We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg(Fredericksburg)(Great Value!)
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg(Fredericksburg)(Great Value!)
US$180
US$137
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Fredericksburg)
US$74
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fredericksburg(Fredericksburg)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peach Tree Inn & Suites(Fredericksburg)(Great Value!)
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barons CreekSide(Fredericksburg)
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hoffman Haus(Fredericksburg)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Inn & Cottages(Fredericksburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveller rating
663
18
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
663
18
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbluebonnet suiteclaude lisaother guestscookiesbeauty roomkoi pondmy husband and iblue bonnetprivate baththought of everythingquiet neighborhoodeach afternoongracious hostslovely homeprivate entranceentire housefrench toast
Filter
Updating list...
408 - 413 of 683 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2012

A quiet, lovely setting in a comfortable home. All the amenities are outstanding. The owners Claude and Lisa live in a small cottage behind the house and can be called upon if needed. All necessary provisions are supplied and privacy is good, even for the rooms with detached baths. After a day of hiking on Enchanted Rock our showers followed by a glass of wine while relaxing to soft music in the Morning Room recliners, was a perfectly welcome setting! The breakfast was outstanding and provided a delightful meeting of the other guests in the house. We are looking forward to spending time again in this home for total enjoyment and R&R!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lilli Marleen room (with a lovely detached bath/shower/tub) and it was a perfect setting for us.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. It is always great to hear how our guests enjoyed themselves and we appreiate the kind comments regarding our B&B. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We have stayed here twice now. We have also stayed at other B&B's in Fredericksburg and around the Hill Country. Magnolia House is our benchmark. We always seem to compare the B&B we are at with Magnolia House. None have measured up to the comfort, charm and food of Magnolia House. Claude's breakfasts are always mouth watering and something to look forward to every morning. It is the only B&B we have stayed in that offers an open living area where guests can mingle and relax, and not feel confined to their bedroom. The afternoon snacks and drinks are a welcome refreshment after a busy day of shopping and visiting wineries in the area. I think we are done comparing B&B's, and we will make sure to return to Magnolia House from now on when we visit Fredericksburg.

Room Tip: We stayed in the American Beauty Room this time. It is on the second floor with a nice view of the back yard. Plenty of room to relax in, with a private bath in the room. This room is upstairs across from the Peach Blossom Room. We stayed in that room the first time. It is a smaller room and a little cheaper. It has its own private bath, but it is outside the room off the hallway. They have recently added individual thermostats in each room to allow guests to control the temperature. The bedding and towels are top quality in every room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffR382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Jeff, we are thrilled that you consider us your must stay B&B in Fredericksburg. We are happy to share out home and so glad you enjoy the it as much as we do. Thanks for the kind comments and we look forward to seeing you both again on your next vist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2012

If you’re visiting Fredericksburg, and seeking a B&B, the Magnolia House is exceptional. This B&B is a very clean, quaint, updated historical house, located in a quiet, neighborhood, on tree shaded, lot about 10 blocks from down town. The owners, Claude and Lisa, offer complimentary wines and home made pastries in the afternoon when you arrive. Claude provides an interesting home tour and dissertation about how this old time mansion was converted to make it suitable for use as a B&B. A great way to find some peace is to relax to the sound of the gentle waterfall on their patio by the Koi pond. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the big fluffy beds provide a wonderful nights rest. A memorable, two course, gourmet breakfast is served at 9:AM every day.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AB_NewBraunfels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Thank you for posting this review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our historic home. We are happy to share the Magnolia House and the comforts and peacefulness it provides with our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2012

My sister and I visited Fredricksburg for a shopping trip. Spent two nights in the Magnolia House. Couldn't have chosen a better bed and breakfast. Claude and Lisa were just wonderful. The breakfasts were nothing short of devine. Gourmet goodies cooked by Claude himself. I thought and thought about anything that would have made the visit better and could not come up with a thing. Our room was very spacious. It was very clean and well deorated. The fridges were well stocked with drinks and wine. The daily cookies were a plus. Just a beautiful place. Would definitely go back again. Even ordered some of the sheets they have on their beds. Just the softest you can imagine. Don't hesitate to book this bed and breakfast!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Holly, we are so appreciative of your wonderful comments. We're glad you and your sister had such a good time while here in Fredericksburg. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I found Magnolia House on Trip Advisor and I just wanted to let everyone know that it is as great as all the others before me said. Wonder rooms, great location, great history of the house and the best part is the breakfast! I would say this is a must for a weekend for 1, 2 or more!

Room Tip: The Magnolia Suite or Bluebonnet Suite would be best - private entrance and still has a private bath. They connect too if you have two couples traveling together.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moneyhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with others. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews