We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stop while touring Languedoc”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Couiza
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable stop while touring Languedoc”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We enjoyed two nights here at half-board. As other reviewers have indicated, the surroundings are not quite as bucolic as the website indicates, and Couiza is not the most charming of towns, but the Chateau offered us an excellent dinner both nights and a comfortable, spacious room. Only two weak spots: breakfast on the first morning was a disaster (we arrived at 9:30 AM, well within the appointed hours, and there was simply no food); the second morning was fine. Also, if you are tall, you may want to inspect your room in advance: our room, large in other respects, had a very low and wide doorway. Despite taking care, I whacked my head hard on the door jamb: not a high point (pun intended) to the vacation.

Room Tip: Check doorway dimensions if you are a tall traveler
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanTrav71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    121
    36
    12
    2
See reviews for
81
228
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We only stayed at Chateau Joyeuse for 1 night, but wish we had stayed for more. After visiting Rennes Le Chateau, it was a great pleasure to walk around the town of Couiza and by the stream that runs behind Chateau Joyeuse, before relaxing in the quaint rooms. Drinks at the lounge, beneath arched stone roofs and walls was comforting. Dinner in the restaurant was outstanding. We recommend getting one each of the prix fixed dinners and allowing the waiter to pair a wine with each dish - either way be sure to get the cassolet - absolutely phenomenal.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alohagreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Couiza is a delightful village. And the Chateau is a charming hotel. By the river is gorgeous and the pool is a relief after a hot day. Dinner at the restaurant was high end and satisfying. Rooms are not big but cozy. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samanthao186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Very romantic building although location not ideal. Room was quite small but very pleasant and comfortable. Ours faced the river and this seemed to be the best side to be. Food in the evening was good although the choice staying on a half board basis was somewhat limited. Breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_the_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

We had a delightful 2 night stay; the staff spoke English; dinner in the restaurant was exceptional and the breakfast delicious. We booked a small double room, which was warm and clean and the bath towels white and fluffy. We arrived starving and thirsty after a very long journey and the kitchen sent up coffee and croissants. Absolutely perfect and I recommend it!

My daughter wanted to visit the sites mentioned in the Dan Brown books and the chateau was the perfect base, though in reality we only needed 1/2 a day! We spent the rest of the time touring the area, which included Carcassonne, Narbonne and La Grasse.

The hotel restaurant is closed on Monday, as are all the restaurants locally, so we had to drive 45 minutes away to Castelnaudry for dinner. Fortunately we had a car, but this could prove inconvenient.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddonfield, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We're a big fan of staying in old castles and similar types of hotels. That is the primary reason we chose Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse. It's a very nice place, although in a somewhat strange location (in the middle of school grounds, in the middle of the town of Couiza). You do have to realize you are staying in a centuries-old castle -- the steps to the upper floors are worn, etc. But it's a very nice castle experience. Food in the restaurant was terrific -- some very nice presentations of fine French cuisine. We had a very nice room, with a nice bathroom. As mentioned, the grounds near the river are very nice -- we did not swim in the pool, as we got in late, and left in the morning after breakfast. Altogether a nice castle stay, not the greatest we have had, but very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djlawman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

This was a very charming hotel and you very much knew you were in an old castle when you saw your room. I have just a few criticisms and they start with when you arrive (we stayed during August). We felt that we should have been shown to our room, as it was a complicated route and were instead, given a map of the rooms with arrows showing us which way to go. Also the steps up to the rooms in the turrets are very worn and can be slippy and I suspect could be fairly dangerous for those not too firm on their feet or in heals.

The room was very very small and the bathroom must have been the smallest I have ever seen. Although everything you wanted was there except a bath. We had evening meal in the hotel on two nights of our three night stay, it cost 55 euros for the set menu per person which as it turned out was the most expensive we had all holiday. I am vegetarian, so it was good to see that there were a couple of fish dishes I could eat, but if you don’t eat fish, then you will have problems. The meal was very good and the setting very nice and peaceful.

I felt this hotel was over priced really with the size of the room, but I expect there’s not too much can be done in an old castle. There was free parking outside of the hotel. The breakfast was good and the staff attentive and very pleasant.

The hotel is in the town, so there are a few restaurants within walking distance if you didn’t want to eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Couiza
27.5 km away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
438 reviews
9.7 km away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#1 of 3 in Quillan
186 reviews
6.1 km away
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bains
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bain...
#1 of 1 in Rennes-les-Bains
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 km away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#5 of 39 in Carcassonne
331 reviews
30.3 km away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
33.4 km away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse

Property: Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Address: Allee Georges Roux, 11190 Couiza, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Couiza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Couiza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing castle with a striking silhouette; a square building that opens into a courtyard, set in a lovely garden through which the river Aude flows. Built on the land of the Cathars, the castle bears the stamp of a place steeped in history. In the bedrooms of this 16th century listed building, a medieval atmosphere and modern comforts are skilfully combined. The same clever recipe works its magic in the reception rooms, the old chapel converted into a lounge and the dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Ducs De Joyeuse Hotel Couiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing