We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner on Friday”

Friedhelms Bavarian Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 148 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed September 12, 2018

Dinner was good but not remarkable. The service was awesome though. Creme brulet was awesome. Is on the West end of town, at a highway Y. I visited with a friend.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Goodolelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 504 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

We had a very good dinner at Friedhelm’s in Fredericksburg. The food was delicious and the best part of the evening. Very good German menu. Service was very good. However, the restaurant needs updated. It is old, dark, and musty. good German menu. Service was very good. However, the restaurant needs updated. It is old, dark, and musty.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank dsm125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

Came for dinner as it was highly recommended. The menu was quite extensive and included a number of steak items that were different than I have seen elsewhere. The wienerschnitzel was very good - Moist and flavorful — and the sausage we good. Started with the cabbage and carrot soup was very good as well.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Mastachiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

My wife loves German food and hasn’t had any in many years, so when we visited Fredericksburg, we had to find some. Someone told us that the food here was legit so off we went. We started with a brat plate appetizer which was 3 different kinds with mustard; it was great and gone in short order. Next came a beef and cabbage soup which had a great flavor. Our main was jager schnitzel and potatoes which we both loved. Wonderful dinner.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank davidhS3975RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2018

We've stopped at Friedhelms Bavarian Restaurant several times over the past few years. I had to take a moment and write about out latest visit. Outstanding! The three of us started with an appetizer of mixed German sausages, served with bread and spicy mustard. The portion was large enough for a meal.

I always like the Schnitzel and there are many variations on the menu. Our grandson wanted to try the fried catfish...yes in a German Restaurant. The catfish filet's were breaded and fried and dellicious. (I had to try them.) I always try the award winning spritzel. The soup or salad that accompanies the entree were very good.

Love the authentic atmosphere and the prompt, friendly service.

All that having been said,I didn't mention the wide selection of German and European beers and wines.

Highly recommended for an authentic German meal experience...but pricey.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Friedhelms Bavarian Restaurant also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Friedhelms Bavarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing