We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid choice in McAllen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A solid choice in McAllen”
Reviewed 24 September 2010

I've tried several hotels in this area and price-range, and the Hilton Garden Inn is a good value. It is near the highway, the airport, the mall, and several restaurants. The hotel has an airport shuttle and ample parking. Breakfast is decent, but the "bar" is only good for one drink while waiting to go to dinner. There is also a little "shop" behind the front desk where you can get a snack. The rooms are pretty standard for this type of business hotel. One feature I like is that the matresses have adjustable internal air chambers, which is good feature for me since I like a softer bed, which is sometimes hard to find in a hotel.

While the surrounding area is a retail/hotel/medical area, any travelers unfamiliar with the McAllen area should consult with hotel staff or trusted local associates before venturing into new areas.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmh1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    101
    45
    14
    12
See reviews for
99
27
23
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

I was in McAllen, Texas on business travel & I must say from the minute I walked in the door -- the service was fabulous! The folks at the front desk were very helpful (upon check-in and check-out at 4:00 am!) and my room was clean, spacious, and perfect for a solo business traveler. The gym was clean. Hotel was in a safe environment which is very important to me & it was an easy trip back to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Having stayed in nearly every hotel in McAllen for business in the last four years, I have found my home away from home in McAllen. It is clean, well taken care of and staffed by folks who actually give a hoot about the quality of your stay. The business center has free computer access, the gym has new equipment, the desks have new chairs and the beds are great. Even better is the home made salsa the chef offers in the breakfast. Don"t bother with the Renaissance, Residence Inn or Embassy Suites. they are all tired and neglected. The Residence Inn was the worst of the bunch with an omnipresent mold smell everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oskiwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sirtech
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2010

The hotel seemed to be brand new. The rooms had comfortable beds, flat screen tvs, free internet, microwave and fridge and the service was great. The only downside was that the hotel was not in the heart of McAllen. Although it was only a 10 minute drive. I had a great trip. I also spent a lot of time shopping at the oulet malls.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2010

We stayed at room 414 on Jan 23. The room was clean and nice, However, we experienced some annoying problems:
- The air conditioner stopped working in the middle of the night. I had to wake up and fiddle with the controls trying to reset the unit. Eventually it worked after some 20-30 minutes.
- The beds have a knob to adjust the firmness. However, both of our beds were extremely soft, very uncomfortable, like hamacas, with the knob set to maximum firmness.
- After flushing the toilet, the handle did not rotate freely and stuck, wasting water.
- The hotel is in front of highway 83. Even with double-glazed windows, we could hear the roaring of vehicles all night long.
- Also, we could hear noises coming from the adjacent room very clearly. A person there was sick, coughing all night and awakening us constantly.
In other details, the Internet wi-fi worked great, you are fitted with a nice desk and a very comfortable Herman Miller chair.
Breakfast was included in our room, and they had mexican salsa and fried beans. Parking is free. If they take care of maintenance, it could be a good hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruizvicentello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2010

I wish I could give them six starts on the value. Our company has but cutting our travel budget, but we still get a first class option for an amazing price. Thank you for working with small businesses on a small budget.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lxmuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2010

Hotel was very clean and front desk was very helpful with any questions we had. Very good with my children.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McAllen hotels
0.5 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel McAllen
0.3 km away
Drury Suites McAllen
Drury Suites McAllen
#15 of 42 in McAllen
95 reviews
4.8 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAllen
0.3 km away
Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen
3.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton McAllen Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport
Address: 617 W Expressway 83, McAllen, TX 78503-2931
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in McAllen
#6 Business Hotel in McAllen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Rio Grande Valley, the Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport hotel is just one mile from McAllen Airport (MFE) and minutes from the Foreign Trade Zone. Take advantage of our thoughtful range of amenities. Plunge into the outdoor swimming pool and relax in the whirlpool. Work out in the fitness center, or borrow a Stay Fit Kit(R) to keep fit in the privacy of your own room. Enjoy a cooked-to-order breakfast at the hotel's restaurant, the Great American Grill(R), or keep up with work in the 24-hour Business Center. Plus, use the complimentary WiFi that is available in each room. The hotel's two meeting rooms provide ample space for up to 100 guests and can be adapted to suit a range of seating styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn McAllen Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Mcallen Hotel Mcallen
Hilton Mcallen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing