We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here unless you are crazy go to parador hotel .same price super hotel.”
Review of La Casa del Rector

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Casa del Rector
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Almagro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Awful hotel says its 4 star should be 2 star ...no food ,restaurant which they send you to does nt do food until 9 o cl at night .don't book a suite it is an old fashioned room ,one with no window ...spa which I was offered free when I was booking a room,then got offered upgrade which then did nt offer spa ,(spa means a small jacuzzi which you need to book to use and is only open 12 to 8 ) cost 30 euros per person ...tv 2 obscure English channels but vol did nt work.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonHighgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 October 2011

Dear Clients,
We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy our hotel at all but we consider it is necessary to respond to all your comments.
First of all, if the hotel is awful, you would have seen it previously on online agency web site where you made the reservation. All the images we have (44) in that online agency are real and they describe very faithfully the three different areas of the hotel: the traditional one (or "old-fashioned" from your point of view), the modern one and the design one. Also, when you book a Junior Suite in that web site, the main picture is a traditional room, very similar to the one you were given, which was room number 5, a traditional room with a queen size bed, a balcony of 1,10 m x 2m (not a window) in the bedroom (18m2), another balcony ( 1,70m x 2 m) in the sitting room (15m2) and a TV which works but, in any case, you could have warned us if there was anything wrong with the TV that day and we would had been very pleased to solve it as soon as possible. Also let us inform you that our hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Spain according to several national and international guides, quality clubs (where we are) and even from the point of view of a well known writer in one of the most important national newspapers; in case you need further information, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Besides, indeed our restaurant offers "food”. You were sent where it is located: at the end of our street three minutes walk. You can check that this information is well specified in the website you made the reservation, exactly on the homepage of our hotel when they are giving general info about our property. Our receptionist told you that the restaurant opened at 9:00h P.M. but you were there before that time, as you came back to the hotel at 8:50 PM approximately, when you complaint about the restaurant to the receptionist.
On the other hand, we inform you that you did not book a Suite but a Junior Suite with no breakfast and no spa, just bed. The difference between a Suite and Junior Suite is, apart from the surface of the room, that the first one has a jacuzzi and the junior suite has a tub with hydro massage. Please check the description of a junior suite in English (and/or Spanish) on the online agency where you booked. Also, if you need a copy of your reservation, we can provide it for you in Spanish or in English so that you can see we are telling truth.
Finally, we ignore the fact of you being offered the spa or not for free when you made the reservation through the online agent. What we have is the different rooms on a just bed basis or a special offer with a standard double room with breakfast and spa. You had the choice to choose one or another. About our spa, please let me correct that the opening hours are from 12PM to 9 PM and certainly it has a separate cost when you don't get it with a promotion or a specific offer ,for the only reason that when you demand a service, you have to pay for it.
Regards,
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

Great hotel, quirky design, fascinating art area, great service - only question is whynput it in out of the way Almagro? Restaurant was quite unusual, but food was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrandsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

stayed in Almagro at the Casa del Rector 15th sept, arriving at 17h with a temperature of 33°C and nobody in the street, very funny feeling, like a mexican bordertown. The hotel is an absolute fantastic experience with very nice rooms, extremely friendly staff, and admitting pets!. Prices are low for such a category. Only the price for the entrance of the spa is way too high (32 Eur): Big breakfast at 5 Eur. Almagro as a town is quite interesting and surely worth the detour fromthe main lroutes through Castilla La Mancha.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank schneip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Stayed in the new part of the hotel, with our own private hot tub. Everything was a very high standard and the hotel staff were very friendly. The older part of the hotel seemed conventional, but the newer part was very modern, with walk-in showers, retracting roof and a few unusual touches.

Room Tip: Were able to get a better deal by calling hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TF_555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

This was our fourth visit to Casa de Rector; twice in the traditional rooms and the last two in the space age rooms at the rear of the hotel.
The hotel is a converted traditional house in a terrace and at the rear they have built an amazing modern set of 15 rooms built around an atrium with lift. The rooms are high tech with automatic lighting , flat screen tv with a warming log fire being displayed as the default plus a dvd player.
However there was hardly any english tv programmes and the lighting was almost too confusing to control. However the charming receptionist ( carmen) produced a large selection of dvds which we had not seen. The other negative about the room was no tea/coffee making facilities.
We usually go to the restaurant owned by the hotel 200m up the road to the church ; this time we felt like staying in so Carmen produced some enjoyable but basic room service food ; fried eggs , omelette and toast.
Another plus was free internet in the lobby. And also secure underground parking.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxdown88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We drove past the hotel no realising it was there - perhaps we weren't paying too much attention but we were expecting larger signs outside the main door.
The hotel has 3 different styles - rustic, contemporary, modern. We were in the rustic area and it was beautiful. The weather in Almagro in the summer is HOT and sunny so the air-con was very welcome. The room had a living room and a bedroom and was very nicely decorated and comforatble. Almagro isn't huge so everything was wihtin walking distance. The people were very friendly and helpful. Perhaps slightly expensive compared to other places but it was very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

This was an interesting find. Fantastically quiet retreat with inner courtyard. We got a superior room which was very comfortable. Beautiful linens and furnishings with a separate living room with TV. Couldnt fault the place in any way, it was really a great stay. Very comfortable beds. They even gave us a free bottle of cava as it was our honeymoon.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank Fontane77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almagro
0.4 km away
Parador de Almagro
Parador de Almagro
#2 of 7 in Almagro
861 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Rural Casa Grande Almagro
0.3 km away
Retiro del Maestre
Retiro del Maestre
#3 of 7 in Almagro
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hosteria de Almagro Valdeolivo
32.2 km away
Veracruz Plaza Hotel & Spa
Veracruz Plaza Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Valdepenas
395 reviews
22.6 km away
Hotel Dona Manuela
Hotel Dona Manuela
#1 of 4 in Daimiel
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Rector? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Rector

Address: Callejon Pedro Oviedo 8, 13270 Almagro, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Ciudad Real > Almagro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Almagro
Price Range: $121 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Casa del Rector 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Casa del Rector, three different styles together in one hotel. Discover History and Tradition, Eclecticism and Design, and feel the charm of a place created to your satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Casa del Rector reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing