We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Woods Inn - total charm”
Review of Country Woods Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Woods Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Glen Rose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2009

Get this - we hadn't even left the property and my 9 year-old son and his friend said "We miss this place already!" What a low-key, charming throw-back of a place. If you want heated pools and marble, go somewhere else. This place is all about country charm and slowing down. The room we stayed in - Prairie House South Wing - was tiny but surprisingly well-equipped. (You rarely find a hair dryer in a cabin!) It had a very small kitchen, a little living room and two bedrooms with double beds. It also had hot chocolate, walking sticks, a picnic basket, info on the animals on site, a jump rope, a bird watching kit - so many fun little touches.

Yes, there was a TV, but we never even turned it on. Instead we visited Dinosaur World and Dinosaur Valley State Park, just minutes away. We hiked the on-site trails with our dog - yes, they allow dogs - and saw several deer. We petted and fed the horses, sheep, goats, chickens, rabbits, pigs and other animals they have on the property. We swung in the hammock, made s'mores over a campfire, shot baskets, kicked around the soccer ball and met some new friends. And we were there for only about 24 hours. My son can't wait to go back with a couple other families.

This is a great getaway for families looking to slow down and turn off the Wii.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank cpez3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2009

Our stay can only be described as magical. We listened to an owl hoot outside our window during the night and awoke to a family of deer in our front yard! The farm animals, hiking trails and relaxed country atmosphere made it a wonderful family memory. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank UsBarnetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

I booked my stay a few weeks in advance and paid $395 for the two nights on my Visa debit card. The following weekend, Hurricane Ike devasted the gulf region. We decided that the money we would have spent on a weekend away could be far better used to help our fellow Texans recover. I emailed the Inn and requested that they cancel our stay and refund our payment. They replied that the reservation had been cancelled. Three weeks later, still no refund. After another full week of emails and phone calls, they finally refunded our money.... kind of. We were charged $15 to cancel. We were told that they have to pay the credit card company to refund. Shouldn't this be stated on their website cancel policy? Considering that you have to use a credit card to book, and they know you will have to pay the $15 to refund it, this seems like a commen sense issue to me. We were really hoping to reschedule in a couple of months, because the place looks great. Now, I don't know that we will. Just be VERY sure that you are able to go before you book or be prepared to lose $15 and have to really work at getting the rest back.

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank woodcrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1947helen, owner at Country Woods Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2008

Because of Ike we were, of course, happy to waive our cancellation policy and refund your payment. Credit card processors charge us so much that we do try to recoup their fees when we loose payments due to cancellations. We will gladly refund your $15.00.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

Well we stayed at the Prairie House for a night and the weather was excellent. We loved every minute of our stay and property is excellent for walking around and getting lost too. The hammocks, swings, woods and the cabins are all well done, well maintained and a pure joy. We were just not wanting to leave when our stay was over. For people looking for a relaxing get-away nearby Dallas, I would recommend this place. Nearby is the town of glen rose, fossil rim and dinosaur valley state park.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank rammotipally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

We stayed in the Prairie House one night with five year-old twins. They had such a blast, we regretted having to leave. The property is amazing. The animals are just so fun, as is the creek down the way. We loved exploring the farm and appreciated all the little touches, especially those for the kids.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank txtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

This is a great place to stay with young children! Each cottage has a kitchen so you can cook meals while you are there. The farm animals are so friendly and there is food provided for the kids to feed them. There are plenty of activities to do on the property. The accomodations were clean and thoughtfully furnished. Breakfast in the barn was a real treat! I would say if you are making your reservations through their online service, call just to verify the details of your stay. There seemed to be some trouble with the online reservation service during our stay.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank txmomof2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

We only spent one night at Country Woods Inn - but it was great! We brought our 3 grandchildren (3,4, & 7) and stayed in the Prairie House (north) because it had a youth bed as well as 2 doubles. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. We peaked into the South side of the house and decided that when we come back we'll bring more family and use the whole house. The river was just down the hill, the picnic table behind the house was a great place for breakfast, and the swings and tire swings were a hit with the kids. The kids loved the barnyard and all the animals, especially Gracie the horse and her foal. I'd recommend this place for anyone bringing children - it's got the charm of a bed and breakfast without the worries of "breaking something"! Our grandson (3) told us he wanted to sleep another night at the "white house", not Grammy and Granddad's!
Thanks to the staff and owners of Country Woods Inn.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank TexasGrammyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Rose
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Glen Rose
1.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Glen Rose
1.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Comanche Peak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Best Western Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
1.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 8 in Glen Rose
93 reviews
23.2 km away
Nutt House Historic Hotel
Nutt House Historic Hotel
#7 of 13 in Granbury
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Woods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Woods Inn

Address: 420 Grand Ave, Glen Rose, TX 76043-5325
Region: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Rose
Price Range: $177 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Woods Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an adventure! Secluded cabins, century old guesthouses, Main Lodge, even a restored Santa Fe Railroad Car or an authentic Airstream Land Yacht. 40 wooded acres on the Paluxy River with a river walk to the historic downtown square. Minutes from Fossil Rim, Dinosaur State Park, Dinosaur World and The Promise, this Award Winning inn is the perfect setting for Family Reunions, Church Retreats and Weddings in the breathtaking Chapel in the Woods! 45 minutes from Fort Worth/Dallas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Country Woods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Woods Hotel Glen Rose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing