We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (2,582)
Filter reviews
2,544 results
Traveller rating
1,274
784
341
101
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,274
784
341
101
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea wall pleasure pier great place to walk across the street gulf of mexico nice walk pay to park nice beach galveston beach beach area amusement park jog waves bike sidewalk stroll piers
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,544 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

When we went it was windy and cold, but we did walk along the seawall and enjoyed it very much! We did get to watch someone out there surfing, which was a fun to watch.

Thank Patty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

The seawall on Galveston Island was constructed after the Great Storm oof 1900 (a Class 4 hurricane) which took at least 6000 lives and inundated the island. The wall was built up significantly above sea level to protect from future storms and it has served its purpose. It is of great historic and engineering significance and teaches what we are going to have to do about climate change into the future.

Thank 979stevep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

I have been to Galveston many times and have often driven along the sea walk and walked alone it also. There is a long beach and great views

Thank jimr440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Sand is soft and packed, goes on for miles, with businesses, restaurants, hotels, condos right across the street. Beach is clean, with trash bins frequent. Most days, seaweed is very minimal. I do not go mid-summer madness or spring break, but it's very UNcrowded (not to say deserted) early September-early March. Best of all, dogs of all sizes/varieties are welcome to play and enjoy the water!

Thank Getaway53093940703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our trip to the Seawall, the views of Pleasure Pier through the fog were wonderful. The water was chilly but the kids enjoyed playing in the tide.

Thank ColoradoTravelsWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

No one goes to Galveston Island and misses the Seawall... kind of impossible unless you go so far East to East Beach (which is amazing, beyond amazing) or West as far as Jamaica or the toll bridge. So when someone goes to Galveston they tend to get off either at 61st or go all the way into town, but when they turn toward the beach, they'll hit the Seawall. I've heard the Seawall is like 17' tall, its definitely tall when you are down on the beach looking up to where the roadway would be if you could see it over the Seawall (which is kinda the idea, things don't get over the Seawall - like surges of water). I've taken zillions of pictures from the Seawall up and down the boulevard, the beach, the piers, and just sitting there. To visit the Seawall is to visit history, not a great history, but it is history. It wasn't the only time the island got totally under water, not even in recent times did it not almost seem like history repeating itself, BUT for the Seawall and some other engineering marvels, the roadways may have got a few inches of water, but houses didn't flood, people didn't perish, and in most cases tourists were back the next day or so. Galveston Island is a depiction of determination, passion, and commitment like we've seen so few times where a community is determine to not let Mother Nature destroy them. Brave Galveston and bravo Seawall you've done your job so many times.....

1  Thank g3658555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Galveston was quite and beautiful the Monday we visited. The weather was perfect with sun and wind for a fall day. The Seawall is always a treat and the beach was soooo clean!

Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've been coming to Galveston Island for over 45 years so I've seen it all.
On This trip the beaches were very clean and the only trash I saw was left by 3 vagrants under Murdock's. Yes, they have vagrants busy like any other beach town, however they did not bother me while i was walking the beach. I'm not sure if someone didn't move them along, because they were gone my third lap along the beach.
The water can be a bit murky due to the tannins flowing from the rivers, however on this trip the water was fairly clear with a slight blue green color.

Thank D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The main road in Galveston runs adjacent from the strand along the beach on past the country club. The beach area was recently expanded. Beaches and water are not as pretty as those east of the Mississippi River but still a fun beach experience with opportunities to rent jet skis and other water toys.

Thank BTAlexander7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The beach is nice and clean. Plenty of great shops and places to eat up and down the Seawall . Plenty of nice hotels and things to do for friends and family of all ages !!

1  Thank Pmorse0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews