We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Uptown Tour with Vanessa!”

Food Tours of America
Ranked #1 of 25 Food & Drink in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Fully Guided. Easy Walking. Multi-Stop. Food Tasting Sightseeing Experience. Enjoy amazing food while soaking up Dallas history on our food tasting and cultural walking tours. Come hungry, because on our Uptown Dallas tours our favorite restaurants serve up generous tasting plates. Our food tastings are enough for lunch! In addition to our sit-down restaurant tastings and entertaining Dallas commentary, some of our tours also feature several historic attractions unique to Uptown such as the McKinney Avenue antique trolleys. Uptown Dallas is just one mile north of downtown Dallas, minutes from most hotels and convention center. City tours operate daily. 2.5 to 4 hr Tours. 5 - 7 minute walk in-between restaurants. We specialize in public tours and private tours. Tours often sell out, advance purchase required.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

The uptown tour was great and Vanessa was a fantastic guide. She had a lot of knowledge, a great personality and made sure that everyone had a good time, was always comfortable and didn't need anything. The heat played in as a factor but she kept everyone in good spirits. The food spots were chosen nicely, I think they offered a nice variety of culture and flavors I would recommend this tour to anyone traveling or even the locals. We met some great couples that were local and enjoyed the food just as much.

Thank MNP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine S, Public Relations Manager at Food Tours of America, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2016

Hi MNP3,

Thanks for your review. We're happy you enjoyed your time on a food tour of Dallas and your guide!

Our food tours are great for those visiting as well as for locals looking for something refreshing to do.

Hope to see you on a tour again in the future.

Thanks,
Elaine S
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"our tour guide"
in 128 reviews
"village restaurant"
in 12 reviews
"uptown tour"
in 7 reviews
"peanut butter pie"
in 6 reviews
"great tour"
in 31 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 13 reviews
"tacos"
in 10 reviews
"dallas area"
in 23 reviews
"hour tour"
in 8 reviews
"visiting dallas"
in 20 reviews
"dallas history"
in 7 reviews
"trolley"
in 80 reviews
"fun"
in 185 reviews
"stops"
in 27 reviews
"cious"
in 8 reviews
"knowledge"
in 23 reviews
"margarita"
in 9 reviews
Filter

118 - 122 of 587 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

If you have never checked out the Dallas Farmer's Market, you are missing out on some really amazing treats.
Jim, our tour guide was very kind and knowledgeable! He answered all of my absurd questions and lead us through the market with ease.
During this tour we received the normal samples that you get at the market, but then a full size portion is all yours (and that is included in your tour price.
The following are some foods that we ate on the tour:
Crawfish Pistoulette, etouffee, savory and sweet pasties from the Italian bakery/coffee bar, honey sticks, Elotes from Mr. Paul and apple fried pie.
It was awesome that Jim threw in some historical knowledge about the market and some surrounding buildings.
Make sure you bring some water and a back pack to store some goodies (because after the tour, you'll want to go buy/sample more stuff, it's a snowball situation).
Keep cool, grab some friends and have a wonderful time on this fun and filling tour!

1  Thank Janet0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine S, Public Relations Manager at Food Tours of America, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2016

Hi Janet0505,

Thanks so much for joining us on a food tour of the Farmer's Market. And thanks for your great review!

We're so, so happy you enjoyed the sights, the facts and the food with your tour guide, Jim. The Farmer's Market is a great way to sample many amazing and unique foods, and what better way to do that than a guided tour, right?

We hope to see you on tour in the future!

Thanks,
Elaine S
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2016

We live in North Dallas and we were not familiar with the uptown area and the tour was a great way to be familiar with the area history and restaurants.
Our Guide Jim was terrific and very knowledgeable.

1  Thank Eyal Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine S, Public Relations Manager at Food Tours of America, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2016

Hi Eyal Y,

Thanks for your review. We're happy you enjoyed your time on a food tour of Dallas.

Our food tours are great for those visiting as well as for locals looking for something refreshing to do.

Hope to see you on a tour again in the future.

Thanks,
Elaine S
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile

Vanessa was our tour guide and she was terrific! She was extremely knowledgeable about the charming West Village area of Dallas and recommended a number of restaurants for us to consider during our stay. She was a personable guide and we enjoyed our tour very much.

Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine S, Public Relations Manager at Food Tours of America, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2016

Hi Christine V,

Thanks for joining us on a Food Tours of America in Dallas. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience every step of the way.

Our guides work tirelessly to make sure each food tour participant is happy, comfortable and full of delicious food.

Hope to see you soon.

Thanks,
Elaine S
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2016

My wife and I have experienced food tours around the world and this one was the best! Starting off with our EXCELLENT tour guide, Vanessa Lustig, she was energetic, engaging, knowledgeable, friendly and fun. What a great start! Then we dived right into the food which was super delicious and filling with each restaurant engagiing different taste buds. We opted for the two drink pairing (margarita & beer) but ended up adding on the martini because of a recommendation from another tour member which was exceptional. All in all, we HIGHLY RECOMMEND this tour.

Thank js1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine S, Public Relations Manager at Food Tours of America, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2016

Hi js1948,

Thanks for taking time to leave us a review. We're so glad to hear that you had a wonderful time with us.

We work hard to make sure our guests have an enjoyable time - from the restaurants to the food to the highly knowledgeable and engaging tour guides.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Elaine S
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Food Tours of America also viewed

 

Been to Food Tours of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing