We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Art”

Dallas Museum of Art
Ranked #6 of 239 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Established in 1903, this prestigious art venue features a wide selection of art exhibits, from Ancient Mediterranean to Contemporary Art and Design.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Art”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

They bring in good things and change it up so you can go back multiple times

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank tschmidtke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    970
    469
    113
    20
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ample Natural Lighting”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Tours, seminars, and individual viewing in a great space that has somewhat limited parking. Nice assortment of artists and some traveling exhibits.

Helpful?
Thank snareisbroken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Special Exhibits are Main Attraction”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

DMA is a nice enough museum, but the special exhibits are what really make it worth a visit.

Take a look at what the special/traveling exhibits are while you're in town. If those don't interest you, then the rest of the collection at DMA likely won't.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ageveret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish I had more time!”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We went to the museum with only about two hours to look around on a Saturday. We started at the top floor. If we'd planned better I think we would have seen art which appealed more to our taste, but everything at the museum was well documented and laid out. We were disappointed that we left a half-hour to see the sculpture garden and it was no longer open. Be sure to check when it will close if you want to see it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Did not disappoint but rather wowed.”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The modern building with interweaving levels was a pleasure to navigate. The private collections prove beyond a shadow of a doubt the amount of money that oil has brought to Dallas. Check out the Wendy and emery reves collection. Very insightful as to how their home was decorated.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dallas Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing