We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Harlingen
Proctor, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Great choice”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I have never stayed at a Country Inn & Suites, and was not very familiar with them to be honest. It was recommended by a friend that had came down to visit family & friends, so i thought I would give it try. WOW, did they really took care of me from the moment I walked in. I had just flown in from a long flight and long layover in Houston, and Roland the clerk greeted me with a good geninue smile and even though check in was not til 3pm, he was able to check me in with a few minutes. The room was pretty spacious compared to other hotels in the area and really appreciately private bedroom while I could still have guests in the living area. I was able to rest comfortably without the any issues which was awesome so I could handle my meeting and presentation the next day.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for Roland, he will make sure he takes care of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    62
    37
    24
    9
See reviews for
96
33
18
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I've stayed @ Country Inn & Suites chain hotels before and this establishment follows in the "country charm" theme. The location of this hotel is ok, only a couple exits down from the mall and movie theaters. The staff was friendly and helpful, assisting me in locating an eatery that I had read about on this site. You can tell the hotel itself is little older than some of the other hotels in the immediate area. The rooms are your average suite style and well kept. I had no issues with this location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mrluthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I travel with work and stay in the Valley area at least 5 or 6 times a year. I decided to try this hotel since it had such high reviews however I was extremely disappointed. The room was dirty and smelled musty and stale. The toilet was dirty as was the toilet handle. The shower had hair on the walls from I suppose whoever stayed there before me, the shower curtain had stains and shampoo or something else stuck to it. There was what appeared to be a used cotton ball on the floor in the closet and there was a used band-aid on the floor next to the bed. Needless to say I will not be staying here again and I will not be recommending this to anyone else. The one positive thing I can say is that the staff at the front desk was pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WW1325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silvestro1, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
We take comments as yours seriously in an effort to improve our overall quality and guest experience!



Warm regards,

Kokila Desai

General Manager

956.428.0043

cx_harl@countryinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

This was a nice clean and comfy hotel. It was great having a refrigerator and microwave. The beds were nice and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a very nice breakfast during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peggy044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
138 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We stayed here for a wedding in March 2011. We chose a "suite" with a jacuzzi tub in the room. The room was HUGE in size. Plenty of space to even do a workout in the room. The decor is typical Country Inn and Suites decor so no surprises. Fairly comfortable bed. Nice staff. Lobby is a typical lobby for CI&S small area for reading material etc... very "homey" and "cozy". Jacuzzi tub was large enough for 2 persons. Nice size bathroom as well. If you want comfort and coziness this a good hotel. Breakfast bar was decent and they kept refilling things as needed. Swimming pool was outdoors, kind of on the smaller side and only a couple of places to sit outside.

Negatives: The only real negative I have is the jacuzzi tub was not clean, I had to clean it before first use and after the maid cleaned for the day I again had to clean it for the second night as well as there were "rings" still visible. While an incovenience I would still return to this hotel if I ever return to Harlingen.

Negative:

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy-Milford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

My daughter and I stayed at the hotel recently and had a great stay! The front desk staff (no matter the hour) was always friendly and helpful. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but the front desk employee offered to keep our luggage and allowed us to use the pool.
When we got to our room, we were delighted to see how spacious it was and that it had a microwave and refrigerator. The room and bathroom were clean.
We used the pool every day and it was nicely kept. There were lounge chairs as well as regular chairs to relax as well. The only draw back to the pool were the bees that were always around.
We ate at the complimentary breakfast one morning and found it to be very nice! There were a variety of options for guests - including cereals; fruit; yogurt; a waffle maker; french toast; sausage; potatoes; juices; coffee (and probably more that I'm forgetting).
Overall, we would definitely stay at this hotel again and I'd recommend it to families or business travelers! The hotel is a great place!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

The Country Inn & Suites in Harlingen is a step above. I just completed a long term business stay (30 days). This place is great. The staff is accommodating in every way.
Talk about a well built building - no noise through the walls, plumbing, etc at all. It certainly is nice to stay in a hotel where you can't hear the TV etc from nearby rooms. This place is built better than most condominiums. Also, nice little touches like a breakfast snack goody bag to go in the morning, complimentary USA Today, and cookies & coffee always available in the lobby. Easy access to the freeway and centrally located. Good location if you are going to be working the entire Rio Grande Valley. You won't do any better than this in Harlingen.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLG99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harlingen hotels
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harlingen
0.6 km away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#9 of 17 in Harlingen
17 reviews
4.6 km away
Residence Inn Harlingen
Residence Inn Harlingen
#2 of 17 in Harlingen
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Best Western Casa Villa Suites
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Harlingen
3.6 km away
Courtyard By Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott
#8 of 17 in Harlingen
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen
Address: 3825 S Expressway 83, Harlingen, TX 78550-7642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Harlingen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Harlingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harlingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Harlingen
Harlingen Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing