We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Oakhurst
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Originally were checked into a room in the low 300's. The room overlooks the building that houses the lobby and the restaurant which has very loud air conditioning units on top. We were staying for four nights so decided to try and change rooms. Heather at the front desk said they were fully booked but would see what she could do. After a wait in the lobby she called and said she had a room on the same floor but the opposite side of the hotel which offered unobstructed views. That was very nice! The rooms are clean and comfortable and each offer a balcony. The windows don't open but you can prop the balcony door open. The staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the first 2 floors as there are no views. Choose a room in the high three hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happygoluckyOakhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristin s, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2016
I am sorry this response is so late, however we wanted to thank you for your business and wanted to let guests in the past know we have renovated the guest rooms and the hotel has undergone management changes. I am glad to hear the staff went above and beyond for you and I am sure that our current staff will do the same. Thank you again and we look forward to you visiting again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    533
    300
    160
    107
See reviews for
656
576
57
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
frisco, tx
Level Contributor
169 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed here the night before our cruise. It is a very pretty hotel, and has a wonderful view of the ocean. We were in the tower, so we had a view of the ocean and pool. The pool is beautiful too, and it is heated. The breakfast is overpriced, but it is very good. The beds are only doubles, and not queens. We used the shuttle service and free parking for our cruise. When we were going to the cruise, the shuttle was running behind so we had to wait an extra 30-45 minutes. When we left the cruise, there was a shuttle available immediately. There are restaurants right next to the hotel- Landry's, Rain Forest Cafe, and IHOP. There is a Kroger a block away, and it does have a Starbucks in it. I would recommend this hotel, as I really loved the location, and it worked out great staying before our cruise.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ja_Brett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristin s, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2016
I am sorry this response is so late, however we wanted to thank you for your business and wanted to let guests in the past know we have renovated the guest rooms and the hotel has undergone management changes. We also have improved on the cruise ship transportation process and we look forward to showing you during a future stay. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Lovely room overlooking the Gulf. Room was large, clean and very comfortable. The pool and hot tub area was very lovely and again very clean. Didn't feel the reception area staff was as friendly as other Hilton hotels. The exception would have been our bellboy who was absolutely wonderful. The biggest drawback we felt here was the breakfast. We were surprized when we sat down to find out that even as Hilton Diamond members, breakfast only included juice, coffee, cereal and bagels, a true continental breakfast. In our four weeks of traveling this was the only hotel that offered this. We opted for a discounted buffet breakfast which was very disappointing. All in all it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristin s, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2016
I am sorry this response is so late, however we wanted to thank you for your business and wanted to let guests in the past know we have renovated the guest rooms and the hotel has undergone management changes. I am sorry to hear about the drawbacks and I am certain that these issues have been addressed and out product is stronger than ever. Thank you again and we look forward to you visiting in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed at this property under my Hilton discount. I'll definitely be staying again this summer. I came here in January (on a warm day) and from the moment of check-in until the time of departure the next day, everything about our stay went smooth like we hoped it would. We were able to walk next door to Rainforest Cafe (yum) and across the street to the beach. We also had a very pretty view (something I would like to wake up to each morning). All of the staff was nice too. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NextStopIsWhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristin s, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2016
It is great to hear that you had a spectacular time at the hotel. Thank you and we look look forward to you visiting in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a beatutiful hotel with everything you need to relax. Plenty of food establishments within walking distance, like Rainforest Cafe and Rita's water ice. Our A/C was too loud though...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dkboyer2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristin s, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2016
I am sorry this response is so late, however we wanted to thank you for your business and wanted to let guests in the past know we have renovated the guest rooms and the hotel has undergone management changes. We have upgraded out AC units and we feel that you would be satisfied on a return visit. Thank you again and we look forward to you visiting in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Pretty much sums it all up. Yikes.

It was loud everywhere and the parking lots were packed. I could sometimes hear kids speaking loudly in the hallways at night. The elevators were consistently slightly wet and the main area floor was consistently slightly wet since people were going back and forth from their rooms to the pool area.

The room always felt a little muggy b/c of the humidity and proximity to the water. Sheets felt just slightly damp and the carpet in the room felt slightly damp. Also had a wet odor. Maybe they just need to air out the rooms better....

Was a bit disappointed in the breakfast buffet. They "comped" the breakfast buffet since I am a Hilton HHonors Diamond member, but they limited it to the continental buffett and not the eggs/sausage/etc. Felt a little like a second class citizen because of that even though I spend 100+ nights a year at HIlton...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lcnyc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristin s, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2016
I am sorry this response is so late, however we wanted to thank you for your business and wanted to let guests in the past know we have renovated the guest rooms and the hotel has undergone management changes. We feel confident that the issues you have presented have been addressed and our hotel is a great one. Thank you again and we look forward to you visiting in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

My husband, my 1 yr. old little girl and I just visited Galveston for our first family vacation. We got to the hotel a little early, around 1pm and just wanted to check in on our reservation, but the extremely helpful and friendly front desk clerk said we could check in right then. He asked if we preferred higher floor and I said yes, definitely. He gave us a room on the top floor in the "tower" right in the middle. This made for an amazing view. The view EVERYONE wants when they stay on the Seawall. The stormy ocean was so relaxing. The room was quiet and we couldn't even hear our neighbors or traffic in the hall. The storm was even muted. The room was spotlessly clean and expertly prepared. Our bellhop was so patient and helpful and unloaded everything. He also turned on the a/c to relieve some of the initial stuffiness, turned on all the lights. And he even offered to get us some ice. I was so impressed at the level of service. And the toiletries, the bathrobes and big, luxurious towels were such a nice touch. The bed was the true masterpiece of the room. I love Hilton beds and the bedding and linens were the best I've experienced so far. We ordered room service and experienced more great service. They were late bringing the refrigerator we requested up. But they apologized for the delay. The view was the best part of the room. All this for an unheard of rate we got on hotels.com. The best deal of the trip!

Room Tip: For the best view, definitely try and get a room as high up as possible in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whitney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristin s, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Galveston Island Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2016
It is great to hear the staff went above and beyond to exceed expectations. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
4.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
4.7 km away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
0.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
5.2 km away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Galveston Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Property: Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Address: 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5874
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#5 Business Hotel in Galveston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#12 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Galveston Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hilton Galveston Island Resort and enjoy a premier oceanfront location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Situated on the historic Seawall Boulevard at the 32-acre San Luis Resort, this Galveston hotel is within close walking distance of the beach, fishing piers, shopping and restaurants. Relax in a cozy guest room with elegant, ocean-inspired decor and marvel at breathtaking sea views form a private balcony, or choose a suite with separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hilton Galveston Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Galveston Island Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing