We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 80 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and were delighted with the Magnolia Suite room; we did not see any of the other rooms but assume they were just as nice. The accommodations were clean, spacious, airy and very comfortable. Lisa and Claude were gracious and welcoming and had everything one could think of to make a guest's stay first class from a refrigerator for the guests to use, to cold drinks, snacks every day and warm cookies in the late afternoon. They even had a medicine cabinet for the guests to use that was completely stocked. They offered wonderful suggestions on how to spend our time there in Fredericksburg, which is a very cute little city with a charming downtown area. They offered us maps and brochures, all of which were helpful. Breakfasts were scrumptious and filling. And coffee was served early for those of us who are early risers. I highly recommend this B&B and would stay there again, given the chance.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your visit and your stay in the Magnolia Suite. Thank you for sharing your experience with others, you did a great job of telling them about our home. It is a pleasure for us to meet visitors from so many different locations and share with them our home and beautiful Texas Hill Country. Hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Texas.,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
449
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

A quiet, lovely setting in a comfortable home. All the amenities are outstanding. The owners Claude and Lisa live in a small cottage behind the house and can be called upon if needed. All necessary provisions are supplied and privacy is good, even for the rooms with detached baths. After a day of hiking on Enchanted Rock our showers followed by a glass of wine while relaxing to soft music in the Morning Room recliners, was a perfectly welcome setting! The breakfast was outstanding and provided a delightful meeting of the other guests in the house. We are looking forward to spending time again in this home for total enjoyment and R&R!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lilli Marleen room (with a lovely detached bath/shower/tub) and it was a perfect se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. It is always great to hear how our guests enjoyed themselves and we appreiate the kind comments regarding our B&B. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We have stayed here twice now. We have also stayed at other B&B's in Fredericksburg and around the Hill Country. Magnolia House is our benchmark. We always seem to compare the B&B we are at with Magnolia House. None have measured up to the comfort, charm and food of Magnolia House. Claude's breakfasts are always mouth watering and something to look forward to every morning. It is the only B&B we have stayed in that offers an open living area where guests can mingle and relax, and not feel confined to their bedroom. The afternoon snacks and drinks are a welcome refreshment after a busy day of shopping and visiting wineries in the area. I think we are done comparing B&B's, and we will make sure to return to Magnolia House from now on when we visit Fredericksburg.

Room Tip: We stayed in the American Beauty Room this time. It is on the second floor with a nice view of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Jeff, we are thrilled that you consider us your must stay B&B in Fredericksburg. We are happy to share out home and so glad you enjoy the it as much as we do. Thanks for the kind comments and we look forward to seeing you both again on your next vist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Tx.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

If you’re visiting Fredericksburg, and seeking a B&B, the Magnolia House is exceptional. This B&B is a very clean, quaint, updated historical house, located in a quiet, neighborhood, on tree shaded, lot about 10 blocks from down town. The owners, Claude and Lisa, offer complimentary wines and home made pastries in the afternoon when you arrive. Claude provides an interesting home tour and dissertation about how this old time mansion was converted to make it suitable for use as a B&B. A great way to find some peace is to relax to the sound of the gentle waterfall on their patio by the Koi pond. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the big fluffy beds provide a wonderful nights rest. A memorable, two course, gourmet breakfast is served at 9:AM every day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AB_NewBraunfels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Thank you for posting this review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our historic home. We are happy to share the Magnolia House and the comforts and peacefulness it provides with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveton, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

My sister and I visited Fredricksburg for a shopping trip. Spent two nights in the Magnolia House. Couldn't have chosen a better bed and breakfast. Claude and Lisa were just wonderful. The breakfasts were nothing short of devine. Gourmet goodies cooked by Claude himself. I thought and thought about anything that would have made the visit better and could not come up with a thing. Our room was very spacious. It was very clean and well deorated. The fridges were well stocked with drinks and wine. The daily cookies were a plus. Just a beautiful place. Would definitely go back again. Even ordered some of the sheets they have on their beds. Just the softest you can imagine. Don't hesitate to book this bed and breakfast!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Holly, we are so appreciative of your wonderful comments. We're glad you and your sister had such a good time while here in Fredericksburg. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I found Magnolia House on Trip Advisor and I just wanted to let everyone know that it is as great as all the others before me said. Wonder rooms, great location, great history of the house and the best part is the breakfast! I would say this is a must for a weekend for 1, 2 or more!

Room Tip: The Magnolia Suite or Bluebonnet Suite would be best - private entrance and still has a private bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moneyhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thanks so much for sharing your experience with others. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

My husband and I had only one night to stay and chose Magnolia House. We loved it and invited a couple to join us for breakfast. It was such a pleasure to stay here. Minutes away from town. Beautiful trees , sound of water falling oh, so pleaseful . We still drink our coffee from the cups we purchased there as a reminder of this great house. We hope to go back one day. We stayed there several years ago, but remember it well. The best B&B we've ever stayed. Recommend you include Magnolia House during your visit to Fredericksburg. This house will make your trip complete.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. Just pick one and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.5 km away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
1.4 km away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.6 km away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#7 of 80 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
5.8 km away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#6 of 80 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 101 E Hackberry St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-3915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional bed & breakfast known for gracious Southern hospitality and gourmet breakfasts. This elegant historic home features five guest rooms (two are suites with fireplaces) each tastefully decorated with antiques and appointed with guests' comfort in mind. Each guest room has its own private bathroom. Conveniently located just 7 blocks from Main Street in a quiet, relaxing setting. Come and be pampered at the Magnolia House, your home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolia House b&b
Magnolia House Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing