We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
195
21
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
21
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother gueststhe main houseabel tasmaninteresting peoplenew zealandbeautiful valleyextended holidaywine and appetizersself cateringpool and hot tubdawn choruspeaceful locationbreakfast provisionseach eveningour honeymoonpre dinnergreat hosts
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 224 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Claire and Peter and their team have created a truly 5-star lodge in one of the most beautiful valleys near Abel Tasman. We stayed in one of the bush chalets, a one-room cabin on their property. The room was perfect in every way. We also had two wonderful four-course dinners cooked by Claire and served family-style - a great way to meet the other guests. This might be the best place we stayed in our six-week trip around New Zealand.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

Fabulous food! Our Chef, Clare, co-owner with her husband, Peter, prepared one of the best meals we had in New Zealand . You must not miss a chance to dine with your fellow guests at communal tables. And, of course, the local wines are a must.
All this and minutes from Nelson and Kahurangi.
Another highlight of our trip was our hike in Kahurangi with an experienced guide recommended by Peter. Peter is involved in restoring the indigenous environment to support threatened species such as the kiwi. Part of his efforts include hiking way up into the Kahurangi to set traps for predators of these indigenous birds. The hotel sells stuffed kiwis to support this program. I brought two back to New York, one for my 90 year old mum and one for us. Ours sits above our bed over looking Central Park.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kbartur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2016

The Resurgence was a big disappointment. The room we paid extra to "upgrade" was tired, hot and uncomfortable. Furnishings and art work were charmless. The ceiling fan in the living area was noisy, wobbly and did little to move the air. Bath tub was in a crawl space away from the main bathroom. Breakfast was us stumbling around in an unfamiliar, IKEA grade kitchenette hacking away at day old bread. Luxury is not having to cobble together a meager breakfast in an unfamiliar environment. It was clear from our welcome that a hot breakfast cook was extra and we were discouraged from coming up to the lodge for breakfast. The element of hospitality was missing; my husband wondered if we arrived on the wrong day (we did not). When I asked for peanut butter for breakfast, they acted as if they giving away the secret to the Coca Cola formula. When we checked out (two nights early) we were asked if it was anything they had done wrong--the whole place was just wrong for us--there was no way they could ever make it right. The photos on The Resurgence website do not reflect the actual reality. The prices they charge do not begin to justify the tired, worn-out accommodations nor their highly touted dinner which was just so-so. The only bright spot was the company of our fellow travelers.
The Resurgence is an example of you don't always get what you pay for.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank lemondbikegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare d, Owner at The Resurgence luxury eco lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2016

We were genuinely bemused when John & Lisa checked out, we asked if we had done anything wrong and they assured us we had not, John just wanted to go fishing and an opening had arisen at a local fishing lodge. We immediately contacted their agents and asked if they had said something to them, they had not. On check-in the guests said wow to the room, after dinner (which they said they enjoyed) we offered them a cooked breakfast, or eggs, ham & cheese to enjoy in the peace of their bush lodge the following morning. They said the continental breakfast was fine but asked for some peanut butter and we willingly put some Pics peanut butter (made in Nelson) into a pot and gave it to them.

The other comments about the room and art work are simply incorrect and I will not bother responding. We cannot give refunds for early check-out and bad reviews often follow!

This February, accommodation in the Lodges around New Zealand was very heavily booked. The careful filtering that agents usually do to get the right people to the right accommodations is affected by availability. These were obviously just the wrong people for The Resurgence! They may have been happier in one of our Superior Lodge Rooms which are more conventional ensuite rooms.

All of our bad reviews on Trip Advisor this season have come in a 2-3 week period in February, several people stayed one night which only happens when we are running near capacity and sell these gaps or from people checking in to the wrong place, often booked via a site like Expedia, without checking our own website. We try very hard to send a clear message on our website and via the travel trade who book us; obviously we are all happier too if people who stay want what we have to offer and are not after super-fast wifi, servile staff and air-con!

We love The Resurgence and strive to keep everything well maintained (7/10 guests rooms are currently being totally re-painted and new LED lighting installed as I write). Our suites are very well constructed with high quality fixtures. We run a very professional business but our style is relaxed and welcoming. If we were a little tired at the end of February (we work long hours 7 days a week and this was the busiest year ever), we apologise. We don't think this caused any drop in service levels but we have had more reviews like this one in a 2 week window to make us wonder. We will review staff levels for next season if bookings reach the same level.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2016

Stayed in one of the four bush chalets, which was well equipped, very well presented and afforded lovely views of the native bush. A BBQ is also available for use. Breakfast can be taken in the chalet (self catered) or the main house where you can also have evening meals preceded by drinks and nibbles on the terrace, which was hosted by Peter, Clare and Sam. The food was very good if a little expensive in our opinion. There are trails around the property plus there is a swimming pool and a hot tub available to relax in after a long day exploring. Peter and Clare work hard to make your stay stress free and have a wealth of experience of the area. Highly recommended property ideally situated for exploring the Abel Tasman National Park.

Room Tip: Bush chalets, larger bush lodges and rooms in the main house
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

At first sight my husband and I were quite disappointed with The Resurgence, as we stayed in 2 really great and luxurious lodge before going there, but it end up being a really nice experience.
The lodge doesn't has a big staff but they seem to be doing ok, the only problem was the food that we didn't appreciate at all. The New Zealand traditional canapés and drinks before dinner was totally different from the other lodges, that offered a real gourmet canapés variety and a diverse drinks options, while at The Resurgence we were only offered croutons and a glass of Sauvignon Blanc. And the dinner was quite simple and not that tasty.
On the other hand, they have really nice rooms for those who seek quietness and nature contact. And Clare was really amazing when helping us plan our day trips, she knows the best companies and restaurants around and does a perfect job arranging activities for the guests.
One really important think to keep in mind for those planning a trip to the Resurgence is that you DEFINITELY must rent a car, it is quite far from the cities and not a walking distance from the main attractions there (except for a few hikes treks).
On the overall, the Resurgence was good. The only point is that they do things with a little bit more causality than the other lodges that we stayed (Delamore Lodge and Solitaire Lodge, in Waiheke Island and Rotorua) so we really felt like guests in Clare and Peter's home and not so much guests of a luxurious lodge. But it wasn't a problem at all, was just disappointing at first as we expected to have something similar with our previous experience.
The internet is also really weak and they just gave us 500mb to use, what we used really fast.
They do same day laundry what was perfect for us.

Stayed: April 2016
1  Thank Thanagumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare d, Owner at The Resurgence luxury eco lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2016

Hi Thiase

I am glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay.

Please note that the other 2 lodges you are comparing us with cost $1900 rather than $695! It is not surprising then, that they have a serious chef and a more formal style. We are a friendly team of 3. We serve a farm-to-table 4-course dinner, where guests from around the world meet.

We advise all guests to visit our website before booking via one of the channels such as Expedia or Booking.com as these sites do not get over our unique style and we do not have full control over the room descriptions. Our website will help you decide if our relaxed setting in nature and convivial lodge dining are suited to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews