We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
27
27
20
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
27
20
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot items coffee table coffee maker room was clean great customer service each morning convenient location would stay here again two nights yogurt breakfast buffet valuables sofa linens freeway
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 96 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2017

we stayed 5 nights. The breakfast was great. There was waffles, toast, english muffins, muffins, bagels, fruits, oatmeal, cereals, HOT ITEMS from sausage, egg, made english muffin with egg and sausage, chopped sausage with onion tomato and jalepeno. the hot items changed every morning. the rooms were comfortable. Jackie at the front desk was a great. The housekeeping ladies and breakfast lady were nice. The pool is nice. The wifi is good. The tv on the other hand, i wish there was more channels available. I do not think you can beat the price with what you get here anywhere else. All of us were happy (3,8,30, 30 yr old) There were never any suspicious people around. I felt safe.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allyson R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites - Near the Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

Dear Erica M.,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 5 night stay with us. Thank you for also going into depth about our breakfast. We appreciate your feedback. In addition, please know that we will show the team members that you pointed out your appreciation. Thank you again for choosing the Comfort Suites Near the Galleria, and we hope to see you again in the future!

Respectfully,

Allyson Redd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2017

We stayed two nights while doing business in the area. As others have noted, the neighborhood is working class, at best, but I never felt unsafe. The notice to remove all valuables from cars parked in the lot is the standard one found on every parking lot ticket.

Lobby and breakfast area were extremely clean and tidy. Breakfast included hot food -- eggs, breakfast meats and make-it-yourself waffles -- and the usual cold foods, such as yogurt, boiled eggs, breads, and cereals. Also juice, coffee and milk.

The rooms are all suites, with a half-wall separating the sofa area from the beds. As is usual, the television is in front of the beds, not the sofa, which is awkward. However, there is a coffee table and an end table with lamp, so it makes a nice reading nook. There's a small table with two chairs for eating, as well as a kitchenette-style counter area with microwave and mini-fridge, as well as coffee maker, ice bucket, and plastic cups as well as paper coffee cups. We found a set of paper plates, napkins and plasticware in a ziplock bag in the drawer, which was a nice touch.

Lots of outlets for recharging electronics. Beds were very comfortable, with nice quality of linens. Towels were very soft. Decent quality toiletries. The bathroom could use another towel rack, but couldn't they all?

Fitness center includes one each of treadmill, elliptical, bike and weight machine, plus free weights. The a/c was broken, which made it less than ideal.The only other negative was the hot tub and pool, which both need a good cleaning, the hot tub especially.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_QBatonRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allyson R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites - Near the Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

Dear Dr_QBatonRouge,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property, as we appreciate all of your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you found our service to be superb, our amenities to be above average, and the environment to be safe. I'm so sorry that our AC in our fitness center was broken when you visited. Please know that this has since then been fixed. In addition, we have recently completed an acid wash of our pool and spa, so they are much cleaner than before. Thank you for choosing the Comfort Suites Near the Galleria, and we hope to see you again in the future!

Respectfully,

Allyson Redd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2017

We were in Houston for two nights attending our son's graduation at Rice University. We had booked an employee rate for two rooms, (1-King and 1-Double Queen).
Upon arrival we were told they had that our double queen was unavailable since the GM decided to give it to someone else.
As an employee of Choice Hotels I totally understand the whole communication from one employee to another. A simple call or email explaining to us of what they were doing should have been warranted.
If it wasn't for Jackie, I probably would have contacted Guest Relations. We were still paying guests but obviously the GM that other wise. My hat goes off to Jackie as she is a great asset to this hotel. Maybe she can teach the other team members about great customer service....THANK YOU JACKIE FOR MAKING OUR STAY A GREAT ONE.

Room Tip: Just call ahead and double check your reservation to make sure they didn't give it away.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nihongo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allyson R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites - Near the Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

Dear Nihongo888,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property, as we greatly appreciate your feedback. Please accept our sincerest apologies in regards to not being able to meet your room type. Moving forward, we have implemented a policy to call guests before they arrive to let them know if their room type is not available. Thank you for also showing your appreciation for Jackie. She truly is an asset to our property, and we greatly appreciate everything she does for our guests, as well as us. We will be sure to show her your appreciation. Thank you again for choosing the Comfort Suites Near the Galleria, and we hope that you'll give us a second chance to show you the Award Winning property that we are.

Respectfully,

Allyson Redd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for its location and found it to be very clean and well kept. The staff is very eager to help. However, the room 103 that we stayed in had an odor . At first we thought the carpet was just cleaned but the odor lingered for our three days' stay. The shower faucet was leaky and the water pressure was low. He tried to fix it and tried for couple hours and could not fix it. Note to myself, if you walk in the room and it does not smell right, ask to switch right away. We do love the hot breakfast that was different for all three days. She kept the food well stocked and kept the breakfast area clean. This location has a nice out door swimming pool and chair lift for handicapped. The fitness room is small but the equipments are fairly new.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mamanu53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allyson R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites - Near the Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

Dear Mamanu53,

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our property. We are glad that you found our hotel to be very clean and well kept, as well as the staff eager to help. I am so sorry to hear that your room had an odor, that the faucet was leaking, and that the room had very low water pressure. Please know that we are still in the process of getting the faucet fixed, but that the other two issues should be resolved. Thank you for also praising our breakfast and breakfast attendant, as we greatly appreciate your feedback. Thank you for choosing the Comfort Suites Near the Galleria, and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Respectfully,

Allyson Redd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2017

I needed to utilize this facilities meeting room for a large group. The service/staff were exceptional with their help and the meeting room itself. I will use this site again for future group trainings.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dspencer2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allyson R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites - Near the Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

Dear Dspencer2017,

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review on our property, as we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are so glad that you trusted us with hosting your group, and that you found the service and staff to be exceptional. Thank you for choosing the Comfort Suites Near the Galleria, and we look forward to working with you again in the future!

Respectfully,

Allyson Redd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews