We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“OK not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Masraff's

Masraff's
Reserve with OpenTable
Masraff's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 8,077 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Great Uptown
Description: Masraff's on Post Oak Blvd is a casually elegant upscale restaurant owned and operated by Houston restaurateurs, Tony and Russell Masraff. The restaurant has quickly become a local favorite with it's unique American cuisine and contemporary ambiance. Best described as American cuisine with a touch of Southern Europe, the seafood, fowl, homemade pastas, lamb, beef and seasonal game will satisfy the most discriminating diner. Soon after opening, Masraff's received stellar early reviews, including the prestigious three-star rating from the Houston Chronicle Dining Guide, as well as being named among the ten new restaurants on the culinary cutting edge in the US by The Wall Street Journal. For a delightful culinary experience, dine at the Chef's Table, where the Chef prepares a gourmet six -course dinner of his choosing. The Restaurant, which has recently moved to 1753 Post Oak Blvd from its former location at 1025 S.Post Oak Lane, seats over 200 for lunch and dinner.
Houston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“OK not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

When I was looking at the list of restaurants on Trip Advisor for Houston and saw that Masraff's was #2, I was amazed. We eat out frequently, possibly 8 times a week. We went to Masraff's a few months ago and have never been back. We thought the food was just OK, not great, and not really worth rushing back to eat there again.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank tctravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    62
    16
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, lovely ambience, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Masraff's for dinner must be one of the best restaurants in Houston! The food was prepared and presented superbly ... calamari - not fried, but lightly grilled - was unbelievably tender; spinach salad was fresh with a wonderfully flavorful dressing; the lamb was cooked rare (just as I had asked) and delicious; the tuna was also rare (as I had asked) and was light and full of flavor. The service was gentle and attentive ... friendly and not stuffy, observant and responsive. The entire staff is very well trained indeed. This should be on your list for places to dine!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TRHinHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“De-Li-Cious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

After our second unsuccessful attempt to dine at Masraff's, I decided to get out of the car and check the Dining Hours. That's when I discovered that they are closed on Sundays. So, we made it a point to make reservations on Saturday instead. :o). As the old saying goes, "The third time is a charm." Masraff's was well worth the wait. It completely exceeded my expectations of just another trendy spot to dine. The food was absolutely divine. The atmosphere was very lively, and made it a little difficult to converse at times, but who could talk anyway? The flavors from the food were having their own little party in my mouth and I wanted them to enjoy themselves to the fullest. The service was prompt, attentive and very courteous. I have recommended Masraff's to all of my in and out of town friends because Masraff's is a "must dine while in Houston" destination!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Small group luncheon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Had lunch with a dozen of the best meeting planners in the world at the invitation of a visiting team from the fashionable Auberge resort group. Service was crisp. Food was interesting and tasty. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TimeTraveler041847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We had two meals at this restaurant during out stay, one lunch and one dinner. Lunch was good, dinner was better. There was a more varied menu for dinner, as should be, and we enjoyed that more. Lunch - i had the grilled tuna salad. The tuna was excellent, but the salad overdressed. For the appetizer, I had the tuna tartar, which was just OK.
Dinner was better, though again the appetizer disappointed. I had the Boston Wedge salad, which was just OK. For the main I had a fish special that was excellent.
I would recommend this restaurant for a business lunch or dinner, as the decor is lovely, the service was quite good, and the food nicely presented, and good, but not spectacular.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RSM6300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Masraff's also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Masraff's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing