We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but very loud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Ranked #22 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location, but very loud”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a nice hotel with a good location near the convention center. However, it is very large, filled with conference-goers, and very loud! Many of the rooms open into a hallway that is a balcony which overlooks the fountain and atrium on the second level. (The fountain is there to drown out the noise, but you can still hear it.) It looks beautiful, but at night, it gets even louder with partiers at the bar. (For us, on a Thursday night, they partied until 2:30 in the morning!) If you prefer less noise, I'd request a room down a hallway that doesn't overlook the atrium. If you are not in your room, but in the main area of the hotel, it is almost impossible to have a conversation with anyone on a cell phone because of the general noise.

Room Tip: *see above review*
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJtravelerDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,654
    1,140
    501
    184
    118
See reviews for
494
499
132
2,059
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

It's been a while since our stay there this past fall but I can still remember how average this stay was in Dallas. We were there for a very large conference and overall they seemed unprepared and were not staffed appropriately. I'm a Hyatt member with a profile and always request high floor and quiet which usually means away from the elevator. First room was next to the elevator lobby and had not been cleaned; I called down and they moved me to a room on a lower floor but further from the elevator. Rooms are large but very dark and dated and if you are on a low floor be prepared for highway noise on one side of the hotel and train whistles through the night on the other side of the hotel. Luckily, I got the highway side; which seemed quieter according to my colleagues. Dining is limited and there is really nothing close by within walking distance. The only good meal we had was at Five-Sixty by Wolfgang Puck. After several nights of "we're booked" we finally got a decent table by the window and enjoyed an excellent meal; despite the misplaced attitude of the hostess. Otherwise there is a terrible Tex-Mex and Italian place downstairs. One person in our party simply could not eat his meal it was so bad. Like I said, we were there for a conference and as you may imagine the hotel was fairly full with the bar area packed each evening. They were clearly understaffed and at times the manager had to clear the empties from our table. Overall, the only reason we were here was due to a negotiated discount conference rate. I would never stay here on my on dime. Wish we could have stayed at the new Omni but it had not opened yet.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor away from the elevator lobby; and then budget your time for the extra wait to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC-Logan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
368 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We knew this Hyatt had 1100 rooms and we knew it was a convention hotel; what we did not know was that the convention checking-in at the same time we were was the North Texas Leadership Training for Christ with almost 6,000 children between the ages of 8 and 16, plus their parents, grand-parents, siblings, etc. There was a lot of noise and general pandemonium and no available bell persons. The front desk person apologized that we were not informed and gave us a $20 coupon for drinks at the bar! My first impression was that would not be near enough. We then worried about getting an elevator to the 21st floor and were delighted to find that the conference sponsors had volunteers at the elevator stops regulating the flow and making sure the young people were not monopolizing the elevators. The room was lovely – the view magnificent. Charlie, the bartender made a mean-drink and entertained us with stories of bartending in Texas. The breakfast at the Centenial restaurant was one of the best we have ever had in a hotel. The food was fresh, displayed beautifully, and delicious. The staff was attentive and made our Easter brunch memorable. The hotel is getting a multi-million dollar face-lift this Spring which will update the facility, but they could not improve on the view from the 21st floor or the service we received.

Room Tip: High floors with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJean1565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFW
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here overnight for a second time in less than a year. First let me say the hotel is huge & beautiful, inside & out. The location is great as it is at the edge of downtown Dallas. We always get a government rate, which makes this a super deal in my opinion. In my online reservation, I asked for a high floor & NOT facing east, as we were gonna be out late & wanted to sleep in the next morning. Our room was on the 9th floor (963), facing east. :-( We checked in late & didn't want to bother with changing rooms, so we didn't say anything. We opened the curtain & saw a beautiful night view downtown Dallas & ......the train station below. I thought, this is gonna be a noisy night. But it wasn't. We only heard a train blow it's horn once. The room was large & beautiful. The bathroom was clean, spacious & very nice.

The bed was really comfy (only complaint is wish they would tuck in the bottom sheet, as it got all bunched up during the night). The room was clean.

The door to our room opened into the atrium & it was not too far from the elevators (6 of them). You could hear the water features from the 1st & 2nd floors while in our bathroom, but not in the sleeping area of our room. Also, you could hear the roar of the elevators going up & down pretty much constantly. Once in a while, you could hear the "ding" of them arriving on our floor. You could also hear people talking in the room next to us & outside in our hallway. Again all of this was heard while in the bathroom & not in the sleeping area.

We ate at Centinnial Cafe on the property for dinner & it was good. Expensive, but good. We ate (again) later that night when we returned from our outing in the bar, having drinks, chips & queso. Again, quite good. The ambiance in the second floor atrium is really nice. Very relaxing with comfy sofas & chairs all around. The next morning, we got our starbucks coffee in the Coffee bar before heading out.

The valet is a bit crazy here..... lots of people coming and going, lots of cabs, but it all went smoothly. You can use the valet service overnight for $22.00 plus tax & tip or self park down the street for $10.00 for every time you come & go.

Check-in went smooth & checkout the same. Absolutely will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRVFAN4EVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesa, WI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We had a sudden need for a hotel and booked this hotel through Hotwire. All the stafff were very pleasant and helpful. The gentleman at the desk asked what type of room we would like - high, low, quiet, view. We took the view. Be forewarned though, it can be noisy as the train runs along it. The pool is in a nice location but a little small. On Sunday morning, someone pulled a fire alarm. This happens and one cannot blame the hotel. But the nice part is that the hotel followed up with an e-mail apologizing.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel has a train that runs along it so you may want to avvoid that side if it will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KOTHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sogne Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed for some nights at the Hyatt, i have been there before I think, many years ago.

It was ok, and probably deserves the very good characteristic, even if my room was at the far end of a looong corridor. It is not a cozy hotel, though, very businesslike, and the food was very so-so.

All in all, I was there because it was chosen for me, probably would have chosen soewhere else if I was on my own

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Per_FNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
232 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is a very mediocre hotel. I had a convention rate of $139. This hotel would be a great disappointment at a higher price point.

Do not come here for the pool!

Service was very good with the exception of the chaos at valet and the long wait for a bellman.

Room service personnel were charming. The food was very good.

The bed was comfortable, but poorly made. The double sheeting should prevent you from contacting the duvet. Sorely lacking in outlets. Bath products have an unappealing odor. Towels are very thin and just awful.

Volleyball teams were poorly behaved and the hotel seemed not to care that the young girls were running amuck.

I would not return to this hotel. I would choose a HI express or Hampton before this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,219 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 203 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Dallas

Property: Hyatt Regency Dallas
Address: 300 Reunion Blvd, Dallas, TX 75207-4409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Dallas
#12 Green Hotel in Dallas
#14 Family Hotel in Dallas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 1120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Dallas is located downtown, conveniently connected to landmark Reunion Tower and historic Union Station. The hotel has 1,120 guest rooms, 42 suites, an outdoor pool and Hyatt StayFit Gym. Conveniently located near the Convention Center, the historic West End District and Dealey Plaza, the American Airlines Center and shopping centers. The hotel also has the longest running AAA four-diamond distinction among convention hotels in downtown Dallas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Dallas Hotel Dallas
Dallas Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing