We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovation lacks frills, attention to detail”
Review of Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmont Hotel
Ranked #80 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Renovation lacks frills, attention to detail”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

The property looks stellar from the outside with the white stucco walls and beautiful views of downtown. But if you're looking for the Dallas version of Austin's mod motor court, the Hotel San Jose, you'll be somewhat disappointed. This renovation lacks the same attention to detail that Liz Lambert took with the San Jose's. Instead of polished concrete floors and Bertoia chairs, the rooms sport thin rec room carpet and original cracked bathroom tiles. The effect feels unfinished rather than charming. My room also had a balcony, but instead of outdoor furniture, it featured only industrial black rubber mats.

In terms of the basics, this place was clean, the staff were friendly and the value was good. It's also a super spot if you plan to spend time in the Bishop Arts District or downtown but want to do so without having to deal with Dallas pretense or the W party vibe. In short, I would recommend it but with the caveat to manage your expectations.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jd294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    101
    35
    19
    13
See reviews for
27
112
30
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I wanted to love the Belmont, but I simply did not.

A friend and I spent a weekend there in October of 2011 and we were put off from the minute that we arrived by the cooler-than-thou attitude of the staff. Upon entering the lobby and approaching the desk for check-in, the clerk turned her back to us and began a conversation with another person in the back office. Essentially, the same thing happened when we checked out, though this time with another clerk who didn't even thank us after completing our payment. What's up with that? Why run a hotel if you're too cool for the guests?

Some clerical errors were made as well, leaving us locked out of our room one day and without maid service another... these were remedied but with caveat that the errors weren't really their fault........whatever.

Rooms are sparse but comfortable -- we knew that going in and so were OK with it. And the location is simply not great, but we knew that going in as well, so can't complain.

On the other hand, we had a remarkable dinner at Smoke, the associated restaurant. It was just wonderful and I'd go back there in a second.

Room Tip: The rooms over the bar are noisy at night -- you can hear bar patrons and music until the bar closes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, Ambassador at Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Please allow me to offer our apologies for the sub-par experience you had at the Belmont. Warm and welcoming hospitality should go without saying, and I am sorry that we did not live up to our own standard.

We appreciate every guest who chooses to stay with us, and thank you for alerting us to our lapse. If there is anything we can do to help make amends please let us know.


Sincerely – Scott H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

It's not often you find a hand-written welcome note on a hotel bed, especially when the hotel is at 100% capacity and packed to the gills with two separate wedding parties. Of course, one could dismiss a little note if they didn't receive the top-notch service we experienced!

The hotel sits atop a hill overlooking downtown Dallas and if you like mid-century modern architecture, you'll love this place. They converted the old motor lodge parking pads next to each deluxe room into cozy little patios for outdoor relaxing. We found three adorable little geckos on ours. :)

The pool was closed for three hours on the evening of our visit for a wedding, which might have been an annoyance but wasn't for us. If pool use is very important to your group you might want to call ahead and make sure it'll be open. The two large wedding parties the day we were there made things a bit crowded, but I enjoyed seeing all the dresses.

We used the complimentary shuttle (an Escalade!) to a nearby concert and the driver went above and beyond for us. He drove us through a lovely neighborhood and explained the history of the hotel. He also refused a tip!

There were a few negatives- the wedding parties drank up all the coffee the next morning and there wasn't any to be had. Also, the upper parking lot where we parked above the restaurant turned into a mud pit after a rainstorm, which made getting out of there a messy prospect. (An email to the hotel regarding the mud was answered with an apologetic phone call and promise to have the parking lot repaved.)

Great hotel run by great people. The up-scale BBQ restaurant next door is a big plus, too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

What always bothers me about going to Dallas is that the majority of hotels are huge and without any personality. In those hotels you feel as though you could be anywhere, North, South, East or West. Belmont is the other side of the coin: an older, remodeled hotel with lots of Texas personality. Many of the rooms have excellent views of the Dallas skyline, it's worth asking for at booking or check-in. Attached to the hotel is the very excellent "Smoke" self-described "artisanal" texas BBQ restaurant. What the Belmont has going for it is it's uniqueness, and the feeling of an old history while being completely clean and new at the same time. It is in a rather out of the way location. It's a short drive to DFW or to the center of Dallas, but it is nonetheless not really near anything else of note.
I'll stay here on my next Dallas trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank recur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I just came back from a 4-night stay at the Belmont. The rooms are clean, the prices are affordable, and the decor is charming. But most importantly, everyone who works there is so nice, friendly and helpful. Much of downtown Dallas was sold out for a conference, and the team went way above the call of duty to help accomodate me. Totally recommend!!

Room Tip: I liked Room #2, which had two bathrooms and a little sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I stumbled into this place looking for the companion restaurant, Smoke, and couldn't have been more pleased with my stay. It was Texas-OU weekend, and they only had a couple of rooms left, but I toured the property, and it is a really charming renovation of an old standard originally opened in 1946. Prices are reasonable (for Dallas), and the view of the Dallas skyline is truly superlative. I found the staff to be young, friendly, and helpful (not always the case when younger people are taking care of older grumps, but they seem to understand getting old is not for the faint of heart). I can finding nothing to criticize, and everything to praise, and this place will be my choice for stays in Dallas from now on. If you go, tellem Catfish sentcha, and be sure to eat at Smoke.

Room Tip: The bar has a terrific view, and supurb open air ambiance, and it appears the rooms closer to the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rangercatfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed at the Belmont for OU/TX weekend, and had a great experience. Not only did it cost half what a West End hotel would have cost, but we were close enough to take the hotel shuttle downtown on Friday night, and still far enough to have a relaxing, intimate dinner in the Bishop Arts District on Saturday. It was the best of both worlds!

The hotel was cute and eclectic. We had a hand-written welcome note from the manager, a view of downtown and normal overhead lighting, which I really appreciated. I hate how most hotels just have lamps.


One tip - If you stay in the main bulding, request a room away from the bar. We were right above it and it was very loud until last call every night.

Room Tip: If you stay in the main building, request a room as far as possible from the bar. The noise isn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindseyLu1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
NYLO Dallas South Side
#43 of 203 in Dallas
571 reviews
The Highland Dallas
#11 of 203 in Dallas
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 203 in Dallas
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Hotel

Property: Belmont Hotel
Address: 901 Fort Worth Ave, Dallas, TX 75208-1710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#39 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belmont Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing