We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to have fun and see a piece of Dallas”

Food Tours of America
Ranked #1 of 25 Food & Drink in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Fully Guided. Easy Walking. Multi-Stop. Food Tasting Sightseeing Experience. Enjoy amazing food while soaking up Dallas history on our food tasting and cultural walking tours. Come hungry, because on our Uptown Dallas tours our favorite restaurants serve up generous tasting plates. Our food tastings are enough for lunch! In addition to our sit-down restaurant tastings and entertaining Dallas commentary, some of our tours also feature several historic attractions unique to Uptown such as the McKinney Avenue antique trolleys. Uptown Dallas is just one mile north of downtown Dallas, minutes from most hotels and convention center. City tours operate daily. 2.5 to 4 hr Tours. 5 - 7 minute walk in-between restaurants. We specialize in public tours and private tours. Tours often sell out, advance purchase required.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed June 20, 2016

We were passing through Dallas and saw this tour online. It was great! The food was interesting and the 5 places we tried each had its own charms. Our group was a good mix and included our tour guide Vanessa's fiance and his parents. Vanessa is OUTSTANDING and overflowing with facts, energy and enthusiasm. We did this tour on a Saturday morning and found it a great way to get a taste of the West Village.

Thank GMAKFAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine S, Public Relations Manager at Food Tours of America, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2016

Hi GMAKFAR,

Thanks for joining us on a Food Tours of America in Dallas. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience every step of the way with us.

A food tour is a wonderful way to explore Dallas, even if you're a local! And our tour guides work tirelessly to make sure you have the best time.

Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
Elaine S
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"our tour guide"
in 128 reviews
"village restaurant"
in 12 reviews
"uptown tour"
in 7 reviews
"peanut butter pie"
in 6 reviews
"great tour"
in 31 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 13 reviews
"tacos"
in 10 reviews
"dallas area"
in 23 reviews
"hour tour"
in 8 reviews
"visiting dallas"
in 20 reviews
"dallas history"
in 7 reviews
"trolley"
in 80 reviews
"fun"
in 185 reviews
"stops"
in 27 reviews
"cious"
in 8 reviews
"knowledge"
in 23 reviews
"activity"
in 21 reviews
Filter

124 - 128 of 587 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2016

We had a lot of out of town guests visiting for my twin boys' graduation. I wanted to find an activity so our guest got to know Dallas. This was the perfect solution!! We had a great history lesson from Jim and visited different restaurants. I highly recommend it!

1  Thank Familywandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine S, Public Relations Manager at Food Tours of America, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2016

Hi Familywandering,

Thanks so much for your review. We are so thrilled that you had a great time with us!

Our tour guides are equipped with fun facts about Dallas that even locals don't know. Where else would you get to learn and eat great food at the same time?

We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,
Elaine S
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely awesome!! Brianna, our tour guide was great to be around, knowledgeable about all the food & history of West End Dallas. This is a MUST do on your trip to Dallas!

1  Thank Tweenabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine S, Public Relations Manager at Food Tours of America, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2016

Hi Tweenabird,

So happy to hear you had a great time with us, especially with Bri - who is from our great team of guides.

A food tour of the uptown/downtown area of Dallas is a great activity if you're visiting Dallas and even if you're a local. You learn a lot and get to eat a lot of delicious food. A win-win.

Hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Elaine S
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2016

My elderly parents and I are new converts to food tours after having enjoyed ones in New York, London, and Porto, Portugal. Our guide, Bri, and the West Village Restaurant Hop tour were outstanding. Bri gave us plenty of history and info about Dallas, the West Village, the restaurants we visited, as well as the food we enjoyed...and there was plenty of food to enjoy. The staff at the places we visited were also friendly and treated us well. We were very impressed with Bri. She was well-organized and entertaining. She made us feel like VIPs and personal friends in town for a visit. We overwhelmingly recommend Food Tours of America's West Village Restaurant Hop and Bri!

1  Thank Cel2255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine S, Public Relations Manager at Food Tours of America, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2016

Hi Cel2255,

Thanks for your glowing review! We're so happy you enjoyed yourselves.

Food tours are such a great way to get to know a city and it's food. It's amazing to hear all of the locations you've done a tour in and we're honored you joined us in Dallas.

Our tour guides, like Bri, work so hard to sure you have the best time. We're glad you enjoyed the history and all of the restaurants.

Hope to see you soon.

Best,
Elaine S
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2016 via mobile

I was traveling solo and having been on other walking food tours in Boston, decided to try this tour. I did the extended Uptown tour with Jim. We had a good group of travelers and we had great fun walking, learning about the changes of Uptown , tried new food and all the restaurants were very hospitable, good food as well, rode the trolley "Betty", and had Jim provide a knowledgeable history of Dallas overall. It was the highlight of my trip and I probably wouldn't have gone to that area of Dallas otherwise. In fact I returned to The Rustic restaurant with Co- workers later that week for food and music. Thanks Jim. Wonderful time.
Donna

Thank way2muchfun52016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine S, Public Relations Manager at Food Tours of America, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Hi Donna,

Thanks for joining us on a Food Tours of America in Dallas. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience every step of the way.

A food tour is a wonderful activity idea if you're on your own. Our guides work tirelessly to make sure each food tour participant is happy, comfortable and full of delicious food. And it is great to hear that you went to The Rustic again.

Hope to see you soon if/when you visit Dallas again.

Thanks,
Elaine S
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Food Tours of America also viewed

 

Been to Food Tours of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing