We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service is a joke ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center
Ranked #432 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Don't waste your money! Yes it has a kitchen however there was nothing in the cabinets- no dishes/silverware or pots/pans. So the kitchen becomes useless unless you bring your own. Their customer service attitude is laughable. A pipe burst during our stay and they didn't seem to be alarmed. We spent the entire night setting up trash cans to catch the leak and continually emptying them, as guests of the hotel mind you. Took them 24hrs to get a plumber to get it fixed and cleaned up. Our tv also stopped connecting to the direct tv they have, they once again weren't alarmed stating the tv in the lobby was working just fine. After having to address the problem myself found out from the cable company customer service, it was because the cable box was under collection for a withstanding balance of $56.75 and it couldn't be turned back on till someone paid the bill. Door didn't work, key card kept being rejected but if you turned the handle up instead of down it would open no matter what. Poorly managed and unable to be held accountable by parenting company choice hotels because it is privately owned.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Smthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEENA P, Public Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us but when the water leaked we didn't have another room to move you to due to the hurricane Harvey and asked you to find another place to stay due to the situation. You choose to stay and spent another 10 days approximately.Since you were fema guest we even allowed to keep your pet even though we are not a pet friendly hotel.Again we apologize for the inconvenience.
Sincerely,

Sunny Patel
GM
RODEWAY INN MEDICAL CENTER
713-663-6200

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

I never once felt in danger or anything while staying here. We've been coming to Houston for a long time for cancer treatment at MD Anderson, and our (and many other patients) usual "go to" hotel sold out and went downhill bad. Talk about unsafe, people were blatantly selling drugs all night out of the room next to us, and the rooms were gross! We looked for several days online and decided to roll the dice and try this one...we were pleasantly surprised. No it's not a five star hotel, but it's very clean and quiet, and very affordable rates. I pray it's not just a fluke, and that this becomes our new "go to" motel. We also had a fridge, stove, microwave, coffee pot, and continental breakfast. Very comfortable. The parking lot is different from others, but we thought it was fine, we never had any problems, and were always able to park just a few feet from our room. It's an older motel but looks to have been remodeled. Yes, the couch in the office is peeling some, but it's immaculate, we weren't bothered by it, we're not sitting on it. The only thing that bothered us was that the vanity in the bathroom is tiny, so there's no place to put your stuff. We'll probably bring a little tv tray or something with us next trip. Please God let this place remain good so that we can count on it when we come to Houston! Thanks Rodeway Inn!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wibbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

My brother needed somewhere to stay while he received treatment at the MD Anderson Center. The OWNER was horribly rude to, not only me but, my brother. He told me "to STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE", when I was dissatisfied. It was also very DIRTY and smelt TERRIBLE. You think with a RUN DOWN HOTEL, they would have better sevice. I don't see this place being open much longer.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

This place was awful. Filthy couch. Vents hanging down-broken. Stained walls. Owner/driver did not even say hello or open van doors at pick up. No utensils in kitchen. Outdated. They don not care. Charged almost $100 for nothing. DO NOT GO TO THIS PLACE. depressing.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank shelleyAluquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

I booked my reservation online the pictures do not show the entire property it is very unsafe to stay over night when you are coming from a different city. I asked for a refund because i didnt feel safe to stay there. the manger told the front desk person not to call him up to the front desk for this mess again. He has a 24hour cancelation how can you have that type of clause if you are booking online. once i entered the premisses i wasnt there a good 15 minutes i couldnt take it. it was a small lobby area. his whole family lived on the property, no exaggeration.

Room Tip: i loved the marriot i chose to stay there instead. its on main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank twashington2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

The first problem was leaky pipes in the walls. Every time I ran the kitchen faucet water ran under the floor boards. Also when the man upstairs took a shower or used his sink. Place was unbelievably filthy and moldy. The sofa was probably 20 years or more, not leather, very filthy and infested. We discovered bed bugs in a couple of days. None of the staff spoke English. We could not get towels or blankets because they couldn't understand us. The 2 young night managers were useless and incredibly stupid. The couple that live there an older, rude Asian Indian couple who know nothing about running a hotel. They operate it by Indian standards not American and had very unhappy guests. One of the women there when we were there got locked out on the night we left and the night manager wouldn't open the door to reset her key which had quit working. There were large cockroaches both mornings in the tub. There were burn marks on the plug in the bathroom which made me afraid to dry my hair. The only good thing About the place was good cable channels. The day manager was so rude that 10 minutes after we got there my daughter started crying because he scared her. Unsafe flooring buckling everywhere because of the water I'm sure. No place to turn around. Parking lot did not have a spot for every room and no place to park on the street or room to turn around.No safety strips on the tub or any kind of safety feature. Breakfast foods were old and stale, totally inedible and the stupid manager all but cussed us out for complaining.housekeeping didn't change our sheets till we found the bedbugs. The manager claims no one told him about the bedbugs. My husband got an infection from 2 bites that wouldn't heal and we are going to sue to get his medical bills paid. I believe he has to know about the problem because so many guests on here complained about them. When we told the manager he accused us of lying. We had to throw away everything we brought with us to avoid bringing them home.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEENA P, General Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Dear

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

It has been brought to my attention that you stayed with us for 33 days in the same room and only mentioned the problems when asked to checkout due to non payment of room after repeatedly declined credit card charges. Also you only come to pay for room after midnight when room keys would not work, room rate is due at 11 am.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

Sincerely,

Sunny Patel
GM
RODEWAY INN MEDICAL CENTER
713-663-6200

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

The photos online and amenities listed make it appear to be a good value. It's cheap and it feels like it. I dealt with two different front desk guys. The one who greeted me put me in a horrific room which stunk of smoke & mildew and the refrigerator so loud, it would need to be unplugged to be able to sleep. I asked to change rooms which was no problem. The fluorescent lighting was terrible and, I hate to say it, but there was a giant cockroach. The free breakfast at the front desk was packaged pastries, bananas, do-it-yourself waffles, instant oatmeal, bad coffee & orange juice.
It does have a little (unfurnished) kitchen, iron, hairdryer. With some effort and a little investment, this place could be improved a lot, but as is...be prepared: it's cheap for a reason.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
1.2 km away
Moody Manor
Moody Manor
#301 of 518 in Houston
36 reviews
3.7 km away
MainStay Suites Texas Medical Center/Reliant Park
1.2 km away
Residence Inn Houston Medical Center/NRG Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Courtyard Houston Medical Center
1.8 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Houston Medical Center - Reliant Park
1.1 km away
SureStay Plus By Best Western Hotel Houston Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center

Address: 6712 Morningside Dr, Houston, TX 77030-1908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #432 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: $93 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center hotel in Houston, TX near the Texas Medical CenterLocated within walking distance of the Texas Medical Center and Rice University, the Rodeway Inn & Suites® Medical Center is perfect for business and leisure travelers. This Houston, TX hotel's central location is convenient to the George R. Brown Convention Center, the University of Houston, Herman Park and the Houston Zoo. For entertainment and sporting events, be sure to visit nearby Reliant Park, home of Reliant Stadium, Reliant Center, Reliant Astrodome and Reliant Arena. Houston's William P. Hobby Airport is 10 miles and the George Bush Intercontinental/Houston Airport is 20 miles from the hotel. Galveston Beach is 40 miles away. The hotel is also close to downtown Houston, several museums, shopping areas and a variety of restaurants. The selection of local restaurants and cocktail lounges includes McDonald's, Taco Bell, Two Rows Brewery, KFC, Subway and various Asian restaurants. Full-service amenities and features at this Houston, TX hotel include: •Free local calls •Free shuttle to Texas Medical Center and area grocery stores •Free coffee •Access to fax service In addition to standard amenities, all guest rooms have refrigerators and cable television. Irons and ironing boards are offered. Non-smoking rooms are available. Laundry facilities are located on the property for added guest convenience. Whether traveling to Houston for business or pleasure, you'll love the friendly hospitality and great accommodations at the Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing