We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like I was in New Orleans”

Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar
Ranked #31 of 330 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed September 20, 2018

This place was great. We had our dog and ate out on the little patio in the front of the restaurant. They were playing Zydeco music. My wife had a dish made with a beignets with seafood etouffee on it. I had the biggest bowl of seafood gumbo ever. The only thing I didn't like about this place was that I left my left-over gumbo there and forgot to take it with me.

Thank TexYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2018

Great to hear, Tex! Hope you and your wife come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 590 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2018

Gumbo was ok but not outstanding. Beignet's were overcooked, crusty on the outside and gummy on the inside. Worst was the bread pudding. Like a frozen brick of old bread that had been heated in the microwave. Sorry guys, probably won't be back. Really looked forward to our visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks, Jim, for dining with us. We appreciate the feedback on the beignets and bread pudding, which are two of our more popular desserts. Your comments have been shared and we hope you'll give us another try and let us know how we're doing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

We found this restaurant on TripAdvisor during a recent visit to Galveston. The gumbo is delicious and the portions are large so great for sharing. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Thank mptkrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

That's great to hear! We are glad that you had a great time, and we hope you will come by again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

We were staying in Galveston for a long weekend and had tickets to see The Texas Tenors at The Grand Opera House. We decided to "wing it" and walk from our hotel, The Tremont House. We were seated and served in unrushed manner and food was excellent. Wish we could remember servers name but oops. She was great at calling us "hun" "dear" and "darlin" so what's not to like....felt like home!

Thank takeme2abeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

That is great to hear! We are glad that your server took good care of you and you felt at home with us. We hope that you will come by again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

The food was excellent and service was great. Our waitress was very nice and attentive to us. My hubby and I split their little daddy's chicken and sausage gumbo which was served in separate bowls even though we were would have been just as happy with 2 spoons. Then we each had an entree: he had the full size shrimp po-boy and i had the fish sandwich. Both were very good and hearty portions.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ANGELA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

We're happy to hear that Anglea. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing