We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise during motorcycle rally. Cold draft beer and a good sandwich.”

Yaga's Tropical Cafe
Ranked #40 of 329 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner
Reviewed November 5, 2018

Did not want vendor food during motorcycle rally. Stopped in Yaga's and sat myself at the bar. While the beer selection is not large, I tried the Galveston Island Brewery selection and a salmon sandwich. Both were good and the service as well. They did not up their prices for the rally. Never rushed and I slowly ate, drank and watched the festivities.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 367 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2018

Nice place to stop for lunch or an early dinner. The salads were creative and good, but I would request the dressing on the side in the future. Service was good as well.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ehbluzerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2018

We truly enjoyed the funky, relaxed environment of Yaga's. The service we great, our server was extremely friendly and welcoming. The food was quite good. We would definitely suggest trying Yaga's Café when in Galveston.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amarinesmom226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2018 via mobile

Went in here for a snack between lunch and dinner. Ordered the appetizer that was a tostado and turns out it was nachos which was ok because we asked what it was. Also had the gumbo and it was delicious but a very small serving. The nachos were stacked pretty high with plenty of grilled chicken cubes, black beans and liquid cheese. No pico, guacamole or sour cream on the nachos and liquid cheese made this just an ok choice. The server was nice and accommodating but was unsure about what we ordered and came back to verify and I guess thats good. Based on our experience this place is probably a 3.5.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank glens183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

My wife had the gumbo and I had the spinach salad. Both were very good. Service was a bit slow, but we were in the middle of lunchtime. Our server was very nice and delivered the check quickly.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank RobertS14033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yaga's Tropical Cafe also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Yaga's Tropical Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing