We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Plaza Hotel & Suites At Medical Center
Ranked #160 of 509 Hotels in Houston
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The staff here really is friendly. The beds are comfortable and our stay was quiet. But I really missed some amenities that I normally take for granted: counterspace in the bathroom! There was just a tiny rim encircling the sink which disappeared into a six-inch ledge over the toilet. Two females traveling together need more counter space in the bathroom, most definitely. The glasses were plastic, the air conditioner noisy and there weren't a lot of outlets to plug in our various devices. And the room smelled disconcertingly like a dentist's office. That said, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again (we were visiting Rice University). But first, I will try to find a hotel with more counter space in the bathroom!
Oh, and the breakfast was fine in the morning. You can make waffles shaped like the state of Texas.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank los4caracoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    221
    142
    61
    40
See reviews for
228
81
53
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed here last minute along with my wife and mother in law while my father in law went through surgery at St. Luke's.

We stayed here 3 nights, and although the hotel is older than some others around, it is still a great place.

We had a room with two queens (3 of us staying), and the beds were comfortable and clean. The bathroom was pretty average, but hey, it had a sink, a toilet, and shower/bath, and a small counter to put your stuff.

There was a small table with two chairs outside, and a little area with a mirror (that also housed a coffee maker with some coffee samples) that one could use to get ready. We never felt cramped.

The front desk staff (which we encountered both nights and days due to going back and forth to St. Luke's) was phenomenal. Always greeted us as we walked in and out, and were very helpful on where to find certain things locally.

The Best Western is within walking distance to St. Luke's and the Childrens Hospital. You could walk outside, or walk into the hospital across the street (can't remember which one), and connect to overhead walkways that got you to St. Luke's.

The breakfast was above average in choices, and tasted good too. There was coffee, juices, a waffle maker, assorted pastries and bread, and hot sausages, eggs, biscuits and gravy. Cereal too, I believe. You could grab a free copy of the Houston Chronicle each morning as well.

There was shuttle service, but we rarely used it. The shuttle runs from 7 am to 7 pm. Depending on visiting hours (assuming you have a relative or friend at one of the hospitals), this may or may not work for you. I personally found it easier to walk to where I needed to go.

We got a great rate, and they may have a rate specially for those visiting hospital patients (nearby hotels seem to offer this, so I'm assuming they do too, even though it wasn't explicit when we called to ask about vacancy and rate).

The parking was free and ample.

Not sure about the wifi, we didn't use it, and didn't inquire about it.

There is a laundry room on site.

I did not see it, but my wife said there was a small gym and pool too.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a patient rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dallastexas76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemstad, Curacao
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

If you are going to the TMC in Houston for treatment, I would higley recommend this hotel. The Hotel was clean modern, and the bed and linens was top notch! They had free breakfast with Cereal, waffles, eggs, sausage, biscuits, bagels, with small danishes, cinnamon rolls,OJ,Apple juice, coffee & tea. The only complain I have was the shuttle service was very limited to the Hospitals & not to the very near by stores inside the TMC. Baylor clinic in next door, so I never got to use the shuttle in the 10 days I stayed at the hotel. Most of the time it was just parked. I hope they extend the shuttle service a tiny bit to serve the patients of the TMC better. Overall I had a good experience.

Room Tip: It appears the Hotel was recently updated, so my room had a new carpet, flat screen tv, WIFI that wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Singingsands_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpine, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

This hotel is great if you are visiting the Texas Medical Center. This was our second stay here in the past couple of months. Within two days we had to take our kids for an EEG, MRI, Ultrasound, Neurology, and GI specialty appointments. It was difficult enough, but to be able to stay so close to the hospitals and clinics made it bearable. The hotel is beautifully decorated in a Grecian style with greens and golds. The rooms are pretty small, but very nice. We stayed in a suite this trip and we noticed the furniture and carpet was a little more worn than in the regular rooms, but we appreciated the extra space. It would be nicer if the indoor pool was heated, it's pretty cold, but the kids enjoyed it anyway. The parking here is free which is unheard of in this area, this is a huge plus! We will be back anytime we have to travel to Houston.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midnightred2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Don't waste your money! We were overcharged (web sight price was increased when we checked out), room was dirty, bathroom was moldy and there are serious parking issues (overflow guest parking blocks in other customers so you can't get out). Checked out the next day and found a larger clean room for less money with friendly staff just a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Any room at another hotel would be a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TryingToFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This was an OK hotel. I stayed here for business and found the check-in staff to be nice, but not knowledgeable and the check-out staff to be more knowledgeable but not very friendly or helpful. There seemed to be a lot of confusion around being "tax exempt".

The room was fine, but nothing special. The bathroom tub didn't drain well and the towels were really thin. But it was really cheap compared to the other hotels in the area, so it was OK.

Because it's near the hospital there are several food choices nearby. Mostly fast food, but they're within easy walking distance.

As an aside, it bothered me that the hotel parked its car in the fire lane.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to a friend unless they had to stay near the hospital. If they did, this hotel would be OK for the money.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickinson, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Needed a place close to the Medical Center, and this was the best combination of value, location, and style anywhere near. It is within walking distance, but they have a shuttle if you need it. All the rooms and decor have been updated. Clean, quiet and comfortable.Good complimentary breakfast. Will stay there again if the need arises.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilgrim50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Medical Center
Houston Marriott Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plaza Hotel & Suites At Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plaza Hotel & Suites At Medical Center

Property: Best Western Plaza Hotel & Suites At Medical Center
Address: 6700 South Main Street, Houston, TX 77030 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel & Suites at Medical Center)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plaza Hotel & Suites At Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plaza Hotel And Suites At Medical Center Houston
Houston Medical Center Hotel
Best Western Houston
Houston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing