We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have been so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Grapevine
Certificate of Excellence
alberta
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Should have been so much better”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

After a long day flying we just wanted to check in and relax, but were told they didnt hav ethe king room we booked and paid for. We were then told check in is at 3, and its first come first serve, we explained we booked a king room not a queen and specifically paid extra for it, they aregued we didnt. We showed them we did. Regardless of check in time most travellers esp for busniess fly a long way to get there adn the room reserved should still be there, as I would have to pay for it regardless.
But it wasnt even that it was the overalll of well attitide. They then let us wait at the front desk over 20 min while they tried to get a room for us, finally htey gave us keys. Alas we got to the room and it was occupied! lucky we didnt walk in on the poor lady naked, she was shocked enough when we entered.
We trooped back downstais and were put into the presidential suite, a 15k per nite room. It was big. Ok. Big mostly. Not worth 15k.
Then in the AM we packed up and left our bags in the room and went down to swap keys. Well that was the way it should have went. Instead they looked at us like we had to heads when we said we wanted them to move our bags for us, then we had to do the ENTIRE check in process again, asked if we had a car, valet, swiped our credit cards- the whole thing. 20 more mins later we had keys and were finally off to our confrence.
Another thing that erked me was the resort fee. 15$ at check in per day which isnt included when you book online. Its just tacky. if you want another 15 dollars just make the room 15 more. Dont trick they system of travelocity etc by saying you are a resort and thus entitled to charge a resort fee at check in - just charge what you want upfront. It was not a cheap stay, we had to pay over 350 per night for a king room the week we were there for our confrence so just be upfront and charge up front. its just off putting.
The nice pool adn splash park is not anywhere close to the lobby, a shuttle is required to get there. So if you are planning on taking kids its quite inconvienent waiting at lobby with the masses for a shuttle to bring you there.
The pool at the hotel is not ok ofr little kids btw.
Pool side drinks and food were not really up to par either.
nor was the steakhouse in hotel - agian not bad- service was good, but typical tastes nothing exciting or WOW.

The entire experince there contiruned this was. It was not any one thing that was bad, the rooms were nicely decorated the lobby beautiful, but hte service level was just not up to par for a hotel like that.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albertangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordTexanFeedback, Manager at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences.

We apologize that we were not able to accomodate your request for a king size bed. While we are not able to guarantee specific bed types, we always make every effort to accomodate all of the requests that we receive whenever possible, and we are glad that we were able to accomodate you for a night in one of our Presidential Suites.

We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay with you. Please feel free to contact us, and we will be happy review your experiences with you directly.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,572
    1,180
    635
    318
    242
See reviews for
1,157
527
86
1,626
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I went to the gaylord for a convention, its a beautiful property with many things to do. I enjoyed my stay. I loved the beautiful landscape, the area with trains on display, riverwalk and beautiful pools. The property is large and spacious, The rooms were large , clean and had comfortable beds and a balcony overlooking the active areas in the hotel. I enjoyed being able to walk outside without being bit by insect as the hotel is covered with glass. While I was there 13 toronado hit the area while we were in meeting the hotel did a wonerful job in getting everyone to safety. Go Glaylord!!.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The hotel and the gardens are absolutely beautiful! Every area of the hotel was exceptionally well-managed...the staff was helpful, and the maid service was great! The rooms are beautifully appointed and and the beds are very comfortable. The hotel has several restaurants...I ate breakfast in the Riverwalk Cantina and lunch in Texan Station. The buffet breakfast was nice but not outstanding for the price. Lunch was pricey as well, but the food was better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drmarquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Md
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I went to the Gaylord for a conference and the hotel is beautiful. I loved the landscape, the trains, and the river walk. The rooms were nice, 2 beds (very hard), plenty of room and a balcony view over the atrium. It was beautiful. I was there during the Dallas tornado on April 3rd and I have to say, the Gaylord staff had it ALL together. Their evacuation plan was put into place, we were directed to the tunnels, offering us chairs and plenty of water. Not the ideal situation to have to be in but everyone knew exactly what they were suppose to do and executed their emergency plan very well. A HUGE THANK YOU!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012 via mobile

This is just a typical large soulest faux American hotel. It is big and in Texas but it aint great!

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
Thank andrewtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordTexanFeedback, Manager at Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us. We would greatly appreciate any feedback that you could provide as to why we didn't meet your expectations. Please feel free to contact us directly, and we will be happy to discuss your stay with you.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The resort is spectacular and lavish. The indoor gardens in the huge glass-domed atriums are spectacular. The exterior grounds are beautiful, the gym is well equipped, and the spa is lavish. The rooms, however, are disappointing relative to the price and the rest of the resort. We had a room on the top floor with a panoramic view. But the interior of the room is no better than the average limited-service hotel room. I expected a nicely appointed room, but it turned out to be small and unimpressive. Almost any room in a Vegas hotel is better. The beds were too firm. Bathroom was small, water pressure was weak, and the shower head was useless. Everything on premises is over-priced. Housekeeping service was sub-par (they made the beds but failed to clean away garbage and used items). Parking was $17 per day. Fortunately, Internet service was included. The resort is large and remote, so there is nothing worthwhile nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Road_Warrior_in_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I am a little late in writing my review. My husband and I were there along with my work colleagues on a business trip from October 15-18th. Upon arrival the Gaylord is massive and beautiful. We were checked in quickly. The room was spotless! I am very picky when it comes to accomodations and let me just say this hotel is tops in cleansiness. Everything looked modern and spacious. We had a king size bed that was very comfortable, and lots of pillows which I love.

Within the hotel are many eateries. We tried the Riverwalk for breakfast. It was delicious! It had anything you could want for breakfast and everything tasted fresh and good. We also tried the Texas Station which is like a big sports bar/restaurant. There was a television that went wall to wall. The food was delicious here also and the portions were huge. We ordered room service a few times and although it was expensive (but the company paid) it was good and they set it up so nicely. There was an Italian restaurant that we didn't get to try and I believe a steak house of some sort that we didn't get to try.

The only thing is the parking lot is a little ways unless you pay for valet parking. They have several shops in there like a childrens' shop with toys, treats and clothes. There are several bars and a coffee shop.

Overall we had a great time and the hotel is beautiful. If we are ever in Texas again I would definitely like to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grapevine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center
Address: 1501 Gaylord Trail, Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
Region: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Grapevine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll arrive through a ranch-style archway surrounded by rolling pastureland. Along the way, rugged canyon walls rise steadily to frame your first glimpse of the breathtaking new Gaylord. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the glistening waters of Lake Grapevine, just eight minutes from D/FW International Airport, this awe-inspiring resort welcomes you to an authentic Texas experience. From the colorful Riverwalk and wide-open Texas Hill Country to the aura of Southwest-style architecture and the majestic Rio-Grande, its all here under our signature glass dome. Here, we offer state-of-the-art convention and meeting facilities, endless entertainment, World-class spa & fitness center, lavish guest rooms and our tradition of unsurpassed hospitality. Everything in on place ­ so you can have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Texan Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord Texan Hotel Grapevine
Gaylord Texas Resort
Gaylord Texas Hotel
The Gaylord Texan
Gaylord Texan Grapevine
Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center Grapevine, Texas
Gaylord Grapevine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing