We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what you see is what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We booked this hotel because of the "kitchen" and the price. We are a retired couple on a lengthy road trip and wish to have the option of preparing our own meals.

The on line photos are exactly what you are getting. Our unit was on the 3rd floor and we had an ocean view from the balcony. The hotel is across the street from the seawall and a small sandy beach area. We were able to sit on the balcony and see and hear the waves from the gulf.

Check in was smooth, staff very pleasant . The unit is showing its age in it's decor and ammenities. It was clean, bed was comfortable, towels were plentiful, housekeeping staff excellent.

The fully equiped kitchen had a few minuses.......would like to have had a colander/strainer, salad or mixing bowls, veggie peeler, drying rack for doing the dishes, scrubbie for the pots and pans a sharp knife or two !

The unit can sleep 6 but would be very crowded with 6 and not enough seating for 6 .The Master BR with its Queen bed is small and the bed is against a wall , not great if you have to get up at night! Our rate of 80.00 seemed appropriate for what we got. When we inquired about 2 extra nights (Fri/Sat) because it was Spring Break the price more than doubled......I would never spend 160.00 on this unit !

It worked for us, but was not a unit worth close to 200.00, but I guess you pay for the location and the season.

Room Tip: 3rd floor and to the rear of the complex, away from Seawall Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank windsorwand31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

Me and my husband came down here for our anniversary trip. Which was also our 1st trip to galveston. When we got to hotel we were booked for a partial ocean view room. We upgraded (I asked for the very front room that faced the ocean) and paid about 50.00 extra. We stayed here 6 days. We were on the 3rd floor. We loved our room it was perfect for us. The kitchen was very nice also had plates/bowls/silverware. Slept very good on our bed. The balcony view was beautiful!! Had a nice tv in the other room. Housekeeping did a great job. There's a golden corrall to the right of the hotel. Your on the seawall where everything is which made this location perfect it's right in the middle of everything. There's a nice heated pool we swam in for a couple hours. There's a security man that walks the property at all hours of the day. Overall we would defintely stay again. Loved the hotel, view and the location!!

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubbles0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed in a privately owned condo which was wonderful (no experience with the ones rented through Casa Del Mar directly). I will say the grounds were perfectly manicured. The heated pool was actually heated. While swimming my family was asked by security if it was warm enough (very nice). Security was seen all throughout the day. Can I say location, location, location. Right across from the beach and fishing pier. Take advantage of the surf shop across the street on 61st. They rent surf boards for $25 per day. The ones further down are too pricey. We will stay here again if traveling back to Galveston.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arfcamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Our first visit with family was great and perfect. Our second visit was just my Husband and myself was not so great. Coffee pot was dirty (actually still had coffee in the filter); the room needed a lot of TLC. Fridge would not close; rust on lights ln bathroom. Staff was still very friendly but I was disappointed that when I told them what I found they did not respond. We also told them we needed a non-smoking room, and what we got was a room people had at one time smoked in and smelled like it, we ended up with headaches from staying there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrendaH40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Great location; right on the seawall with one of the fishing piers across the street, great restaurants and a grocery store just down the street. Rooms have bunkbeds for the kids, seperate bedroom for mom and dad, kitchenette with oven, stove, microwave, fridge, and all the utensils. The place coud probably use some updating, but it was clean, spacious, and perfectly located. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DocZ03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The rooms were smaller than expected, but giving my kids their own sleeping space in the bunk beds made it seem huge! It is a little older facility, but the location can not be beat. Literally right across from the beach! The only down-side was the portable crib, horribly outdated and possibly dangerous. Bring your own! Our room had a really great outside balcony with an amazing view. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MomNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Off season visit. Desk clerk switched us to a third floor, front condo, which was very kind and much appreciated. Wonderful view.

Whilst the condo was a bit tired and small it was perfectly adequate for a short visit.

It is on the sea wall, basically between the old town and Moody Gardens; spot on.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kate1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
5.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
5.4 km away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites

Address: 6102 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Galveston
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $177 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best Condo Rental on the Island! Our on site Galveston team personally handles your reservation when you book direct. We guarantee the best service, rates & packages! Casa del Mar Beachfront Suites - always a super value; ideal for a family vacation or a weekend getaway for two. When you’re looking for the ideal lodging choice, why stay in an ordinary hotel when you can have all the comforts of home in a beachfront suite ? Casa del Mar Beachfront Suites are a super value, ideal for a family vacation or a weekend getaway for two. Each fully furnished suite offers a private balcony for you to relax and enjoy the view as well as a small living area with a newly remodeled studio kitchen. There is a small private bedroom with a queen size bed and in the living area, a queen sofa sleeper and a set of Junior bunks designed for small children under the age of 10. We have two tropical pools (one seasonally heated), a trellised Bar-B-Que area, laundry facilities and Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all suites and throughout the property. Our beautifully landscaped property also features conference and catering facilities ideal for family reunions, small groups and corporate retreats. Casa del Mar is conveniently located right on the Seawall beachfront, central to all of the Island's great restaurants, shopping and favorite attractions. Relax by the pool, take a sunset stroll on the beach or enjoy Galveston's rich Island history. Casa del Mar and Galveston Island offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Hotel Galveston
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing