was cute. Did I mention the mom with the cub? Then there was the moose bull and cow. Millions of migrating birds. Sunrises and sunsets that keep me outside watching as the colors changed. Oh and the Aurora Borealis -- very nice. Andy and Butch are great guides. Nolan was charming. Kalie and her husband, Riley, made the most wonderful meals and the gals in the kitchen were so sweet and accommodating.

Room Tip: The lodge is being rebuilt so next year all the rooms will be nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I have been traveling non-stop for three years around the world, had plenty of beautiful experiences and encounters, but my stay at Nanuk Polar Bear Lodge is the best trip of my life.

I couldn't believe we were walking towards polar bears and cubs and watching northern lights every night! All my respect to the gifted guides, Andy and Butch, who promote a non-intrusive approach towards polar bears and wildlife. They know perfectly their job, love deeply the artic environment and share so much with people around them.

We have watched so many northern lights, polar bears, black bears, beautiful birds and awe-inspiring landscapes.

Besides I appreciate deeply the family atmosphere, the delicious and tasty food (so fresh!), the will of the team to share their knowledge and their love for this unique place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lili G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Had been wanting to do this trip for ages, but a little nervous. On arrival all doubt disappeared, after a quick but delicious lunch we changed in to Wellington boots (supplied by the lodge) we were of on our first adventure. Hoping we would make our first sighting to start the wee off and we were not disappointed. What an amazing experience seeing our 1st polar bear in the wild, and we were on foot walking along the beach, with nothing between the bear and us. I don't think anyone was nervous as we were so excited and the Adrenaline was working overtime. We were very well guarded by our guides Andy, Albert (Butch), and Nolan. We also had our professional photographer Robert Postma to help all us amateurs with our camera problems. I think we all came away with wonderful memories thank you Robert.
The accommodation was basic but clean, the cook and kitchen staff were great and we wanted for nothing. Good food, good wine an most of all good (no may I say the best group of people I have ever travelled with) made the whole experience great. I would return again in a heart beat.
Sandra

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herebeareverywhere, Owner at Nanuk Polar Bear Lodge, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you Sandra! We are always delighted when new friendships are made during the adventures we host. New relationships formed among guests provide additional value that truly is the icing on the cake with regards to the experience. They add additional warmth to our lodges – for staff and guests – that our lounge fireplace cannot come close to replicating! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your group and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, IA, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Everything Archana said in the previous review is exactly the truth. Our guides Andy and Albert have a great deal of experience and were watchful every minute we were out. They KNOW bears and other wild life and had our safety as #1 priority. Both were extremely knowledgable and so willing to share with everyone. From the moment they woke up until night fall they were looking for bears for us to go see. During the night one or the other got up to specifically check for Northern Lights and to be sure all was well. They have chefs - and with that we ate amazing food that was so properly prepared. Nolan, the on site manager would do anything to make our visit as great as it could be.
The other guests on this trip were absolutely amazing.
The information prior to leaving was very helpful as we did need multiple layers, gloves and the ability to add or subtract depending upon the weather.
Robert Postma a well know Canadian photographer was also along on the trip and provided expert instruction for anyone who wanted it. In the evenings after dinner we were provided lots of information about bears, about how the lodge was built and I learned so very much.
This is one of several properties owned by Churchill Wild and I will go back - no question about it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Nanuk Polar Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanuk Polar Bear Lodge

Property: Nanuk Polar Bear Lodge
Address: Wapusk National Park | Cape Tatnum, York Factory, Manitoba, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > York Factory
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in York Factory
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Nanuk Polar Bear Hotel Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing