We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Floors, Bugs All around room, Broken tiles on stairs, Moldy bathrooms.”
Review of The Hotel Paisano

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marfa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hotel Paisano
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Marfa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This place is a misrepresentation of its advertisements. The pool was cloudy and dirty, It had bugs the size of birds in the room, We found scorpions. The atmosphere was sooo depressing that we said forget about the money and left three days earlier. NIGHTMARE, STAY AWAY FROM MARFA
AND ESPECIALLY THE HOTEL PAISANO, UNLESS YOUR A DIRTY HIPPIE.

Room Tip: Just find somewhere else to spend your money, complete waste of a vacation, and for some strange rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

I had the cheapest room and it was clean and comfortable, even if the view out of my windows was not enticing. It can only get better, because some rooms have patios and balconies. Rock Hudson, Liz Taylor, and James Dean stayed here, and that is part of the lore that goes along with the place. From the hotel you can take a beautiful walk around town very easily. Parking is easy, too. I loved the fountain in the courtyard, and the pool looked beautiful but was too cold. I tried to have a drink and a snack at the bar, but after waiting about 10 minutes with no one coming to ask me what I would like, I decided to skip it. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: They were fully booked when I tried to get a room, so I took what they could give me. There are some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gowanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Great hotel. We stayed on a Thursday/Friday night during Spring break time. Mornings are nice and quiet around the hotel, but by late afternoon, the happy hour crowd starts to gather in the beautiful courtyard, ordering drinks and appetizers from the hotel's restaurant, Jett's Grill - also great food -we had dinner there (and margaritas). Our room was a suite, upstairs, with full kitchen, sitting room with french doors that opened onto a veranda, bedroom had 2 queens and a full bath. Beds were extremely comfortable. The staff was great and always had answers to our many questions - where to eat breakfast, where to buy souvenirs (that one's easy, there are several great shops right in the hotel). We had a great time!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are great, but there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jj4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Renovated old courthouse. Rooms are small, cozy and clean. The building is beautiful and the staff very nice. They play latin music in the lobby and I felt as if I was in Mexico. Would definitely stay here again if driving through the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegirlstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed a Monday and Tuesday night during spring break. We were travelling with my son and his wife, grandsons (7&8) and pet. We stayed in the two bed room suite. It was perfect for us. The hotel was a perfect place to land after a long drive from Bastrop and served well as a home base to explore Fort Davis and the Observatory before heading to Big Bend. The hotel staff was friendly and the atmosphere was made for a special stay. We were somewhat surprised at the lack of places to eat diner on Mondays and Tuesdays in Marfa but we found the restuarant in the hotel was excellent. Next time we are in Big Bend we will stay here again. The main reason I'm giving this hotel five stars is the overall value. It is reasonably priced relative to other properties in the area given that it has a special charm.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with family the two bed room suite has lots of room and a roll out bed for kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaJimBoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We arrived at the Paisano late on a cold evening in March. We were on an anti-Spring break, and this was an oasis in the desert after a day of endless highways. The hotel staff was extremely accommodating and welcoming. We had a room with French doors opening to a terrace. On our terrace was a charming adobe fireplace. We put it to good use, thanks again to the staff for the extra firewood. After freshening up and stoking the fire, we retired downstairs to Jet's for dinner. Excellent service and food as well. In the morning, we awoke ready to tour the town of Marfa ( cool in its outpost weirdness). There was fresh, hot and tasty coffee waiting in the lobby, and we relaxed in the beautiful courtyard with the morning paper--also gratis. Thanks so much for providing a romantic locale to enjoy with my man--we will definitely return!

One bit of advice--new, firm mattresses would have made the our stay absolute perfection!!

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace room, even in the summer the nights can be cool and fire is always romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasKenzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

While overall our stay was pleasant, the "Heated Pool" was cold and that was a big reason to stay there with my two girls. Make sure you call to see if the pool is being heated if that is important to you. Over all the suite (117) we got was very nice and yes the bathroom is small but not too tiny! Two nice queen beds were very comfortable and the couches and TV were very nice. We also had a side 'Veranda' room that you could open the window on a nice night.

Room Tip: Ask what way the windows face, to the street out to a back of the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendan and Mar... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marfa
0.2 km away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
282 reviews
34.9 km away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
515 reviews
36.1 km away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.5 km away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
73 reviews
31.9 km away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
574 reviews
37.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Paisano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Paisano

Address: 207 N. Highland Ave., Marfa, TX 79843
Region: United States > Texas > Marfa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Marfa
Price Range: $102 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Paisano Hotel Marfa
Hotel Paisano
The Hotel Paisano Marfa, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing