We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
74
23
8
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
23
8
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedding coordinator wedding venue the entire staff romantic getaway wonderful wedding small wedding friday and saturday night out of state nice property rooms are spacious first floor ceremony guests fireplace texas tub bedspread
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 123 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two week nights. The week nights are important since only a continental breakfast is served during the week with full cooked breakfast available on Saturday and Sunday. The continental breakfast was OK, but nothing special. The rooms, public spaces and grounds are all beautiful. The inn is located in a very nice residential neighborhood very close to I-35E. It's no wonder this facility is a popular wedding venue. We took advantage of the restaurant being open on Thursday evening and had an absolutely wonderful dinner at a reasonable price. Every one of the staff members we met was very friendly and helpful. We will stay at the Wildwood Inn again if we are in the Denton area.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4, which was very nice with a day bed in addition to a king bed. This room and several others are on the first floor (convenient) and the west side which was very quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernie0528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had my wedding and reception at the Wildwood as well as had my bridal party and immediate family stay the night before. The Wildwood is very beautiful and the staff is amazing. The food is great too - I got so many compliments about the food at our wedding. This place is great for big events as well as a little weekend get-away!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdberend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2013

For Valentine's Day 2013 I surprised my wife with a one-night stay at this hidden gem of Denton, TX. The service was fantastic, the on-site restaurant was brilliant - particularly with new staff, and on one of the busiest nights of the year for them.

The room was spacious, and we loved the huge swimming-pool-esque pool.

We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms. We stayed in #5, and it was tremendous.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieTexBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Wildwood Inn in Denton provided the ideal venue for our wedding! They were attentive to our wants and needs, and they were thorough and well-organized with the details. We were able to keep within our budget at the same time as getting everything we wanted for our wedding! They were also flexible; it was raining the morning of our wedding day, and I wanted to wait and see if we could still pull off the outside ceremony (i.e., see if the rain would go away and the sun would come out). They were willing to wait it out and re-adjust their set-up. In the end, the rain DID go away, the sun DID come out, and we were able to have our outdoor wedding like we wanted....all the while, remaining on our time schedule. In addition, they took care of setting up all the specific requests we had (e.g., candy bar, table settings, favors, etc.), so I didn't need to worry about those details the morning of the wedding. They provided the tables, chairs, food, catering, hostess, and even the glass jars and some decorations we used for our table settings. Wildwood Inn gave us everything we could have asked for on our wedding day!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimKomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had this venue booked for a Wedding Party the night before and night of the ceremony, which was also to be had onsite. This place missed on so many different levels.

Service - Very Poor. The wedding organizer was ditzy, forgetful and more than once quite rude. The staff who was there the day of were half great and half horrible. Those who worked the dining room did a fantastic job on everything and were extremely polite, helpful and efficient. The staff who worked the front desk we rude, condescending and did not seem to have a clue about what was going on.

Facilities - So-so to say the best. The honeymoon room was good, clean and nice but nothing to get too excited about. The other room was small with no shower, tub only. Made it sort of awkward. The reception room was nice enough. The outside wedding area was an issue. There were anthills that we had pointed out before that wedding that were promised to be taken care of... and they were not. One of the groomsmen ended up doing it with a can of Raid. In addition, we were assured there was adequate outdoor speakers/audio that would be available. When the day arrived, we found out that morning that there were A) No outdoor speakers B) The DJ would NOT be allowed to setup anything outside and C) We'd have to provide a makeshift sound system 1 hour before the ceremony (thank you Wal-Mart).

Parking was also an issue. The site can not handle the associated vehicles of 100+ guests.

Price - Way too much. No outside catering was allowed and not variation of the wedding cake (other than their preset, pre-chosen style). We ended up bringing in our own cake. We did receive a partial refund on that but it was another un-necessary, uncomfortable conversation that we had to have with the wedding coordinator.

In addition, the time allotted for the wedding and reception was very short. 5 hours for a big wedding (to include setup and tear down) is very short. And you can be sure they made it very clear when the time for us to leave/clean up was there.

Overall, this place is probably a somewhat decent bed & breakfast, but in no way is it good for a wedding unless you are going for a super small venue and want little input on your Big Day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildwoodDenton, Manager at The Wildwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. We feel very strong about communicating any concerns or comments to our management so we have an opportunity to correct and learn from them. As with any company that is passionate about their business, we hope that your experience with us is positive and memorable. It is challenging to plan an event when family members want to have a part but is unaware of the facilities limitations and contracted agreement with the bride. We try very hard to communicate to all parties that express an interest in helping the bride, our plan of action for the day of her wedding and what to expect from our professional, friendly staff.

We do offer 14 guest rooms for your bridal party to rent. Seven of our rooms do have two person whirlpool tubs and fireplaces along with a few other special amenities. If you decide not to rent a guest room, we typically offer one free of charge to change into your dress. We did extend the use of two free rooms for this wedding.

We are very open and honest about our policies on outside catering, parking, pricing, set up and what items we offer to the bride as well as what items she would need to provide if she chooses to have them at her wedding. We discuss the timeline of the wedding day in detail so we can make sure we are providing what the bride is envisioning. We communicate this information on several different occasions throughout the planning process. We believe in having the bride well informed so that the wedding day is organized and stress free.

To the reader of this review: If you are considering The Wildwood Inn as a potential wedding venue, please feel free to contact us. We are happy to discuss this review as well as any others that you may read. We are more than happy to email you our wedding information as well as our policies and discuss any needs you may have in order to help plan your wedding day. Thank you for considering us for your special day! - Thank you! WildWood Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews