We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
196
21
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
21
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsabel tasmaninteresting peoplenew zealandbeautiful valleypre dinner drinkswine and appetizerseach eveningpool and hot tubpeaceful locationbreakfast provisionsour honeymoonself cateringweek triplocal walksgreat hostssouth island
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 225 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2017

Peter and Clare have been the most wonderful hosts...appropriately solicitous without being intrusive...caring and concerned in a situation of minor crisis and generally wonderfully kind and considerate. In addition their Eco hotel is in a fantastic setting within the Abel Tasman National Park with all creature comforts provided and superb food and drink. We had not intended to stay here until our original plans to visit Kaikoura were scuppered by the earthquake in 2016. That disappointment has been considerably assuaged by our stay here and we would thoroughly recommend it. In addition whilst staying here, the appalling weather earlier in January rendered our planned Trans Alpine Rail crossing impassable. Both Clare and Peter could not have been more helpful in liaising with our travel agents and helping us to make alternative arrangements at very short notice....Brilliant hosts to whom we are greatly indebted. Many thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2017 via mobile

We've had two fabulous nights here despite the weather!
Arrived in the rain before the storm and quick check in got us down to our Bush Chalet. Found a dry spot on our terrace to enjoy some local wine and craft beer.
Booked our evening meal in the main house and enjoyed a four course meal with three other couples on the first night.
Great nights sleep with the best bedding we've had during the whole trip.
Breakfast ingredients provided in the chalet enabled us to be up and off for our days activity in Abel Tasman. Returned knackered from our kayaking and hiking we cooked and ate our evening meal on the BBQ. Great selection of herbs and spices supplied in the kitchen made the NZ lamb even tastier!
Woke up to a 6degrees this morning but loving the peace and quiet and freshness whilst listening to the lovely dawn chorus.
Fresh local eggs, home cooked bread for breakfast then off on our travels - could have spent a week here!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Yorkshire1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2017

The Resurgence has really raised the bar for me. I've stayed at some wonderful places around NZ, but this is now my favourite. The seclusion and tranquility during the day, spending an afternoon drinking red wine in the bath while looking out at the bush, and then topped off with a lovely, social evening.

We were there two days (not long enough!) and each evening the drinks and hors d'oeuvre with Peter and Clare and the other guests were really fun, and the meal that followed exquisite.

It's hard to imagine how they saw this place 15 years ago and imagined what they could do with it, then had the drive to do it and to do it so well.

I wouldn't change a thing. It was really the best.

Room Tip: We had Kiwi Saddle, I'd ask for it again.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Treadbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2017

Let me start by saying that Claire and Peter have truly put their hearts into trying to create a lovely place for people to come to. They are warm and welcoming, friendly and available. The location is beautiful - and the walks around the property are well worth doing, especially the one down to the Resurgence river mouth. This said, given they position themselves as a Luxury Resort (and price it accordingly) I believe there is room for improvement. The biggest area of improvement is in the food offering. As this is a fully catered location, we expected breakfast and dinner to be of the greatest standard. Unfortunately, this is not the case. The breakfast is fine, but nothing one would not get in any normal B&B. I would have expected fresh fruit baskets, selections of freshly prepared juices, pastries etc -
The evening canapes are enjoyed in a nice setting, but cant say a few chips and nibbles really can be considered a "luxury". Dinner was also quite a bland affair, with basic recipes and not really showcasing to the best the local ingredients one can find in the area. Finally, I find it really quite a shame that one is charged on top of that for wine. It would be nice to be allocated 1 bottle per room (couple) on the house - with anything consumed in addition to be charged.
A very simple solution to the food issues would be to simply employ a young talented NZ chef and let him/her dazzle the guests with some local recipes that really would make the stay memorable. When one is paying 400 GBP / Night this would be expected.
Rooms are nice enough - although we were troubled by the lack of a curtain on the window overlooking the bed - therefore 6 AM is your de-facto alarm clock as the sun is shining on you, weather you like it or not. This may well be the case only for our room though. The pool area is fine, but did not spend time in it.
Apparently Resurgence was voted in the top 25 Eco Lodges in the world.. well, I have been to quite a few and, although I believe Claire and Peter have all the enthusiasm and character to bring it to this standard, it is my humble opinion that The Resurgence is not there yet... to summarize: is it in a beautiful location? yes. Is it worth a minimum of 400£/night in its current offering: not really. Can it get there? I'm sure that with the correct feedback and appropriate steps taken, it can.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Oliver1980_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare d, Owner at The Resurgence luxury eco lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Hi Oliver & Erin

We were quite taken aback by your 3 score on Trip Advisor – you never mentioned any issues during your stay and your comments in our guest book were lovely. LOVELY RESPITE IN THE MIDDLE OF THE WOODS – SO RELAXING! We thought you had enjoyed your stay, there was a fun group of guests at the Lodge in early January during your stay.

I realise that the exchange rate with the pound are not favourable at the moment so prices on your previous trips to NZ would have seemed more reasonable. We network with other 5-star lodges and know that our rates and prices are well within the industry norms. We are content that our menus showcases local produce and that Sam & I are competent chefs worthy of a family-run lodge. We are not one of the NZ 'super lodges' where you would expect to find one of the more famous chef in the kitchen, but our prices are about half and you are served by your hosts. During your stay you had some of the best produce in the region; salmon from Golden Bay, lamb filet from South Island, Snapper landed in Motueka, duck from Canterbury, raspberries from Motueka and many beautiful vegetabels from Mrs Smith in Riwaka as well as free range eggs from the Riwaka Valley and bacon from the Rai Valley for breakfast. Everything from breads to sauces is cooked fresh by Sam and me.

Yes we could include wine with dinner, but this would put prices up and some guests want premium wines and others, like your pregnant wife, do not drink at all. We have opted to have a wine list with wines by the glass for small drinkers or by the bottle. Our wines are selected to match our clientele so we do not stock bottom of the range wines.

Re the window in your room, I am bemused, why do you tell everyone on Trip Advisor a week after your stay when you could have told us on your second morning at breakfast when we could have put up the blind that sits in your wardrobe for the rare occasions the feature window is not appreciated.

Can I suggest that when booking on one of the online travel agents you also check the website of the accommodation you choose as only on our own website can we really describe our product and style – many of Agoda's wordings are computer generated from a list of tick boxes.

We have a unique product and style, select The Resurgence if you love nature, tranquility, outdoor activities and a convivial dinner experience with like-minded diners from around the globe.

Obviously there is always room for improvement and we continually strive for excellence in everything we do. After 13 years we are never complacent.

Very best wishes
Clare, Peter & Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2017

We spent 3 perfect days at the Resurgence Eco Lodge. The lodges are clean, with all the luxury and conform you need and perfectly equipped, the bed is fantastic. Clare, Peter and Sam are true hosts, warm and welcoming; they also provided us with worthwhile activities and spots to see. We would recommend to book at least a few dinners; we met interesting other guests and had pleasant conversations; the quality of the meal was good to excellent. Overall the lodge is truly worth its price and we would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pfei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews