We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lauren H

Amazing Stay!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 15, 2017
If you are looking for a memorable and truly relaxing getaway, Rough Creek Lodge and Resort is the place for you. I cannot say enough good things about the experience I had during my recent stay. Our group consisted of four women, and we participated in two outdoor activities while we were there. The five stand clay shooting and tomahawk throwing. Our wildlife guide Wayne, made each one of us feel comfortable despite various levels of experience with a rifle. Participating in the outdoor activities allows you to truly experience the beauty of the Texas Hill Country.
We stayed in a guest house, and it was extremely welcoming and spacious. Perfect for both large and small groups, the house had three bedrooms with an additional room upstairs with bunk beds for children. Not to mention three bathrooms and a full kitchen! We were able to light the fireplace and relax after dinner. Speaking of dinner, it was phenomenal. The food, the waitstaff, the atmosphere, all very elegant yet cozy at the same time. I highly recommend the Roasted Chicken Dish! It is luxury comfort food at its finest.
The staff of Rough Creek Lodge and Resort really made me feel like I was important during my stay. The special attention to detail by the staff really makes this place unique. I cannot wait until my next stay!
Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$206
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
18.6 km from Rough Creek Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$132
C$127
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Wyndham
    C$127
18.8 km from Rough Creek Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$135
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • BestWestern.com
    C$135
20.4 km from Rough Creek Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$125
  • Booking.com
  • Choice Hotels
    C$125
  • Hotels.com
20.9 km from Rough Creek Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$115
  • Booking.com
  • Wyndham
    C$115
  • Hotels.com
21.0 km from Rough Creek Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$189
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
    C$189
21.4 km from Rough Creek Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    C$205
  • Expedia.com
    C$235
19.3 km from Rough Creek Lodge
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
19.0 km from Rough Creek Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$336
  • Trip.com
24.2 km from Rough Creek Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$92
  • Algotels
18.3 km from Rough Creek Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Glen Rose
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
309
43
31
21
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
309
43
31
21
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zip line skeet shooting great escape get away great activities something for everyone rock climbing wall dfw metroplex petting zoo kids buffet bunk beds whole family spring break fitness center fossil hunting beautiful scenery my dad
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 417 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2017

There is something for every family member to do - hunting, shooting, spa services, pony rides, archery, tomahawk throwing, fishing, zip line, rock climbing wall, etc. Most of these activities are included in your stay. We especially enjoyed skeet shooting with Huff! Huff did a great job teaching our grandson to shoot. We will definitely go back!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 4, 2017

This was our third visit to RC. We had another family go with us as well. Highlight of our visit was the nighttime safari. So worth it with kids! Our guide pulled over and stopped towards the end just because we wanted to see the amazing stars! (Deep in the heart of Texas!) The kids also really enjoy the zipline, the lazy river and the (stinky but you have to go! So fun!) dog kennels. We appreciated the complimentary kids club at night that let us have a "adult" dinner before collecting them again to roast smores over the firepits. As far as the food goes the breakfast and lunch are good but the highlight is dinner. Amazing!! Seriously, some of the best dinners we have ever had have been at RC! I loved seeing the chef in the greenhouse in the afternoons collecting herbs for that evening. The rooms are gorgeous. Highly recommend the suites for families. Even the times we have been there when they were at capacity the resort never felt crowded. We have been in the summer and the spring with summers being our favorite.
The spa is ok. That would be the only area I think could use some improvement. Not at the high level as the rest of the resort. But the clay shooting is excellent. I had a ok massage and facial while my husband did the wobble traps. Then I joined him for clays with our guide who was really encouraging and patient with me! (and had us laughing most of the time!)
Is it expensive? Well yes but it's worth it! You'll leave renewed and relaxed and wanting to return!

Date of stay: March 2016
2  Thank leslic34
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 26, 2017

I had wanted to stay at Rough Creek for awhile, always sounded like a fun and fancy full Texas experience! It seems mainly for corporate retreats these days. Rooms show significant wear, service was definitely in NO way "5 stars," but rather friendly and minimal. We had a light lunch, their 3 course dinner, and buffet breakfast. That plus our room came to a whopping $1000. Wow. We were going to do archery, but we, as "leisure guests" got bumped by a corporate group. There were not enough waitstaff at dinner. Fun, shooting and hunting possibilities, for those interested, Given their reputation for great food, their french fries were terrible and the lava cake had no lava.... Some of the food was brilliant however, such as their steaks and quail.

Room tip: Cabins are meant for large families and were more like a bunkhouse
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sidney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 1, 2017

We spent the week after Christmas at the Rough Creek Lodge. It was a terrific experience. The quality of service is very high at RC. RC is very easy to get to from the DFW Area. It was just a two hour drive from the far side of the DFW Area (Allen). Once you are at RC, you are in the middle a tranquil environment. We enjoyed the meals, riding Kawasaki Mules on the property, shooting clay pigeons, outdoor fireplaces, dog kennels, horse stables, petting zoo, zip lines, hiking trails, outdoor fireplaces, hardwood decor, fishing at the lake and evenings in the Great Room. Would go back to Rough Creek at any opportunity!

Room tip: Kids loved the rooms with he bunk beds. Some suites have fireplaces.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 30, 2016

We stayed 4 nights, 5 days.
Overall: We enjoyed the overall experience at Rough Creek. It was relaxing and we had a lot of good quality family time. We enjoyed many of the outdoor activities. The mule atv was fun, horseback riding, the shooting activities, zip line and climbing wall were all big hits with our family. They boys wish they would have booked one of the hunting trips, booking in advance is a must. There was a lot to do. The amazing food was definitely a highlight as well. However, For the price there were some aspects of our stay that were subpar. Athough we enjoyed our stay, and there were some great moments., this will probably be a one time visit for us though.
Pros: The staff was wonderful, very friendly and attentive. Breakfast and Dinner was included in our package. The breakfast buffet was very good with many options, the poblano cheddar grits were wonderful, everything was hot and fresh. The dinner was a 3 course - 5 star meal with several choices of apps , entrees and deserts and the menu is changed up a bit each night. They kids buffet was also well stocked with equally tasty items. There are a lot of activities and you will find something for everyone to do. The big hits for our family were the zip line, the rock wall climbing, the air rifle shooting, horseback riding, and 5 stand clay shooting. Three are also little putting greens, shuffle board, horse shoes, fishing boats etc and some games in the kids room. We also used the small 24 hour workout room. Our room was spacious, everyone had their own bed and space, it also had a lovely view. It was a nice relaxing getaway that wasn't too far from home but the prices were a bit steep.
Cons: They charge a premium for this luxury dude ranch and need to reinvest some money back into maintaining and refreshing the property. They do tack on an extra 21% gratuity for every activity and meal. While our room had a lovely view, the balcony needed to be painted, it was a little rickety and looked badly worn. The room's carpet was also well worn and fraying. The ceiling in the main bedroom had water damage/mold stains, cracking and drips down the walls. The bathroom also had mold stains on the roof due to poor ventilation and moisture build up, the shower leaked and tile grout was stained. While there were a wide variety of activities, some of the equipment was in pretty bad shape. They had paddle boats but they were broken, they had canoes but they leaked. They had shuffle board but some of the poles were broken. The kids ranch had several game tables etc but about half were broken. The property just needs some TLC . I was greatly disappointed in the spa services. I would not recommend them at all. The staff was nice, and the setting was relaxing with a nice view. However, The prices were high and they just did not measure up to the services levels promised. My manicure was probably the worst ever, the polish had bumps all in it and looked like my kid painted my nails. Same goes for my pedicure they did not even provide what was advertised for the service I chose, no massage, no scrubbing of dead skin, just rubbing some scrubs and lotions on feet and legs and toenails done which she cut too short to where they hurt for days after and again the paint job was subpar. I've gotten better pedicures for $45 at home.

Room tip: We enjoyed the one bedroom suite with a king master bedroom, a pull out bed and a bunk bed . It was spacious and everyone had some privacy.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pam Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews