We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea and Dinner in the French Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Adolphus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Adolphus
Ranked #17 of 201 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea and Dinner in the French Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We went for a family celebration. We had afternoon tea and it was truly wonderful. We were served a tea of our choosing and had delightful cookies, etc,. At dinner we ate in the French Room and it was also delicious. The hotel was gracious and beautiful and the accommodations were superb. I would highly recommend this hotel for special occasions.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karyn_D680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,489
    578
    249
    134
    90
See reviews for
345
843
167
827
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

After spending 3 days at the Adolphus, I debated back and forth about 4 or 5 stars. If I could give them 4.5 stars, I would. I finally settled on 5 because I really enjoyed my stay, in spite of a number of minor issues that pointed to a lack of adequate staffing that could easily be addressed.

Minor issues? Trash on the lobby of my floor that was never picked up in 3 days. No remote for the VCR in the room that took a day to get replaced. Long valet pickup times. Left my room at 1PM and by 8PM it was still not cleaned--the maid was on my floor and admitted to me that there was not enough staff and apologized. No notepads or pens in the room (they came the 2nd day). The concierge was MIA a lot--at least half the time I came in and out of the lobby.

All these minor things could easily be solved by more staff and/or more management oversight. I can tell you the restaurants (I ate at all 3 of them) had plenty of staff and service was great; whoever is managing the food and beverage is doing a great job.

On the positive side, the hotel has a wonderful lobby and a great staff, and I thoroughly enjoyed my room. The location is great, the food and services are great, and I would definitely stay there again. They just need to step it up a bit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripwarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granbury, tx
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

My husband and I were staying overnight in Dallas to attend a concert at Gexa Energy Pavilion. The Adolphus is a wonderful location and convenient for any event near downtown Dallas. In addition it is a short walk to many Dallas restaurants.
Check in at the hotel was as easy as I have ever experienced. I went inside to check in while my husband took care of turning our car over to the valet parking. He and I were both on the way to our room within minutes of arrival. The lobby area was very "old world" and would have been a fun place to sit and people watch if we had the time to kill. Our room was very comfortable, clean, and tastefully decorated, but was nothing extraordinary. My only complaint was that there was only one bath towel and it was a bit flimsy...... not the thick fluffy towels I would have expected at the Adolphus. When I called housekeeping and requested additional towels, they were delivered more quickly than I have ever experienced. The staff at the Adolphus was the most pleasant and attentive that I have seen in any hotel. Any employee was ready to assist at any time. I was especially impressed with the gentleman working the valet parking in the evening. Every time we went in or out, he remembered us and welcomed us back. In the morning we ate breakfast at the Bistro. Our waitress, Petra, was "The Best". She was pleasant, efficient, and made sure that we needed nothing. As a bonus to the wonderful service, we thoroughly enjoyed the Crabmeat Eggs Benedict, and the Texas Scramble. Our stay at the Adolphus was a real treat!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanski3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winters
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Overall stay the Adlophus was great and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very beautiful and well kept. We stayed in a room with a King size bed with plenty of room and it was very nice and the bed was very comfortable and the view was great. I liked that it was close to many attractions downtown just walking distance. If I have another stay in Dallas I would stay here again. :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Likes: lobby decor and acht. Fitness club, on site dining options. Dislike: cleanliness of room, valet parking responsiveness at early AM departure.
I also like that I could pay 75 bucks via hotels.com but the valet parking is 26$ plus the tipping. Way too much dust in the corners of my room, carpets are way past due and the bathrooms are very dated. Lobby is amazing, so many chairs and nooks to relax and lounge, work, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for exterior view to street. For a big city, the down town is somewhat quiet at night and in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I was concerned when I read some negative reviews, but I had the best overall experience at this hotel. The staff was great and willing to make every request happen. The hotel was beautiful with the old style mahogany and brass fixtures. The room was gorgeous, although it didn't have a good view, but really- how much time do you spend inside a hotel room looking out the window? I would definitely come here again, and I hope that next time I am able to give the French Room a try!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank impactnaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind and balanced review. The vast majority of guests who stay with us do, indeed, share your opinion. As with any business that has thousands of patrons, we will stumble occasionally. The world is not perfect and neither are we. But, as you found, our staff has heart and truly wants to make each guest's stay truly exceptional. More often than not, they succeed brilliantly.

Please do come back and experience The French Room at The Adolphus. It is well worth the trip.

Warm regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Let me start by saying, the staff were nice enough. Not the most attentive and certainly not the quickest to respond to complaints, but not terrible either. That leads me to my complaints...

This historic hotel was lovely, and I love this type of place when they are renovated correctly. When we got to our room, it was spacious and ok, though you could definitively tell it was old and in need of renovation. Nothing special. The furniture in the sitting area was dirty looking. So much so, I didn't sit on it. The air unit was loud and did not do a good job of keeping the room temperature nice. I set it below 68 just to try to get the room cooled down, and it never did.

The entry light was out, so I called the front desk at about 1:30pm and asked them to fix it. When we got back to our room that night at about 10:30 p.m. it still wasn't fixed. I called again and this time a guy came up in about 20 minutes. He replaced the bulb and told us we had to make sure the switch on a lamp and beside the bed were also on, for the switch at the front door to work. Seriously? The next morning, no matter what switches we used, the light wouldn't work again. It's just ridiculous to have that issue in a hotel that is supposed to be this nice. How hard is it to make the entry switch turn on the entry light?

Next, on to missing things... It may sound silly, but there was no trash can in the bathroom. What hotel doesn't put a trash can in the bathroom? Also, no blow dryer. I usually bring my own blow dryer, because I prefer it, but didn't on this trip. I've never been in a hotel that didn't have one, so I didn't even think about it. Instead, there was a phone where the blow dryer should be. What?

There is no vending in the hotel. That's right, if you get thirsty you have to order room service or buy a hugely overpriced soda or water from your in-room refreshment center. They give you prices for these refreshments, which are outrageous, and then in fine print at the bottom tell you that on top of that already outrageous price, they will charge you a 20% restocking fee. These were the worse prices I have ever seen in any hotel, hands down!

Valet parking was pretty slow to get your car for you, no matter if you call down in advance or not, and it was not cheap! Thank goodness we had a deal on our room which included that, or I would have been unhappy to pay $26 to park. In their defense, that price is about average for valet, but usually, you are offered a self-park option as well. Not so here.

All that being said, it wasn't a terrible experience, just one that I will not repeat. There are much nicer hotels in the area, for about the same price as the Adolphus. I suggest you get one of those, and walk over and enjoy the oldness of the Adolphus for free, without having to purchase a room. You'll thank me later.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeletingAccount123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The Adolphus, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your insight and value your opinion. Please accept our apologies for failing to meet your expectations. Our management will use your feedback to guide their improvements.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,086 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 201 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adolphus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adolphus

Property: The Adolphus
Address: 1321 Commerce St, Dallas, TX 75202-4294 (Formerly Adolphus Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 201 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adolphus 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized for more than a century as the iconic address for Dallas hospitality, The Adolphus inspires each guest's journey by offering vibrant and storied surroundings and locally celebrated amenities, all crafted and delivered with intuitive, memorable service. Today, the original address for timeless Dallas refinement re-emerges as a smart, urban destination for a new century of hospitality, promising every guest a warm and extraordinary experience. The 407 spacious guest rooms and suites all have king-size beds. Among the new amenities: a brand new rooftop pool and executive fitness center. Travel + Leisure readers voted The Adolphus one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Adolphus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing