We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Relaxed Nobu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nobu

Nobu
Reserve with OpenTable
Nobu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #169 of 3,541 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$80
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Oak Lawn
Cross street: Maple Street
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Relaxed Nobu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Food and service was just as good as it is in NYC, but atmosphere was much more relaxed. The chef was very friendly and we had a great meal.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank SouthernCross99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    59
    36
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, OK
Level Contributor
215 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Still very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

It wasn't the excellent experience I have come to expect from Nobu but still very good. The food was excellent but not as unique as it once was as so many new reataurants are copying their style. The service was not as excellent as it once was but still very good overall. And it is still very pricey considering the number of good sushi places these days.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank bathos13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Heavenly food, hit-or-miss service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

My husband and I ate at Nobu back in April of 2011 and enjoyed it so much we have been longing to return ever since. We were in Dallas to see Brian Regan at the Fair Park Music Hall and decided to take the opportunity to eat at Nobu again.

We had tried an Omakase (tasting) meal with our first visit and the service was as exceptional as the meal. We did not have the same experience this second visit. This time we ordered ala carte. Almost every dish we ordered was exceptional, the only one that wasn't was the House Special Roll which was not so special in my opinion (just an ordinary roll with salmon, tuna, tobiko, avocado, rice, and maybe crab- in a roll that had too large of a circumference too eat in one bite causing me to repeatedly drop it and splash in the soy sauce.) The Tiradito Nobu Style was perfection on a plate- white fish with chili and yuzu. It was both spicy and tangy. We also had Tuna with a wonderful cilantro sauce, which helped cool down our tongues after the Tiradito. My husband enjoyed his Miso Soup and I enjoyed a nice Seaweed and Cucumber Salad. We both drooled over the Kushiyaki (skewers) Beef and Vegetables with the Aniti-cucho sauce. That sauce is amazing. It is very spicy but so good. We were sweating and loving every minute of it. To end the meal we had some Mochi Icecream (the Red Velvet and Pumpkin flavors are quite wonderful and unique.) We also had several cocktails, which were okay, but not worth $14 each.

The service this time was rushed. We had multiple dishes on our table all at once and the server seemed to be doing his best to get us to finish as quickly as possible. The food, however, was so good we will return again for our next celebration meal. But we learned that Omakase is probably the best way too experience Nobu.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JackandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
228 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Sushi at it's best!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Nobu is always a great choice for sushi in Dallas. The restaurant is beautiul!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank JBHAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Couldn't complain about a thing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

a little pricey, but seemed well worth it to us. Every single item we tried was well prepared and the service and ambiance were just right. Will definitely do it again when in Dallas.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Van M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nobu also viewed

 

Been to Nobu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing