We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Staff !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area
Ranked #188 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Staff !!!!”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I have been going to this Holiday Inn for 5 years, And the staff is awesome they make feel right at home. From the front office to the bar, food, cleaning ladys.
Just complete all around.
Beds and rooms very clean
Pool clean
Shuttle service & staff is great.
Bruce B, Maggie C, George D, George W, Greta H, Susan H, Caretlq, Anna, Michael, Simo
Thanks Again for a job well done.
Customer for life.
Gary F
Jacksonville Fl

Room Tip: Clean, Service, Beds, Staff the best in Texas
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne_Small, Manager at Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
We appreciate your loyalty. I am glad that you feel at home while staying with us. Thank you for taking a moment to recognize our staff. Each enjoys providing exceptional service to our guests and thank you for being a “customer for life”. We look forward to your next visit to Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    95
    71
    38
    26
See reviews for
80
36
19
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I had a nice stay at this hotel. The rooms were decent. Good shower pressure, average beds, free parking, free wifi. Prices of the hotel bar are reasonable and they have a pretty good happy hour but the service wasnt great. For a three star hotel I would much rather stay at a courtyard marriott, but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forbiddendonut9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne_Small, Manager at Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your travel. We are glad that you were able to join us for happy hour in the Sports Page Bar. Your candid comment is vital and allows us to address the issue. We are reviewing the standards with the staff and appreciate another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed at hotel for 10 days while was visiting a family member in TIIR. Courtesy bus runs to the medical district every hour (on the half hour) & the drivers are very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are spacious and housekeeping is excellent. Recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wend49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne_Small, Manager at Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you for your review and mentioning the great service provided by our staff. Our shuttle service is definitely an advantage for our guests visiting the Texas Medical Center. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Hesitant to stay here after reading some of the reviews, but I got a good rate so I decided to give it a try. Am so glad I did. The updated room was lovely. I appreciated having a choice of pillows (firm vs soft). My bathrooms was not spacious, but it was clean and well equipped including a coffee maker in the vanity area. The staff I encountered were cordial and professional. The air conditioning was nice and cold and is a must during much of the year in this hot and humid city. The view from my room included Reliant Stadium and the old Astrodome, both within easy walking distance. The Medical Center is only blocks away and the Zoo, Museum district and Memorial Park are minutes away by car. Next time business takes me to this area of Houston or anywhere close, this will be my lodging choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seat2d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne_HolidayInn, Manager at Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Thank you for the review. We are grateful that you gave us an opportunity and were able to experience an amazing stay at our hotel. It is good to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and recognized the upgrades in the guest rooms. We are the only hotel with a private access gate to Reliant Stadium/Astrodome. Our shuttle service provides complimentary transportation to the Texas Medical Center, Museum District and Zoo. Again, we appreciate you sharing your experience and look forward to your next visit to Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed here one night with family prior to bowl game in December. The best thing this hotel has going for it is being at the north end of Reliant Stadium's parking lot. There is a gate connecting the hotel property with the lot - don't even have to cross a street.

The room was clean and beds were comfortable, it's just a bit of an older place. There was a small, not tiny, fridge in the room, but no microwave. The bathroom had a very low ceiling, including the bath/shower. Anyone close to or over 6" is going to have to stoop. Towels were big and thirsty and there was a fairly good channel selection on the flat screen tv. The restaurant is a bit over-priced, especially the Cinnamon French Toast - $7.99 for three small circular pieces and bacon was extra.

The front desk clerks were very friendly at check-in - made sure we had a high room facing the stadium - and check-out. If I were going to another event at Reliant, this would be my first choice.

Room Tip: There are 11 floors - request upper floor facing south to view the stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toomuchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Again, my stay at the Reliant Holiday Inn was great!!!! I swear the staff at this hotel should start a training program for other hotels! From check-in (Gretna), to bar staff (Simo, Michael and Bruce) they know what customer service is about. The hotel has been updated and they are still in that process. The rooms REALLY needed updating and I'm glad they took the money and time to get this place top-notch!!! Now I look forward to more stays here!!!! Ms. Yvonne is again helping us to book for the rodeo BBQ and she is as always the most professional and customer service oriented manager I have EVER seen!!!! Thanks again for a pleasurable stay and making me feel at home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a refrig if you are staying for multiple days!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJohnson64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne_Small, Manager at Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We appreciate your loyalty and being your hotel of choice when staying in Houston. You are correct, our staff strives to provide exceptional service to our valued guest and we have shared your great feedback with them. Again, we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 474 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

My company stays here several times a year on our business trips to Houston. All employees are always very nice and helpful. We realize the entire hotel cannot be upgraded all at once. They do seem to be making more progress on each visit. This trip we had some very loud a/c units. I'm sure they are working on those.

You can't beat this hotel for any events at Reliant Stadium or business at the medical district. There are many decent restaurants within 2 blocks. We will continue to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jack2148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne_HolidayInn, Manager at Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and recognizing our staff. It is always good to hear about the consistent helpful service provided by our team. Our hotel is a great option for the business traveler and you are correct that our location is great for anyone visiting the Reliant Park/Stadium and Texas Medical Center. We are continuing to make upgrades at the hotel and now are installing new a/c units. We are thankful for your loyalty and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
1.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Houston Near Reliant - Medical
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston SW-Medical Ctr Area
0.5 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#197 of 517 in Houston
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Houston Medical Center/NRG Park
0.7 km away
Courtyard Houston Medical Center
1.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Reliant Park/Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area

Property: Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area
Address: 8111 Kirby Dr, Houston, TX 77054-1705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area is one of Houston's favorite hotels. The hotel is conveniently located off Loop 610 and Kirby Dr, just off the Upper Kirby District, with exclusive back gate access to NRG Park and NRG Stadium making us the most convenient Houston hotel near NRG Park. In addition, our Holiday Inn Houston hotel is minutes from the Museum District, Texas Medical Center, Galleria, Rice University, Rice Village and downtown. Catch the 'Metro Light Rail' located less than a mile from the Holiday Inn Houston NRG Med Center hotel for easy access to downtown as well as entertainment areas. Our hotel features the fun and friendly SIDELINES Lounge, TRELLIS Restaurant with excellent food, free high-speed wireless Internet access, a fitness center, large courtyard pool and a hot tub, business center and over 2320 square feet of meeting space. The Holiday Inn - NRG/Medical Center Area is the perfect choice for so many reasons. Come find out why we are the perfect Holiday Inn Houston hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Houston Reliant Park Area Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing