We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Lufkin
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Lufkin
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We made the mistake of staying at the Executive Inn the first week in Lufkin and I was desperate to find a better place to stay. I don't normally look at La Quinta because it's usually out of our budget, but when I checked the rate for a 5 night stay it was only $50 a night. Wow! When we arrived, check in was super fast and friendly, the room was absolutely perfect and just what we'd asked for. Towels were abundant, there's a real office chair at a very nice desk with a plug for the laptop underneath. Fridge and microwave, nice flat screen tv, coffee pot--everything we needed. Staying a second week and will be back next week.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salesproquo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2010

This hotel is on the main drag of Lufkin, just off the highway. My husband and I stayed here on our way to another location for one night, for which the hotel was a fairly good choice. We arrived in late evening and were greeted in the lobby immediately by a friendly staffer who pointed us to our room. The room appeared clean and comfortable. There was, however, a used towel on the back of the bathroom door that had apparently been missed by the housekeeping service, otherwise the room was clean. The lamp above the desk did not work, otherwise the room was fully functionable. The real gem of this room was the beds. They were EXTREMELY comfortable! The mattresses were just amazing. The night we were there the hotel was full, many of the rooms with Halliburton workers (mostly men). Since the doors opened to the outside, I would have been slightly uncomfortable staying here alone and was glad my spouse was there as well. The ice machine and soda machine on the top floor did not work, but it was easy enough to go downstairs for ice. There was a nice Mexican restaurant in the parking lot, the Casa Ole. In the morning, a continental breakfast is offered from 6-9 am (although they left most items out until 10 am the morning we were there), offering such things as coffee, danishes, bagels, cereal, oatmeal, boiled eggs, etc. Do not pay the $119 the hotel touts for this room - it is simply not worth that. We purchased this room through Priceline at a discounted price ($50), for which I think it was a fairly good value. In brief, this hotel is best for a short overnight stay while just passing through.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derindam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Clean, convenient and well priced. The staff was helpful and gracious. We stayed one night and will return should we travel to the area again. One caveat: It is a motel -- so you can hear vehicles come and go as they pull directly up to the motel doors. Not unusual -- just to note.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 01triplover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

The room we stayed in was filty, the toliet ran all night my husband went to flush the toilet the handle fell off in his hand.T here was so much dust on the lamps. The tube drained very slow. The room was very small. What more can i say the place was a complete dump. I wil never stay there again .

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lettsstartherup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

We were in Lufkin for one night for a sporting event. The location was convenient to the high school. This is an older property and the room felt very small compared to other hotels. There was barely enough room in the toilet / shower room to turn around, certainly not enough to get undressed. We had requested a non-smoking room and were told that we had one, but there was no designation on the room door or inside the room that it was a non-smoking room. I guess the absence of an ash tray would have been the only clue that the room was not a smoking room. Of course, there was a trace of "damp ash tray" smell in the room...not very strong, but definitely noticeable. The room was clean enough, but no so much that my wife felt comfortable showering there.

Luckily I got a priceline deal on the room at $50 (probably should have bid 35) and I didn't pay the internet published rate of 80+. In a pinch, this place is just OK for a one nighter, but look around first - you can probably do better for the same price.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastTexasGMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

first off we had reserved a room with a fridge an microwave because we were staying for 3 weeks. when we got there around midnight the room they gave us did not have the fridge or microwave and told us it would be settled the next morning. we called down to the office the next day an they said there was none available. we then tricked them by saying we saw someone leaving an there was one in there room, so they "checked" there computers again an it "suddenly" appeared available, even tho we made up the story about someone checking out. they told us we could move all of our stuff to the other room that was on the other side of the lot. since we were staying for awhile we had a lot of stuff an asked if we could simply move the little fridge to the room we were already unpacked in for our stay an move it back at the end. needless to say they were completely rude and had no sense of customer service. everytime we had a problem they could not fix or accomodate anything. i asked for a manager and they sent a cleaning lady to talk with. her name was april an she said she was the manager, but clearly was not. they do not know how to run things at la quinta whatsoever. these people have no customer service or skills to even run a lemonade stand. i will never stay again an i will tell everyone else to STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angel0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

We had 2 beds in our rooms. They were advertised as "full size". They were more in between twin and full. My husband is 6"5, so the bed was really short and uncomfortable. We called and asked if we could have one queen size bed. This was when we first arrived and hadn't disturbed the room at all. They said "yes, but you have to pay app. $85 more, plus the $60 we had already paid on Priceline. They said we could have had the queen size bed at no extra charge if we hadn't booked through Priceline. That is pretty sad that they have another room with a larger bed available, but wouldn't give it to us without a ridiculous extra charge. We will never stay in another La Quinta. Obviously, they could care less about customer satisfaction (and this was the manager).

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArkansasMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lufkin hotels
1.9 km away
Best Western Plus Crown Colony Inn & Suites
3.1 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 14 in Lufkin
75 reviews
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Lufkin South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Courtyard Lufkin
Courtyard Lufkin
#2 of 14 in Lufkin
209 reviews
3.1 km away
Hampton Inn Hampton Inn and Suites Lufkin
3.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 14 in Lufkin
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Lufkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Lufkin

Address: 2119 S 1st St, Lufkin, TX 75901-5941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Lufkin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Lufkin
Price Range: $90 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Lufkin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LaQuinta, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Quinta Inn Lufkin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Motor Inn Lufkin Hotel Lufkin
La Quinta Lufkin
Lufkin La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing