We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adult date night”
Review of The Treaty House

The Treaty House
Ranked #39 of 148 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Description: Cocktails of distinction, fine wines, cigars, small plates.
Restaurant details
Description: Cocktails of distinction, fine wines, cigars, small plates.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

Made last minute reservations(highly recommend reservations) and when we got there they were able to give us a bigger table since someone didn't show. Tapas style plates were nice to share and we were able to get 3 to try different items. We also got the special and shared that as well. Just enough food with out being stuffed. Nice atmosphere, and waitress was perfectly attentive. A bit higher end for price; but being on a mini vacation you need to splurge at least one meal. Glad we picked this restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank chefj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 88 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

Let me preface this review by saying my wife and I have spent the last 24 years of marriage visiting and enjoying Fredericksburg. We have spent tons of time and money at local establishments and LOVE this town. We arrived Sunday night and looked forward to a couple of nights away. We researched restaurants we had not tried and found Treaty House. It was a Sunday night and the place was empty. Upon arrival the extremely condescending hostess asked us if we had a reservation. We kindly said no but would like a table if she would fit us into the empty restaurant. She proceeded to take us to a table the size of a small platter. We asked for something a bit bigger so we could fit plates and drinks, she sighed and made another comment about not having a reservation. We sat, reviewed the very limited menu with high prices and refused to spend our money in this restaurant. Fredericksburg is a friendly place, a welcoming place, and a place where we will gladly spend money if treated with respect. Please train your hostess on the value of customer service. They are your first impression with guests. This weekend, they failed.

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank Stay580010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2018

We arrived without reservations to Treaty House and the staff was fabulous- placing us at a small table near the 3 piece band started with a cocktail and later chose a wonderful wine from their list! Food was high quality and delicious! We asked for the shrimp to be grilled versus fried and the chef happily accommodated! We ended the night with wonderful gelato! The band was so great and their music did not hinder conversation at all! Cannot wait to come back!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank nancywoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018

The building is super cool! The food was good, but overpriced for the quality. The staff is what ruined it for us. Maybe they were having an off night, but they weren't friendly at all!!! Our waiter obviously didn't want to be there, which was disappointing. We are returning in December & we won't go back to this place.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JRB5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2018

The staff was VERY accommodating and went out of their way to make our dinner special. Food was very good.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank JohnandKristyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Treaty House also viewed

 

Been to The Treaty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing