We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much Room For Improvement” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Galleria Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Galleria Inn & Suites
Ranked #145 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Much Room For Improvement”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Definitely a tale of two Best Westerns and this one has much room for improvement. Check-in was slow and after checking in your given a parking pass since their gated parking lot is used as an overflow for a car or truck dealership.

The price for the weekend which we stayed was great and that ends the compliments Our family went to breakfast the following morning and the hot items on the continental breakfast (eggs & sausage) were cold. Thought that this would have been a one time occurrence but they were also cold the following morning.

After returning from breakfast we discovered that the air conditioner was leaking. I brought this to the attention of the front desk clerk who was pleasant enough to try and find us a room. With no room availability, room service came up to the room cleaned the carpet and put a plastic container under the unit to catch the water that was leaking. We opted to shut the unit off while we went out for the afternoon/evening to keep from coming back to another wet carpet. While the bathroom looked nice not having a shower head that could be adjusted was an inconvenience.

For families that have kids be warned that there is a male strip club across the street.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HooksFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    83
    33
    29
    16
See reviews for
63
43
17
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I stayed here not through choice but because my hotel had doublebooked my room. I would not choose to stay here again as the walls are wafer thin and the air con sounds like a freight train. The bedrooms are in need of a makeover but the shower in the bathroom was powerful although the sink was slow to drain. Both desk clerks I dealt with seemed pleasant enough but not terribly attentive.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freqflyerSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

This was a girls weekend of shopping and dining. The hotel is in a great area, close to restaurants and shopping. The room was clean and just the right size for us. The complimentary breakfast had a pretty good selection the only thing missing was some yogurt. The pool is nice and large. We were close to Harwin Street and lots of other shopping. LaBare is directly across the street. We will definitely stay here again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: The best prices we found were from the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzyqtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwfountainview, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Galleria Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
In behalf of Best Western Fountainview Inn and Suites, I would like to thank you for your thoughtful words. We will be looking forward to seeing you again. Rest assured that the next time you visit us, you will find yogurt as part of our breakfast items. We do appreciate your suggestion and we take them to heart. Thank you once again and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

We were guests there for six days during our competition at the National Senior Olympics in Houston. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and the staff helpful with whatever we needed. One thing that was unusual was that the some of the offerings for the free breakfast varied every day and included fresh fruit. The free wi-fi worked well and that allowed us to keep in touch with work and home while there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nan725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwfountainview, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Galleria Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 July 2011
I would like to thank you for your kind words. It was indeed a great pleasure and joy having the Senior Olympics participants - you likewise inspired us with your positive outlook in life and vibrancy. We do all hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

The location is good, 2 miles from the Houston Galeria.
The hotel is nicely furnished, the beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean.
Breakfast is usual, wider selection than plain bagel and muffins.
The pool is really clean and nice. The business center is well equipped. There is a washer and dryer in the hotel, thogh the washer was quite dirty.
We had a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FresiaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwfountainview, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Galleria Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 July 2011
Thank you once again for choosing Best Western Fountainview Inn and Suites. We are all glad to know that you enjoyed your time and stay with us.
We all hope to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

this place was the best we had a great time the kids love the staff they were very helpfull.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthysmoothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
125 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2008

The price was fine. End of complements. Hotel seemed fairly new but cheaply built and falling apart. The immediate area seemed edgy, much worse than most areas which others express a fear of but which don't really bother me. I could be very wrong about this but I don't think so. Spreading out a little revealed the main attraction of the area-the Galleria on a street which had so much traffic it was almost impassable, as is much of Houston-and a car is really the only way to get around, and I have no interest in another mall.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Location and condition
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albuquerque_NMGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Days Inn Houston-Galleria TX
#147 of 501 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hyatt Place Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Comfort Inn & Suites
#269 of 501 in Houston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Galleria Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Galleria Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Galleria Inn & Suites
Address: 6229 Richmond Ave, Houston, TX 77057-6211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Galleria Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Galleria Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fountainview Hotel Houston
Best Western Houston
Houston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing