We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very close to hospitals and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plaza Hotel & Suites At Medical Center
Ranked #160 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very close to hospitals and food”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This was an OK hotel. I stayed here for business and found the check-in staff to be nice, but not knowledgeable and the check-out staff to be more knowledgeable but not very friendly or helpful. There seemed to be a lot of confusion around being "tax exempt".

The room was fine, but nothing special. The bathroom tub didn't drain well and the towels were really thin. But it was really cheap compared to the other hotels in the area, so it was OK.

Because it's near the hospital there are several food choices nearby. Mostly fast food, but they're within easy walking distance.

As an aside, it bothered me that the hotel parked its car in the fire lane.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to a friend unless they had to stay near the hospital. If they did, this hotel would be OK for the money.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    221
    142
    61
    40
See reviews for
228
81
53
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dickinson, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Needed a place close to the Medical Center, and this was the best combination of value, location, and style anywhere near. It is within walking distance, but they have a shuttle if you need it. All the rooms and decor have been updated. Clean, quiet and comfortable.Good complimentary breakfast. Will stay there again if the need arises.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilgrim50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerpoint, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

My husband and I are big review readers before booking a hotel. This hotel was an older hotel but very clean and updated. Our room was very nice, clean, and quiet. The beds were so comfortable. I think they were brand new mattresses. The bedding was "luxurious". The breakfast area was very nice, big, and clean. Overall, we could not find anything to complain about. Only 9 minutes walking distance to MD Anderson; however, we did not attempt that. We will stay at this hotel again without question.

Room Tip: 4th floor was recently remodeled. Our room was last one by back elevator which made it very conveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed here on September 9, 2011. The lobby was very nice and clean. Desk reception was prompt and polite. They allowed us to check in slightly early due to an appointment we had at M D Anderson. We stayed in a double queen room. It was very clean. Carpets looked new. Bed clothes were very clean and smelled fresh. Bathroom was clean, maybe a bit dated. Hotel was quiet with no loud noises. Breakfast was very good for one of this type. Hot biscuits, gravy, eggs, cereal, waffles, pastry, bagels, juices and milk. The breakfast area was clean and attended. It looked in some of the halls as though the hotel was getting an update. Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay and will be staying here again next week for our next visit to M D Anderson. I would definitely recommend this hotel for any one staying around the medical district. It is only four blocks from M D Anderson and easy to get to by driving or walking.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CruiseBum3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We chose this hotel because it is walking distance to St. Lukes Hospital. The rooms are a bit dated - it looks like the money for recent renovations all went to spruce up the lobby.

It was a good value for the suite for several of us - it's large, with a small kitchen area. But overall, not a great value for what you get. Everything was functional, but the bath fixtures were low quality. Housekeeping was spotty - they didn't replace towels and we had to ask for more toilet paper. The bath soap they supplied smelled horrible.

The breakfast was good - love those Texas-shaped waffles! There was also always eggs and biscuits, cereals, fruit. Not much to eat around there for lunch/dinner if you don't have a car - but the light rail is nearby so that might get you somewhere.

I'd only stay there again if I needed to be near the hospitals again. The parking is free which is a real plus for the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sea-lon-sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I stayed here on a business trip (which covered the costs). I found this hotel to be ideal for a business trip--the hospitals and the university are all right there, and it is located to some restaurants and shops, along with the Light Rail.

I was put in a suite, which was way larger than I had expected, and it was nice having a lot of extra room. The room was comfortable and pretty clean, although it was pretty dark (though not unreasonably so). Also, the breakfast that is included had a great variety of dishes to choose from, including hot dishes. I also found the service to be helpful and efficient.

In summary, this hotel is a good option for a business trip, especially if you are visiting the hospitals and university, and do not want to have to drive. Definitely worth a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tesseract68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
405 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Good hotel with a decent hot breakfast that is close to the Medical Center in Houston.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeachBelle8288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Medical Center
Houston Marriott Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plaza Hotel & Suites At Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plaza Hotel & Suites At Medical Center

Property: Best Western Plaza Hotel & Suites At Medical Center
Address: 6700 South Main Street, Houston, TX 77030 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plaza Hotel & Suites At Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plaza Hotel And Suites At Medical Center Houston
Houston Medical Center Hotel
Best Western Houston
Houston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing