We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bagels in Houston- Boiled and then baked like authentic N.Y bagels.”

New York Coffee Shop
Ranked #881 of 9,031 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Deli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed August 17, 2017

The best bagels in Houston- meals reasonably priced, service and friendliness from staff and owners- alway accommodating. We buy fresh bagels by the bakers dozen, and they freeze very well, so we can always have access to the best bagels in town.
They accept all credit cards and bagles can be ordered ahead of time for pickup.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zuluqueen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 24 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2017

Visiting Houston for the first time, we sought places popular with the locals. This old-school deli is a friendly and unpretentious neighborhood diner with plain décor, no-nonsense comfort food and down-to-earth prices. All of us ordered omelets; these were ample size and very well prepared. They include a bagel or toast plus a side of home fries, grits, tomato, or fresh fruit. We also bought a dozen bagels at the adjoining bakery. Their basic bagels are very good, but several of the seeded and flavored varieties (e.g cinnamon raisin) lacked distinct flavor.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FoodFight101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile

Having lived in NYC (& Boston) where I experienced the real thing, I can vouch for these bagels! After moving back to a Texas in 1978, I have been a regular customer of this business, and it has never disappointed!

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank rghouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2016

Much better bagels than the bagel chains. And they will sell a baker's dozen. My favorite is they rye bagel.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

Service was spotty but acceptable. The challah French toast was delicious and a must try. The breakfast experience though was not helped by the strictly gas station quality of the coffee, surprising for a coffee shop.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank stevebW7395HP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New York Coffee Shop also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to New York Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing