We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
249
37
26
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
249
37
26
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zip line family pool skeet shooting horseback riding climbing wall tomahawk throwing driving range four seasons lazy river quail spa services bunk beds outdoor activities rifle range petting zoo get away team building
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 337 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2017

I have often told my husband that if we could only enjoy a couple of indulgences in life, Rough Creek Lodge would be at the top of my list! The accommodations, food, and service are absolutely excellent coupled with a myriad of ways to enjoy the beauty of the ranch style property. It's like no place else that we have ever been. A real jewel in the country side. Whether you are looking for a couples retreat, a family getaway, or a destination wedding site, you will find the lodge a superb choice. We have been privileged to enjoy Rough Creek Lodge for all of these occasions and had nothing less than a marvelous experience.

Room tip: All the rooms face the same view of Mallard Lake and the surrounding countryside.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susanblackmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2017

There are so many great things to say about Rough Creek Lodge that it's hard to know where to begin...

No matter whether you're staying in the main resort or out at one of the cabins/homes on the rest of the property, the feel is of pure luxury and utter relaxation. RCL makes every guest feel pampered like celebrities.

We have stayed here numerous times and have had our kids' birthday parties here twice staying for the weekend with multiple cabins hosting other families, and there is more than enough to keep every guest of every age happy and entertained. The breakfast buffet is delicious as is everything else in the restaurant. Chef Gerard Thompson is brilliant, and always makes sure the menu is top notch.

There are so many "little things" they do here at the resort to make your stay memorable and completely peaceful & relaxing that everyone really should enjoy a stay here AT LEAST once!!

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jchrist1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2017

We spent Mother's Day weekend at Rough Creek Lodge with my 81 year old mother-in-law and father-in-law and our two boys (ages 6 and 4). As always, we had a great time. We had a room with a king bed and bunk beds for my husband and I and the boys. The room was large and comfortable and the bunk beds were a hit with the boys. We enjoyed spending time outside with the kids catching bugs, frogs, tadpoles, etc. We also enjoyed the fishing dock, where my six year old caught a large mouth bass! The boys took out a paddle boat. We also took out a mule to adventure on the nature trail around the property. And my in-laws and I enjoyed massages at the spa. As always, the staff was super friendly and accommodating and the food was excellent. A great time was had by all.

Room tip: We were in room 104 this last time - and it would have been good for a family of five, it had a king bed, a twin bed and bunk beds.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dallastexastraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I celebrated our 32st wedding anniversary on Mother's Day weekend. First impression is a small lodge in the sprawling 11000 acres, pristine. The food is the best we have ever had. The variety to choose from, the flavor blends and some Texas style. The wait staff was attentive and able to explain things on the menu. We thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary skeet shooting and yoga for Mother's Day. But a real treat was eating on the patio, with live music and the stars of Texas above. I would recommend a journey (bike or foot) to Gunn Mountain to get the view of the whole ranch. Every worker on the ranch was kind and helpful- rock wall, zip line, spa and front desk. What a treat!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

Rough Creek Lodge was fantastic! Excellent staff, facilites, spa, activities and food! Highly recommend it for families, business or guy's trip.

From the moment you arrive at the lodge, you know this is a special place.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank cwrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews