We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
tristen4tech
Stephenville, Texas

Amazing Experience!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 15, 2017
Where do I even start!? Rough Creek Lodge and Resort was an amazing experience. My group and I had the opportunity to get to stay overnight. We took a guided tour, which was amazing. Our guide was such an inspiring man, and full of life.
We were able to do two outdoor activities while we were there. My favorite activity was the tomahawk throw because I was actually good at that. We also had the chance to shoot shotguns. This was very fun, and the guide for that particular activity was helpful and very patient with our group.
I would take my whole family to Rough Creek Lodge in a heartbeat if I could. When I got onto the property, it instantly felt like home. Not to mention, the staff was amazing! Everyone we met was so welcoming and bubbly. They were ready to assist us with anything we needed in a professional manner.
My favorite part of the trip was dinner, of course, I’m a little piggy. I come from a small town, so we never really had “good food” from where I am from. The food at Rough Creek was AMAZING. I started off with the sausage appetizer, and chose the rib eye steak for my entree. The steak was cooked perfectly. Last, best of all, dessert. I had the molten chocolate cake, and it was TO DIE FOR.
I would highly recommend “The Lodge”! The cabin we had the pleasure of staying in was 4-bedroom guesthouse. It was a lovely cabin that would especially great for a big family, it has so much space for everyone.
Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$206
C$187
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    C$206
  • Priceline
18.6 km from Rough Creek Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$135
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$133
  • BestWestern.com
    C$135
20.4 km from Rough Creek Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$128
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$109
  • Wyndham
    C$128
18.8 km from Rough Creek Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$190
Fully refundable
    18.4 km from Rough Creek Lodge
    Free Wifi
    C$133
    C$124
    • Choice Hotels
      C$125
    • Tripadvisor
      C$125
    • Priceline
    20.9 km from Rough Creek Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    C$115
    • Expedia.com
    • Algotels
      C$104
    • Wyndham
    21.0 km from Rough Creek Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      C$235
    • Hotels.com
      C$235
    • Priceline
    19.3 km from Rough Creek Lodge
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      C$271
    • Priceline
    • Hotels.com
      C$299
    24.2 km from Rough Creek Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
      C$190
    • Destinia.com
      C$187
    • Vio.com
    21.4 km from Rough Creek Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
      C$92
    • StayForLong
    18.3 km from Rough Creek Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Glen Rose
    Reviews (417)
    Filter reviews
    417 results
    Traveller rating
    309
    43
    31
    21
    13
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    309
    43
    31
    21
    13
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews zip line skeet shooting great escape get away great activities something for everyone rock climbing wall dfw metroplex petting zoo kids buffet bunk beds whole family spring break fitness center fossil hunting beautiful scenery my dad
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    129 - 134 of 417 reviews
    Reviewed February 15, 2017

    I had the luxury of staying the night in a cabin at Rough Creek Lodge and Resort. As soon as my party and I arrived, we were greeted with warm welcoming faces. I instantly felt at home.
    We did two outdoor activities during our stay. We shot clays with shotguns and then threw the tomahawks. I went into the clay shooting very nervous and scared since I had never shot a shotgun before. The guide was fantastic at walking me through it and making sure I was well prepared and safe before I took my first shot. I would highly recommend anyone whether you’re a first-time shooter, or have been hunting your entire life, to go!
    After the tour and activities, we had dinner. I would say this was my favorite part, but to be honest, the entire stay was my favorite part. The food was amazing. I went with the Mahi Mahi, which was a great choice. The sundried tomatoes on the side were cooked perfectly. Dessert was a dark chocolate molten cake with lots of fresh berries. Every bite felt like heaven.
    The cabin we stayed in had three bedrooms and a loft. It was perfect for a group like ours, or even two families coming on vacation together. There was a full kitchen and a full living room with a fireplace. Upstairs was the children’s room with a few sets of bunk beds, and a television so kids can play while their parents hang out downstairs.
    Overall, Rough Creek was one of the most amazing vacations of my life. I will ten out of ten recommend it to anyone! There is literally something for EVERYONE there! No one person will ever be left out at Rough Creek Lodge and Resort.

    Room tip: Get the quail!
    Date of stay: January 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank Aissa M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed February 15, 2017

    If you are looking for a memorable and truly relaxing getaway, Rough Creek Lodge and Resort is the place for you. I cannot say enough good things about the experience I had during my recent stay. Our group consisted of four women, and we participated in two outdoor activities while we were there. The five stand clay shooting and tomahawk throwing. Our wildlife guide Wayne, made each one of us feel comfortable despite various levels of experience with a rifle. Participating in the outdoor activities allows you to truly experience the beauty of the Texas Hill Country.
    We stayed in a guest house, and it was extremely welcoming and spacious. Perfect for both large and small groups, the house had three bedrooms with an additional room upstairs with bunk beds for children. Not to mention three bathrooms and a full kitchen! We were able to light the fireplace and relax after dinner. Speaking of dinner, it was phenomenal. The food, the waitstaff, the atmosphere, all very elegant yet cozy at the same time. I highly recommend the Roasted Chicken Dish! It is luxury comfort food at its finest.
    The staff of Rough Creek Lodge and Resort really made me feel like I was important during my stay. The special attention to detail by the staff really makes this place unique. I cannot wait until my next stay!

    Date of stay: February 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    2  Thank Lauren H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed February 11, 2017

    There is something for every family member to do - hunting, shooting, spa services, pony rides, archery, tomahawk throwing, fishing, zip line, rock climbing wall, etc. Most of these activities are included in your stay. We especially enjoyed skeet shooting with Huff! Huff did a great job teaching our grandson to shoot. We will definitely go back!

    Date of stay: February 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank RC C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed February 4, 2017

    This was our third visit to RC. We had another family go with us as well. Highlight of our visit was the nighttime safari. So worth it with kids! Our guide pulled over and stopped towards the end just because we wanted to see the amazing stars! (Deep in the heart of Texas!) The kids also really enjoy the zipline, the lazy river and the (stinky but you have to go! So fun!) dog kennels. We appreciated the complimentary kids club at night that let us have a "adult" dinner before collecting them again to roast smores over the firepits. As far as the food goes the breakfast and lunch are good but the highlight is dinner. Amazing!! Seriously, some of the best dinners we have ever had have been at RC! I loved seeing the chef in the greenhouse in the afternoons collecting herbs for that evening. The rooms are gorgeous. Highly recommend the suites for families. Even the times we have been there when they were at capacity the resort never felt crowded. We have been in the summer and the spring with summers being our favorite.
    The spa is ok. That would be the only area I think could use some improvement. Not at the high level as the rest of the resort. But the clay shooting is excellent. I had a ok massage and facial while my husband did the wobble traps. Then I joined him for clays with our guide who was really encouraging and patient with me! (and had us laughing most of the time!)
    Is it expensive? Well yes but it's worth it! You'll leave renewed and relaxed and wanting to return!

    Date of stay: March 2016
    2  Thank leslic34
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed January 26, 2017

    I had wanted to stay at Rough Creek for awhile, always sounded like a fun and fancy full Texas experience! It seems mainly for corporate retreats these days. Rooms show significant wear, service was definitely in NO way "5 stars," but rather friendly and minimal. We had a light lunch, their 3 course dinner, and buffet breakfast. That plus our room came to a whopping $1000. Wow. We were going to do archery, but we, as "leisure guests" got bumped by a corporate group. There were not enough waitstaff at dinner. Fun, shooting and hunting possibilities, for those interested, Given their reputation for great food, their french fries were terrible and the lava cake had no lava.... Some of the food was brilliant however, such as their steaks and quail.

    Room tip: Cabins are meant for large families and were more like a bunkhouse
    Date of stay: January 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    10  Thank Sidney B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews