We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
46
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big spring hot tub sleeping porch direct tv great place to stay hosts
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 51 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2017 via mobile

Thanks to Alex and Cyndi our trip was wonderful. The Vara House was clean and very home like feeling. My little boy forgot his stuffed animal, and Alex called to ask if he could mail it to him. This is great customer service at its best!!! If in Garden City or near, I recommend this place to anyone.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LaFootballLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2017

We stayed in the Cynthia Chamber, a large room in the main house with a king size bed, and ensuite consisting of a small, separate water closet and a claw foot tub in the bedroom (which is not really suited for bathing because it is a little short). If you prefer, there is a second shared bathroom with a tub and separate shower down the hall. The bed was very comfortable and the room quiet. Coffee, tea and other drinks are provided 24 hours and a continental breakfast with cereals, yogurt, granola bars, etc. is available at your convenience. Alex one of the nicest people ever and an excellent host with ideas for dining and things to do. The Vara Guest House is a very economical, nice, comfortable place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoenixRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
do42axv, Owner at Vara Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2017

Thank you so much for taking time out to write a review about your stay. We're so glad you enjoyed it and we're also thankful that you placed your trust in us to handle your lodging needs as you made your journey. It was such a pleasure to meet you both and we'd love to see you again should you ever be back in this neck of the West Texas mesquite. Cheers to Future Safe Travels!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2017 via mobile

My husband works oil field so we bounce around a lot and I've stayed in many different places. Vera guest house is one of the most comfortable at home places I've stayed at by far. The owner Alex is very nice and helpful. The room was very clean and cozy. Big backyard with beautiful gold fish pond and bon fire area. Our room didn't have a kitchen but we had full access to the main house kitchen. The people here are amazing and it makes u feel right at home. They Do Have primium Direct TV channels. I would recommend this place to anybody any day of the week. Free WiFi. And they do have laundry facilities accessible to you for your stay. It's been a pleasure to be able to find this hidden gem

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank My Info A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2017

We still like this place, but it was not clean this time. We stayed in the log house which was spacious but not as clean as it should have been. The proprietor is lovely, and still a good breakfast cook. It is an unusual spot for a decent stay so we think you should still check it out as an alternative to the too expensive choices in Midland.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
do42axv, Owner at Vara Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2017

We appreciate your honest feedback regarding the cleanliness of the log cabin upon check-in. We have very high standards for those providing cleaning services for our establishment, and are very disappointed to learn that there were deficiencies in the services that were provided. We are truly sorry that your experience was less than perfect.

If you had told us of your concerns, it would have been our pleasure to immediately address them. We do hope that you will reach out to us directly to provide more specific details, so that we can have a better understanding of the deficiencies you saw in the cabin.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast, and appreciate your kind words! We do hope that you will seek us out again when you need lodging in our area. We would love the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Alex and Cyndi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2017

We needed a place to stay during a road trip and showing up at the Vara Guest House after a long day of driving was the perfect retreat. Our room was super clean and comfortable, as was the rest of the home, and Alex and Cyndi were more than accommodating hosts. It felt like we were showing up at a family members house by the way they treated us and made us feel at home. They have a communal kitchen area and a lovely outdoor sitting area with a hot tub and fire place, perfect for unwinding with a glass of wine. I highly recommend the Vara Guest House to anyone driving through Garden City! Thanks Alex and Cyndi!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylorjash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews