We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
148
50
13
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
50
13
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ma joly pool suite junior suite boutique hotel private beach separate rain shower small resort a la carte breakfast complimentary mini bar close to the airport dining table gorgeous hotel big bath beach location restaurant serves perfect place to stay hustle and bustle
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 227 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

This resort was so impressive, quiet, clean and had a pool. The room had dark wood, tiles and the bathroom was gorgeous and so different to what we have ever seen. People here were happy, polite and really took the time to know what we liked, every morning the waiter remembered our coffee and how we liked it. This place was separate from the hustle and bustle of Kuta yet in the perfect location and close to both the discovery mall and Lippo mall. They provide romantic dinners on the beach, it was perfect and will stay again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

I don't know why people are raving about this hotel. We have visited Bali on numerous occasions and stayed in different areas. The hotel is situated on the beach in a quiet location and if this is what your after then this is for you. We emailed this hotel regarding our transfers from the airport which comes with you booking. We got no reply but assumed they would meet us. No. We had to find a taxi. They did give us a late check out to 2pm for the inconvenience but it started us off in bad light. The staff were very unfriendly and the restaurant need more training. The breakfast is OK. No fruit and basic options. The rooms are tired and small. The bath takes up too much room and would take hour to fill. The plumbing blocks and the towels are old and grey. The pool towels are fraying and old. There is no pool food service that we could see either. This not a high class hotel for the $$$ you pay.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Travelingaussiechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

A beautiful and tranquil setting. We loved the unique bathrooms, large bathtub and the private pool.
The breakfast in the restaurant was really nice and the view stunning.
The rooms are starting to show their age in places, particularly the bathrooms & the pool decking areas, but all and all very nicely presented & equipped. Quality bath products (soaps, shampoos and lotions).
Only downfall was the bed. Two single mattresses and you could feel the join.
The staff here are lovely & go above & beyond.
We got married on the beach at the front and when we returned to our room, they had a lovely cake set up, our bed turned down, rose petals everywhere including in the bath and candles. Such a beautiful thing to come back to.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aimee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

Our experience was fantastic. The location is great because you get the best of both worlds. A beautiful beach view which is very quiet compared to further down the beach, but also easy access to the Tuban/Kuta crazy streets with Lippo mall being a few minutes walk. The Discovery Shopping Mall is a 10min walk away which you can access via the beach walk or the street walk. The MaJoly restaurant provides a lovely breakfast - no buffet - no noise - just peace. We had an upstairs deluxe pool room. The rooms are big, the bathrooms are great. We didn’t fill up the bath but the showers were hot and had great pressure. No toilet smells or issues. The beds are very comfy. Being upstairs we were treated to a lovely big thatched roof. Although the view was obstructed by follage, we felt abit like we were in a treehouse and very private. There are no lifts in this small resort. We had one key which wasn’t a problem as we left it at reception for the other one. The pool was warm, clean and again quiet. We didn’t even use our plung pool. The beach has a little bit of coral which can make entry and the exiting into the water a little difficult but still worth it. Lots of surfing and places to hire boards. I do think the deluxe pool rooms are bigger than the junior suites.
The photos on the website are exactly as you see it.
The staff were always very good, afternoon tea was nice and we occasionally had it delivered to our room. They turn down your room every night and the little plate of chocolate and treats were a nice touch. The simple mini bar is replenished daily.
The only two negatives 1. The room
lighting is way too dark, we definitely needed all the available lighting (mostly lamps) on always and we still felt we needed more, even with all the blinds open.
2. MaJoly/Sandi Phala (same) host a lot of weddings and functions, although it’s a small venue the music/Pa from the reception can be abit too loud at night and it’s hard to settle into a restful slumber. If you’re a heavy sleeper you will be ok, but I’m a light sleeper and together with that and the occasional PA and music from the neighbouring resort it was abit annoying. We were there for 5 nights and 3/2 nights it was noisy. Please don’t let this put you off, I would still go back and stay here at this quaint resort again in heartbeat.
An older traditional, small quaint boutique resort which was mostly very quiet and extremely peaceful at times we felt like we were the only ones there during the day.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Holidayexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a week with friends to celebrate his 50th Birthday. Wow!!! We had the best time!!
We come to Bali very often and are not easily impressed but this hotel ticked all our boxes.
Quaint Balinese style luxury rooms. Big, beautiful, comfortable. Staff very helpful. Gardens beautiful. Small welcoming environment.
My husband surfs and had an amazing surfing experience every single day right out the front.
Ma Joly Restaurant hosted a gathering of family and friends in the sand garden on the beachfront. This evening was beyond expectation and was very easy to organise from home via email.
If you like small Balinese style hotels, luxury, beachfront, adult style. You can’t beat the Sandi Phala

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Trail711855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews