We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms, nice service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lufkin South
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Lufkin
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Overall, this hotel is nice. The rooms are pretty spacious, the beds are comfortable, everything in the room worked. There is a microwave and refrigerator, so that is nice. They have breakfast in the morning that is decent. We had a roach in one room, but otherwise had a good stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXLufkin, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lufkin South, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
We love to hear that you enjoyed our hotel’s rooms and that it made your stay exceptional! Our entire team prides themselves on trying to make each stay exceptional and they love it when guest leaves reviews, call in, or fill out the surveys! We hope to see you again in the future!

-Taylor Romans-
Loyalty Champion
Holiday Inn Express Lufkin South
4404 South First Street
Lufkin, Tx 75901
Phone: (936)-699-3000
Fax: (936)-699-3001
Email: Hiexpresslufkin@yahoo.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

Stayed there about 3 days, was going to stay a forth day but they kicked us out because they were over booked. Stayed in room 210 and the windows looking into the lobby were nasty dirty. The carpet in the breakfast area looked like it hasn't been cleaned in years, stained and dirty, window sills were dirty, trash on floor. Trash can between side entrance and pool overflowing with trash. Breakfast was terrible........RUN!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddiem7172017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lufkin South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Hello eddiem7172017,

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to leave us your feedback. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies for the breakfast service you received and hotel cleanliness. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so I have sent you a private message. Also, this feedback will be shared with the appropriate people to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts. I hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We had booked at the hotel with the full intention of staying there for an upcoming baseball tournament at SFA. Due to weather circumstances, the tournament was cancelled. I realize we booked the pay up front rate and that we may not get the refund, but we only asked for them to move the date. They have refused to work with us and we gave them ample time to book the rooms for other guests. We had five rooms booked and were willing to move it to another date (even paying the additional funds for a night that may be more), but again, they have refused. Unfortunately, we will not stay there if we have another tournament in the area.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for the refundable rate. They have no sympathy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Karla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lufkin South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank You for choosing Holiday Inn Express Lufkin South

We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your Advanced Purchase reservation. We also apologize for not being able to accommodate the date changes you requested. Our number one goal is guest satisfaction and again we apologize for failing to meet your expectations, however we do advise caution when booking Advanced Purchase reservations as they are Non-Changeable, Non-Cancelable, and Non-Refundable. Thank You again for Choosing Holiday Inn Express Lufkin South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

I was on my way to Galveston. Wanted a half way place. Check in was a breeze. Room very clean. Air conditioning was great and I love the ceiling fan.

Kids in hall way are noisy but so what. Kids are kids and this is a motel. After they settled in, it was quite and calm.

Will definitely stop again when in the area.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank MangoRita80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lufkin South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Guest satisfaction is our #1 goal and we are beyond happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon! Thank You again for choosing Holiday Inn Express Lufkin South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Our room was clean and everyone was friendly, but the continental breakfast was awful. Everything we tried was hard, stale, and old. We are usually very happy and impressed with Holiday Inn. We were let down this time.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Seven7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lufkin South, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Hi Seven7777,

Thank you for your stay and for leaving a review about our hotel on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is extremely important as this will help us to achieve our mission to provide the perfect guest experience. I am glad to read that you approve of the cleanliness level of the room. It is also good to know that you were satisfied with the customer service delivered. However, I would like to apologize for the disappointments you had with the breakfast served. Please know that this is not reflective of IHG's high standards. I will address your concern with the hotel management to ensure that this would not happen in the future.

Once more, thank you for your feedback and in case you are back in the area, we would love to have another opportunity to wow you.

Sincerely,

Ingrid V.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this Holiday Inn and Suites this past weekend when my son played in a baseball tournament at Angelina College. The staff was extremely professional and friendly and so happy to accommodate any of our needs and requests. Our king balcony suite was very roomy, and I loved the little kitchenette area - the extra countertops, cabinets, and sink really came in handy. We didn't use it, but there was even a dishwasher - nice. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in, and even the sofa bed was one of the better ones we've encountered. Everything was very clean. The bathroom was large, and except for one corner of the wall near the shower that needs to be repaired, it was really nice, especially having the storage space under the vanity for personal items. I would've preferred a tub/shower combination instead of the shower only, but it was large with a nice shower head and good water pressure. The coin-operated washers and dryers worked very well, which is important when you're trying to get red dirt off of white baseball pants! The pool was small but very well-maintained and pretty with a little waterfall. There are an abundance of restaurants and shopping within a mile or two of the hotel, which was very convenient. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again if ever in Lufkin.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

The shower floor is made of some material that creaks so loudly while moving on it that it actually woke my sleeping wife up. We also got to know our upstairs neighbors pretty well. Every time they showered or flushed the toilet we heard the water flowing loudly through the pipes in the wall. When we showered, the water temperature fluctuated between comfortably warm to cool to cold without changing the handle at all. Interesting shower. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kendot52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lufkin South, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Dear Kendot52,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience. Our goal is to deliver exceptional service and comfortable accommodation to all of our guests and we appreciate the high rating given on staff service. It is also nice to know that you were satisfied with the breakfast served. However, it is regrettable that the condition of the shower in the room received and the noise levels from the other rooms caused you inconvenience. Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention as this is our best resource to know how our hotels are being managed to a high standard and to evaluate what can be given additional attention. I have this information documented and it will be forwarded to the hotel management for proper actions to be taken, in order to meet our guests' comfort and satisfaction.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to offer you a more pleasant stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Grace P.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lufkin hotels
1.4 km away
Best Western Plus Crown Colony Inn & Suites
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn Hampton Inn and Suites Lufkin
0.2 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 14 in Lufkin
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Courtyard Lufkin
Courtyard Lufkin
#2 of 14 in Lufkin
210 reviews
0.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 14 in Lufkin
45 reviews
10.3 km away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#6 of 14 in Lufkin
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lufkin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lufkin South

Address: 4404 S 1st St, Lufkin, TX 75901-7345
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Lufkin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Lufkin
Price Range: $139 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lufkin South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Lufkin, Texas hotel is peaceful and stylish Are you headed to Texas on business or in need of a break from the stress of life? Regardless of your reason, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South of Lufkin stands ready to meet your travel needs. Our hotel in Lufkin, Texas is surrounded by the lush forests of Eastern Texas, where parks and lakes abound to help you escape into nature. Our Lufkin hotel in Southeastern Texas is surrounded by beautiful wilderness, giving visitors the chance to participate in popular activities such as bird watching in one of Lufkin's many parks or bass fishing at the Sam Rayburn Reservoir. However, this convenient Lufkin, TX hotel is also just minutes from the unique western culture and spirited arts of downtown Lufkin. Business travelers will benefit from our Lufkin lodging's location on Highway 59 and near Highway 69 because of its close proximity to Houston and Dallas/Fort Worth.Our hotel's on-site meeting room, business center and free high-speed Internet access will keep you updated with others while you travel. At this Lufkin, Texas hotel, you and your guests can enjoy several choice hotel amenities, such as the free high-speed, wireless Internet access, a relaxing swimming pool and a daily free hot breakfast bar that serves our delicious, signature cinnamon rolls. Don't settle for other discount lodgings in Texas when you can enjoy the comfort of our charming Lufkin, Texas hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lufkin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lufkin South Hotel Lufkin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing