We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Scottish Inn Killeen
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Killeen
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed here for a week while TDY to Ft Hood nearby. First, I will say the location is great. That is all. The rooms are unclean and smell. The mattresses are uncomfortable. The rooms are cheap, so those things are to be expected I suppose. The worst of it was how they double charged our card. At first they claimed the first charge was for the room, and the second was a "hold," although they couldn't say for what. When they finally admitted the second charge it was a mistake, they said they couldn't refund it, and we would have to take care of it with our bank. Thankfully we are with USAA, and they are great. It's being taken care of as I write this, but the situation should never have happened in the first place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed overnight when our son returned from Iraq...my parents stayed for 2 days and it was pleasant for all. We liked the location; very close to everything we needed...

I read the comments on this site AFTER I had booked the 2 rooms and wasn't so sure we would like the stay. The staff was cordial. The room clean. Beds were comfortable...I had brought my own pillow and slept great.

We will stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter P, Manager at Scottish Inn Killeen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2014

We are glad you liked your stay, and hope to see you again soon. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

The location is the only plus. The hotel smells like the smoke is in the walls of the building. The service is not good and still can't figure out how you can't take your breakfast back to your room. My wife tried it and was told by a lady wolrking behind the desk that they want her to eat it in the room. LOL but you have a microwave and a fridge in the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junitshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

I thought it was go till i returned home, infested. Tried to get in touch with health dept.
Weekend I'll try again monday. BUYER BEWARE! Would not have been bad if bugs were not there.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spiceyhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We were exhausted from a recent move, and attempted to check in, but were denied because the staff insisted pets weren't allowed. I explained to them that the service animal is allowed everywhere I go and is required by law to be allowed. We ended up having to drive to the next town to find a room.

I would encourage them to read this http://www.ada.gov/svcanimb.htm website and realize that what they did was illegal and caused a major headache for us.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dolphinscoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel twice. Because we had a fair experience the first time (the summer of 2009) and the rate is quite low, we decided to return. We stayed most recently in January. We will not return again.

The hotel location is great; it is close to a grocery store, Starbucks, and many other businesses. The room was clean and still fairly new. There is a microwave and a small refrigerator in the room. The bed is fairly comfortable. I would not rely on the washroom toiletries that they supply, they are not of good quality. Also, the bath towels are very, very low quality; we brought our own bath towels for this stay because I remembered how poor they were.

I would say that for the low price of the hotel room and the great location, this is a fairly good hotel option. We will not, however, return to this hotel because of the poor customer service that we received.

The morning of our scheduled check-out, my husband went to the breakfast (including: sausage and egg biscuits, cold cereal, and waffles) downstairs while I showered. He ate his breakfast and walked out of the breakfast area with a cup of coffee. He intended to take the cup of coffee back to the room.

An employee (manager?) quickly and sternly told him that no food was allowed out of the area. He told her it was coffee, but she loudly repeated that no food was allowed out of the area. I am quite confused as to why they would supply a microwave and a refrigerator in the rooms, yet forbid their guests to take hotel provided coffee to their room. I assume they intend on their guests consuming their own food/drinks in the room, but not hotel food/drinks.

My husband felt scolded and embarrassed, and sat at a table to finish his coffee. He decided to leave the area and return to our room when the employee walked to another adult guest and rudely told him to get off of the hotel computer, and that he had been on long enough (no one was waiting to use the computer).

During both stays we saw the same two employees, but only one seemed to be working at a time. The staff here is not friendly in general, and the verbal nastiness of this woman was the final straw.

We will not return to the hotel - purely due to the staff making us feel uncomfortable and unwelcome.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brooke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

We stayed one night at this hotel. The room was very large. Beds very comfortable. Big TV and air conditioner worked great. It was nice and clean. Very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marge22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter P, Manager at Scottish Inn Killeen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killeen hotels
0.1 km away
Travelodge Killeen/Fort Hood
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Killeen - Fort Hood
0.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#22 of 33 in Killeen
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn Killeen
Hampton Inn Killeen
#7 of 33 in Killeen
227 reviews
0.1 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 33 in Killeen
88 reviews
2.9 km away
Americas Best Value Inn-Killeen/Fort Hood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottish Inn Killeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inn Killeen

Address: 2600 Gateway Dr, Killeen, TX 76542-3075 (Formerly Passport Inn Killeen)
Region: United States > Texas > Killeen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Killeen
Price Range: $62 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Scottish Inn Killeen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 5 minutes from Fort Hood, the newly built Scottish Inns offers friendly service, convenient location and low rates. Killeen Mall, movie theatres and many local restaurants are just minutes away. The spacious guest rooms feature free high speed Internet, 32" plasma TV, microwave, refrigerator, DVD players, iron, ironing board and computer desk. Guests enjoy hot breakfast served daily from 6:30am to 9:00am. Hot breakfast includes: sausage, omelet(cheese or chili), egg patties, biscuits, pancakes, pig in a blanket, sausage link. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Scottish Inn Killeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passport Inn Killeen Hotel Killeen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing