We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Mold-Mildew-Horrible Service-Arrogant Owner/Management!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn of Jefferson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn of Jefferson
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Jefferson
Jefferson, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mold-Mildew-Horrible Service-Arrogant Owner/Management!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Thought we would save some time & stay in Jefferson for a Thanksgiving visit! Wrong decision-wrong place to stay!

We will never come back for another dose of this one!

We discovered mold in the room; dirty cabinets & tables in the "Continental Dining" area; food freshly purchased from the days old rack at a local grocery store; TV's that wouldn't operate with a remote. (It took them 24 hours & numerous calls to the desk & personal visits to the desk to get a TV working with a remote!)

The service at the desk from the "Owners" was argumentative, inattentive to the customer's needs & in general, no where near one half of one star rated!

Do yourself a favor & don't choose this one - - - no matter how cheap you travel. Money wasn't an object for us - - we just wanted a clean, guest friendly place to stay 4 nights in Jefferson, Texas. We checked out early & went to a hotel in Marshall for decent service & "received as advertised" lodging amenities.

I wish I had used a booking service on this one! Hopefully, the bad press I've now found on this place would have saved us the lodging nightmare.

Room Tip: Want a good room? Go someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    14
    15
    13
    24
See reviews for
31
22
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

I know I have seen a lot of bad reviews on this hotel. But you get what you pay for. I found the rooms spacious and clean. Bed was comfortable. I saw a lot of things that could be repaired. But it's an old hotel and if you want to save money I suggest this place

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorachevalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

If we had viewed room beforehand - there is no way we would have stayed. However, contract states - "no refund after check-in". Carpet with ripples, sink with enamel cracked/stained, room needed paint and refurbishing. First thing we wanted to do was turn down sheets to inspect - which we did (no problems there). Family with "screaming children" checked in about 10:00 p.m and screamed till 11:30. Motel was disappointment of trip.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank 2011charliemccain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jefferson hotels

Florence, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

We come to a dirtbike race every April in Jefferson. The Inn at Jefferson is clean, reasonably priced and has a great breakfast buffet. This is not a fancy place, but it certainly suits our needs for this trip. The location is also excellent - right off the highway, close to everything in town, close to the race - fast food, gas stations right next door.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clovelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

The pictures online lied big time. The rooms were musty and poorly kept. The curtains were stained and falling off. The room has not been deep cleaned in some time. To add insult to injury we found a previous guest's things in EVERY drawer. It is a less expensive place to stay but it was very loud off the highway and far away from the beautiful downtown. We checked out early and went to one of the many bed and breakfast places. Gross!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mamaturtlemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

We stayed here because it was the only place under $100. The town is loaded with
B & Bs in the $150+ range. We were not planning on lingering the next morning, so a B&B was really out of the question. The Inn of Jefferson appears to be the only motel in town. It was pretty bad: dirty shower floor, rusted shower curtain rod, moldy shower curtain, opened toothpaste packet in amenities basket, toilet leaked, therefore tank refilled often, small sofa had stains on it, mirror smudged/streaked, freezer section of refrigerator so iced over couldn’t put anything in it. Would not recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveTravellingTLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

Our stay at this hotel was bad from the start. We were quoted at $67.00 a night and when were arrived it was $90.00. They were unwilling to budge or acknowledge a mistake was made. On Saturday we arrived after a day of Mardi Gras festivities to find our room was flooded due to a leak upstairs. The light fixture in the restroom filled up with water and began to short out. It then busted and glass went everywhere. They cleaned up the glass and left. They informed us that there were not anymore rooms available. when we woke in the morning the entire floor in front of the sink was completely flooded. You had to keep your shoes on to walk around the room. I talked to the manager and he informed me that if we would have asked the night before for a refund he would have gave us one, but since we did not ask until Sunday morning he was unwilling to give us a refund. They gave us $10.00 and told us to leave. They were extremely rude about the whole thing. I will never return and will make sure everyone knows about the experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Concession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jefferson
0.9 km away
The Excelsior House
The Excelsior House
#1 of 4 in Jefferson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
30.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Marshall
29.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marshall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
29.2 km away
Comfort Suites Marshall
Comfort Suites Marshall
#2 of 15 in Marshall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 km away
Delta Street Inn
Delta Street Inn
#1 of 27 in Jefferson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Jefferson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Jefferson

Property: Inn of Jefferson
Address: 400 South Walcott Street, Highway 59, Jefferson, TX 75657
Region: United States > Texas > Jefferson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn of Jefferson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are biggest hotel nestled in the heart of Jefferson, northeast Texas, among rolling hills,towering tree, and two beautiful lakes. Stroll the charming brick street of Jefferson...it will remind you of a simpler life and time... a quaint small town featuring tour attraction reminiscent of its 1800's heyday...horse-drawn carriages, a trolley, brick street, riverboats and antique shops. Conveniently located off of Highway 59 just 8 blocks east of historic downtown Jefferson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Inn of Jefferson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Jefferson Hotel Jefferson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing