We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest desk staff ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Gainesville
Winsted
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendliest desk staff ever”
Reviewed 21 December 2009

Traveling is not my thing and being away from home is awful. But the staff at the Gainsville, TX holiday inn express made me feel right at home. I was always greeted with a smile and asked how my day was. Portia and Amber always made a point to make sure everything was perfect and went out of their way to get whatever i needed. Thank you for making my trip a little easier. I hope to come back to texas and get the same great service again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griffenxavior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    28
    14
    13
    13
See reviews for
17
32
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We frequent Holiday Inn Express hotels, and this was the worst on our trip. The staff was unfriendly during check in and check out. Mattresses (two Queen beds) were old and uncomfortable, and the rooms were not cleaned. This was frustrating after a very long day on the road. Parking was adequate, but not friendly for larger trucks. I can't recommend staying here until HIE gives this hotel an employee attitude adjustment and updates their rooms.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OurOwnAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gainesville hotels

Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We arrived late July 30th. Had reserved King non smoking. At check in had us in King smoking. Front desk quickly upgraded us to King w/ Jacuzzi Suite. Nice! Room was very comfortable with great bedding, ceiling fan, cold A/C and flat panel TV. Close to downtown Gainesville, next door to IHOP and convenient to I35. Only a few minutes away from WinStar. Breakfast was much better than normal free breakfast. It is promptly put away at 9:30. Checked out around noon with no problem charges. Never had chance to check out pool area but it certainly looked invititng. Will stay here again if in Gainesville.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidS007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Great experience! The amenities surpassed what I expected for the price. The bed was incredibly comfortable, room was very clean, the staff was friendly, and the location was near several eateries. Historic downtown Gainesville was in walking distance. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamthedirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

A nice stay overall, but when they said breakfast ends at 9:30, that's just what they meant. My wife was still eating at the stroke of 9:30 when the attendant made her final rounds and turned off the lights! There was just the one lady there doing everything, and she was having trouble keeping up with the crowd all morning, but could have left the light on.

  • Liked — Right off the freeway, clean.
  • Disliked — Not enough help in the breakfast area.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BigGeorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesburg,Missouri
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2008

this is a very nice holiday inn express. the room was nice, the pool was really good and the hot breakfast was the standard holiday inn fare but was constantly being refreshed. it is located next door to a ihop restaurant and if you show your staying at the holiday inn, ihop gives you 10%off, so we took advantage of that for our dinner. so if traveling through gainesville, the holiday inn is a good place to stay.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — noise outside
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uniquegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2006

I am a frequent business traveler and I patronize Holiday Inn Express almost weekly. Today I booked a room at the HIE in Gainesville, TX. I called the hotel direct to book the room. The person who took my reservation seemed confused and was unable to take my Priority Club number so I had to give her all my information verbally. I told her I would be arriving late and gave my credit card number to hold the room. She gave me a confirmation number. On arrival the manager could not find my reservation and I went to the car and retrived the confirmation number. I was told that my credit card was rejected but they still had rooms available. My original quote was for $99.95 per night but the only room available was at a rate of $141.95 per night. I told him this was not acceptable and after some debate he offered $112.95 per night. Still not happy I left and called Priority Club's 800 number, they called the hotel and verified my story with the manager who still refused to honor the rate quoted. The Priority Club person checked the credit card number the lady at the hotel had put in and verified the number was missing digits and had a string of numbers at the end nothing like my card and if I wanted to stay that she would send a check for the difference. I declined the offer as it is against my principles to be treated in such a manner. I will be calling the GM of the hotel to complain. I will not ever attempt to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jimthestonemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gainesville
1.8 km away
Comfort Suites Gainesville
Comfort Suites Gainesville
#4 of 12 in Gainesville
142 reviews
5.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gainesville
2.2 km away
Super 8 Gainesville TX
Super 8 Gainesville TX
#3 of 12 in Gainesville
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Best Western Red River Inn & Suites
7.0 km away
Lindsay Inn
Lindsay Inn
#1 of 1 in Lindsay
53 reviews
13.9 km away
Red River Inn & Suites
Red River Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Thackerville
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gainesville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gainesville
Address: 320 N Interstate 35, Gainesville, TX 76240-6407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gainesville. We feature an elegant three-story interior corridor layout with easy access from Interstate 35 and Highway 82 in historic downtown Gainesville, Texas! With dozens of dining, shopping and entertainment choices just minutes away, our hotel is the perfect rest stop. Winstar Casino is less than seven miles away. Complimentary shuttle Fri-Sun. We are at the heart of antique shopping in the downtown Gainesville area. We are located just 2 miles from the Gainesville Outlet Mall and only 0.5 miles from the Frank Buck Zoo. North Central College is just 1 mile away. Whether you are relaxing in our indoor heated pool, enjoying the complimentary breakfast, whirlpool, dry sauna, fitness center or the free high-speed Internet access, you'll find our hotel is the perfect retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the business office. We're close to major local businesses like Weber Aircraft, Molded Fiber Glass, Spraylat, Polypipe, Complete Energy, Carol Rose Quarter Hoses and Babcock Ranch. We also can host your upcoming meetings in our spacious executive boardroom, our large meeting room or our breakfast area. Don't forget to check-out our free hot breakfast bar in the morning, featuring gourmet coffee, the best cinnamon rolls, omelets, bacon or maybe even a helping of good old country biscuits and sausage gravy! Join us on your next visit to Gainesville, Texas and Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Holiday Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing