We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Vouliagmeni
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

On a business trip, stayed there during the winter, so the pool was full of sand, as it blew from the beach. The rooms were excellent, with a great terrace. The food was excellent as well, in all restaurants. It was a pricey place, not sure if it was worth it. The hotel is quite far from the usual places of interest in Athens. Internet was really bad, especially for the proce tag. It was so slow, it became unusable at times. This would normally be considered unacceptable for a hotel of this category. However, people were nice and willing to help.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoracioR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear Guest;
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments from your experience at the Westin Athens hotel.
In our attempt to improve this resort, we surely value all the feedback we can get from our guests.
We were very concerned to hear about the inconveniences you experienced that finally led to have mixed feelings about our hotel. We truly hope this unfortunate experience will not deter you from visiting us once again and that you will give us the chance to restore your faith in our services.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    189
    68
    38
    26
See reviews for
148
209
17
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

I am undecided to mark this hotel as Very Good or Excellent. It is a resort and we went in October so a number of the services were closed, but the sun was still shining and 30 degrees. The rooms are spacious with balconies, and the bathrooms are well appointed and spacious. This is a really nice property and I would recommend it to anyone visiting Greece where it is not important to be close to Athens. It is directly on the water and with the patio door open you can go to sleep with the waves crashing. Service is wonderful, staff has been around for a long time and knows how to make you at home. The Luxury collection is next door and the BEST sushi fine dinig is on the property, which made our trip all the more worthwhile

Room Tip: The rooms are all similar and all newly appointed, spacious and ALL with sea view as hey are on a cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert_In_LondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Dear Guest;
At The Westin Athens we strive to make every guests stay a unique one. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We value your comments and they will be shared with our associates. As a management team we are pleased to receive comments on guests stay that have created memorable moments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Athens, Astir Palace Resort!
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stayed here in July 2011 for 4 days. I would suggest this hotel if you are looking for a bit of a break in Athens, with breakfast outside overlooking the sea, reading a book by the pool, and other leisurely pursuits, with the occasional sojourn into downtown Athens. This is not a good place to stay if you only have a day in Athens and you have to make the most of your time to sight see.

Many pluses to this hotel - the rooms are large and clean, pool area is spacious with waiter/waitress service, restaurants have a good choice of quality food, gym on premises, nice bar upstairs has a lovely view of the peninsula and the sea, staff is helpful, particularly the bell staff and valets. The hotel is in a secure complex that also houses the Arion hotel next door, and requires you to pass through a security guard station on your way in. You need to have a car to stay at this hotel, or hire taxis, because it is in an isolated area. I don't even think there is a grocery store or corner store nearby within walking distance, but I could be mistaken. There is a free shuttle that goes a couple of times a day back and forth from Glyfada, an upscale neighborhood next door to Vouliagmeni known for its shopping, and also to/from downtown Athens. You can also take a taxi ride into Athens which takes about 20 minutes if there is minimal traffic. If there is traffic (such as rush hour) the journey can take longer.

The only minus with this hotel is that it has a 'corporate' feel to it. As a tip in terms of room placement, if you want it to be very quiet in the morning (or in the afternoons for naps) that you request a room at the further end of the hotel, away from the pool area where children can be playing. As you can see in the main picture of the hotel, the rooms all face one way, so this is the only way to really be away from the pool. You will still have a sea view.

Another tip: if you need to stay overnight in Athens (but don't necessarily need to be in the city center) with a flight to catch the next day, then this hotel could be a good choice for you. Vougliameni is located about halfway between the Athens international airport and central Athens, but it is still about 21 km (13 miles) from the airport so there is no airport noise. So instead of staying at a soulless airport hotel, you could stay at the Westin and have a nice cocktail sitting outside by the pool.

Room Tip: If you want it to be very quiet in the morning (or in the afternoons for naps) that you request a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalDreamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Dear Guest;
On behalf of the entire team at the Westin Athens hotel we would like to thank you for your detailed feedback on our hotel.
We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and you were satisfied with the services offered, the comfort of your room, the hotel's location.
Every observation is extremely valuable and helpful to us, in our continued objective to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel.
Regarding the comment for a corner or grocery store please note that there is a Mini Market at the next door Arion hotel and a grocery store approx. at a 10 minutes walking distance from the resort.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Athens, Astir Palace Resort!
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

We have just come back from a week at this superb hotel and can definitely recommend the establishment. The hotel itself is set on the peninsula and is about a 30 minute drive from central Athens. The hotel’s only about 20 minutes from the airport too, which is very handy after any long journey.

The first thing to say is that the location is beautiful, with a stunning sea-backdrop and a first-class reception area. The room we had was huge and the bathroom was enormous.

I’ll keep the review short as I could go on for ages, but the hotel rooms are large and well furnished. We travelled with our baby and he enjoyed crawling around everywhere. The food is of an excellent quality and room service was also very good except on one occasion when the food turned up a bit cold.

The swimming pool is large and sits adjacent to the sea, the gym is well set-out and the staff are friendly and accommodating.

Areas to be aware of are the mini-bar prices, where you can expect to pay 6.25 euros for a 200ml of coca cola, and the slightly expensive room service charges (although these do already include a delivery charge).

The local village / town is a pleasant 20-25 minute walk away, and here there are a few bars / eateries to while away the time. You can also stock up with drinks for your room too as it’s a bit more reasonable here.

The spa is in the adjacent Arion Hotel and the spa hydro pool area is a great place to relax. Expect to pay 25 euros for a spa pool day pass. The wifey had a spa treatment here too and enjoyed it thoroughly.

Very handily, the hotel lays on a free shuttle to central Athens too!!

All in all, the Westin Athens is an excellent hotel. It’s well run, friendly and provides a very high quality hotel experience. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Guest;
Thank you for your recent stay and your kind comments about The Westin Athens hotel!
We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit here in September and you were satisfied with the services offered, the comfort of your room, the hotel's location.
On behalf of the entire team at the Westin hotel, I thank you again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Athens!
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Very close beach hotel to Athens (20 mins by car). Opportunity to visit Athens but at the same time have breakfast outside in the sun overlooking the sea. Each room has sea view. Excellent breakfast. Big pool to lie around.

Excellent place for a long weekend to Athens

And offers Nobu restaurant on the premises!

Room Tip: all rooms at Westin Astir have sea view, the higher the better - also the more in the middle the bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VVVi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear Guest;
At The Westin Athens we strive to make every guests stay a unique one. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We value your comments and they will be shared with our associates. As a management team we are pleased to receive comments on guests stay that have created memorable moments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Athens, Astir Palace Resort!
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed here in early October 2011 on two separate occasions (second one caused by Greek air traffic control strike). This hotel is located on a peninsula overlooking the Sardonic Gulf outside Athens. The location is very picturesque with beautiful sea views from the property. The grounds, while a bit corporate in feel, are very pretty and the pool is very nice. It is a large scale property so do not expect an intimate experience. The rooms are excellent. We were upgraded to a suite for a first stay and a deluxe king thereafter. Modern, clean and nicely decorated (again, think large scale business hotel though). The cab ride from Athens airport was about 30 Euros. All the staff was very nice, especially when we had to unexpectedly book the second stay at the last second. They saw that we were very stressed from our Athens airport experience and they were very kind, even offering free breakfast which was very generous as it is normally 30 Euros per person.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderlustFL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear Guest;
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments from your recent experience at the Westin Athens hotel.
We were very happy to read that you enjoyed all elements of your stay and found our staff to be professional and friendly.
We truly hope to see you again soon for your next stay in Athens.
Sincerely yours,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

My company hosted an event here as an incentive for our top salespeople. I don't know exactly how many people we had staying at the hotel, but I'd guess the lot of us occupied at least 200 rooms. The hotel did a great job accommodating such a large group of people and catering to the amount of entertaining going on.

The location is breathtaking: one of my colleagues arrived a few days before I did and tortured me with texts of the view outside her room. Each room has a good-sized balcony that's great for sunning, relaxing, whatever your pleasure. There are also a lot of good restaurants nearby that accomodate large parties for entertaining.

For those of you like me who need the TV on to sleep, the only channel in English is Animal Planet. The view outside the window is better though, and the weather is nice enough for much of the year that napping outdoors isn't a bad idea. One full wall of the room is made up of windows/glass doors to the balcony.

The other drawback if you're at this hotel for business is that the internet connection is a little slow. Just another incentive to enjoy the site for what it is rather than trying to cram in a little work. I'd love to come back and enjoy this hotel on my own.

Well done, Westin!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelicateEssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westin_mgt, General Manager at The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear Guest;
On behalf of the entire team at the Westin Athens hotel we would like to thank you for your feedback on our hotel.
We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and you were satisfied with the services offered, the comfort of your room, the hotel's location.
Every observation is extremely valuable and helpful to us, in our continued objective to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel.
Regarding the comment you have made on the internet connection, your point has been taken into serious consideration.
We are sorry to hear that you have a mixed feeling about our hotel. We hope that despite our shortcomings on this occasion, you will nevertheless grant us a renewed opportunity to welcome you back to Westin hotel.
Warm regards,
Michael S. Metaxas
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vouliagmeni
0.8 km away
The Margi
The Margi
#1 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.6 km away
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
2.4 km away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Vouliagmeni Suites
Vouliagmeni Suites
#6 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.4 km away
Divani Apollon Suites
Divani Apollon Suites
#7 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
5.9 km away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort

Property: The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort
Address: 40 Apollonos, Vouliagmeni 166 71, Greece (Formerly Astir Palace Vouliagmeni)
Region: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Vouliagmeni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#4 Business Hotel in Vouliagmeni
#5 Family Hotel in Vouliagmeni
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood EMEA, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Athens Astir Palace Beach Hotel Vouliagmeni
Westin Athens
Westin Vouliagmeni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing