We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
The Gilded Age

this is a Pullman Car Deluxe. this is how the uber wealthy traveled in the Gilded Age. They lacked... read more

Reviewed September 16, 2018
steve s
,
Dallas, Texas
Railroad Car

Jay Gould was an interesting character in history. Jefferson didn’t want the railroad because the... read more

Reviewed August 24, 2018
Gary B
via mobile
Read all 69 reviews
  
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
41
19
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
19
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street piece of history excelsior hotel state rooms beautiful wood tour guide worth a stop stepping back in time guild tickets glimpse society capsule cow town kitchen visitors
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 69 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2016

So happy we were able to tour this piece of history. I was blown away on how intricate the details were and how luxurious the railroad car was.

Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki E, General Manager at Atalanta Jay Gould's Railroad Car, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2016

Thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

The tour of the railroad car was really interesting. We found out a lot about Jay Gould and his family. The guide was very informative and just seeing the car and the furnishings was great.

1  Thank DeeAnne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki E, General Manager at Atalanta Jay Gould's Railroad Car, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2016

Thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2016

We drove by this place and decided to stop. Glad we did! It was a very fun, informative tour. They have really tried to restore the railroad car to it's former splendor. We enjoyed the tour guides history and explanation of the functional parts of the car. Well worth the time.

Thank Gayle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki E, General Manager at Atalanta Jay Gould's Railroad Car, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2016

Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed the tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2016

Jay Gould's Atalanta Railroad Car was interesting, in that it was decked out for the extreme rich of the 1800's. It was the symbol of this man's importance in the town of Jefferson, TX back when the railroads made this little town a thriving place or commerce. It is located straight across the street from the Excelsior House Hotel. The admission to view it was too much and I would not recommend it as a paid attraction to anyone.

Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki E, General Manager at Atalanta Jay Gould's Railroad Car, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016

Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2016

Enjoyed taking portraits there and my grandson had a blast on the car even though it was closed. Worth a stop.

Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki E, General Manager at Atalanta Jay Gould's Railroad Car, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016

We are so glad you had a great time. Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews